Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Dulux PaintPod Roller System

With the New Dulux Paint Pod Machine painting has never been easier, faster or cleaner. The Paint Pod Roller system uses paint which is specially formulated. The Matt emulsion comes in an unique pack, which just drops into the Dulux PaintPod Roller system. Transform any room with freshly painted walls using this unique roller system. Easy, fast and even cleans itself.
Average Customer Rating:
3.807 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
12
42 of 57(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Review 21 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:30/06/2011
Reviewer: Vendy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely Time Saver
"I bought it for half price when it was on offer, at full price £59.98 it’s overpriced. Using the paint pod is still very much the same physical work as without the pod but you save time not messing around with mixing and pouring the paint, then not having have to bend over to dip the roller and in the end the job of cleaning isn't that painful. You will have to do the cleaning cycle twice, once is never enough. And you will still have to clean tray and bits and bobs in hand. But the roller gets cleaned by the pod. Some people complained about the price of the paint but it’s not more expensive than normal Dulux paint. It’s 5 litre can which costs around £30 – same as non paint pod 5 l Dulux paint. In fact most of the Dulux paints are difficult to get in 5 l cans and you are forced to buy two 2.5 l cans at around £25 each, so the paint pod paint is a good value. The only disadvantage is when you want to paint only a small room and you have no choice but to buy 5 l of a paint which is more than you need. Some people said that the paint is thinner and does not cover that well, I would absolutely disagree (maybe they were painting white over black?), the paint is pretty good, I would say it’s as good as Dulux Once Range."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:27/06/2011
Reviewer: Lozza80
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
"I'd heard a mixture of positive and negatives about the paint pod but I for one had no problems, read the instructions and you can't go wrong. One minor problem, if the paint isn't in the pod absolutely correctly it keeps cutting out. I painted a stairwell within 2 hours. Best product I've bought in a long time, thumbs up to B&Q for this one!"
Review 23 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:04/05/2011
Reviewer: Lindy123
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paint pod
"excellent, 2 coats needed, quick and easy to use, no drips, easy to set up and clean. Paint goes a long way , 1 pot done large kitchen and 2 small rooms, great product. I really liked not having to bend down and reload a roller."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:01/05/2011
Reviewer: ammie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clean tidy machine
"just used this today for first time it is a fantastic machine so easy to use and fast only takes half of the time the cleaning is excellent no mess at all you dont use half as much paint the little brush that comes with it is a very good brush it was well worth the money . (they need to do a silk paint aswell not just matt) well reccomended ."
Review 25 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:30/04/2011
Reviewer: Ellie99
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Money well spent
"Paint Pod is brilliant - saves SO much time - no cleaning rollers and trays, it does it all for you. ONLY thing is you can only use matt and are restricted with the colour range, but otherwise it's brilliant!"
Review 26 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:26/04/2011
Reviewer: HayleyC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd Recommend!
"I would highly recommend this! Having used rollers for years this was so much easier, cleaner, cheaper and quicker! I done 2 coats in my living room within 4 hours and used about 1/4 of the amount of paint I did last time when I used rollers. Its also very clean, nothing splashes off of the roller and it has a self cleaning system when you are finished."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:26/04/2011
Reviewer: sng165
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing since sliced bread ♥
"Bought this as a gimmick to drum up a bit of interest from my hubby when faced with the prospect of 3 rooms & a hall & stairs to emulsion over the 2 long weekends Easter/May.
Its worked! He's a convert! He loves it! and for a man who dislikes DIY - its a miracle!
MAIN TIP - READ THE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY BEFOREHAND
Yes - it takes 2 coats - but we were covering colours, not white, and not flat newly-plastered walls.
Yes - you have to "edge beforehand" which takes extra time - but you do with all rollers.
But thereafter its speedy - takes about 20 mins to do a wall once, and about an hour for a very large ceiling (5.5m square).
So a room was done in a day - glossing and all! (Tip - use a small roller & tray for glossing doors - better finish than a brush).
Cleaning cycle in between colours is a doddle - aided we found if you rinsed the roller beforehand - particularly with darker colours as we had used. Despite using darker colours, we then found one clean cycle was ample.
A couple of Teeny-tiny crticisms of Dulux:
Please give us more colour choices,
How about other than predominantly matt finish?
& The one-size containers (particularly colours) when combined with pale walls are only half-used - so how about half-size colours at half-prices?
2 rooms & Hallway already done, we will be trying out the extension handle next weekend on the stairs.....watch this space...
"
Review 28 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:23/04/2011
Reviewer: Realtruth
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a terrible product
"Ok. I was excited to get this product. We were moving and had 3 days to get the new flat painted. I decided on this after reading reviews. I bought the unit, 6 tins of pure brilliant white, the replacement brush, replacement roller, And extended handle.
It says you should use 2 coats, I am now on 5 and hoping it will be the last, but it still does not look as good as the other room my partner painted with 2 coats which had the same paint to start.
The handle broke after 1 coat and I had to tape it to make it work. And it still wasn't good enough to paint the top of the walls or ceiling.
It is noisy!
Tried to return it, but if it is not faulty I cannot return it. I tried to explain that the individual unit may not be faulty, but the product is inherently faulty- no dice.
If you want to save some cash on this product it will be in front of my house for rubbish collection on Tuesday.
This is not a time saver! Accept that there are no magic shortcuts for painting and you will be better off!
"
Review 29 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:23/04/2011
Reviewer: shalogal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth buying!!
"Bought this in the sale and as part of 3 for 2.....£53 for pod and 2 tubs of paint.....
Don't be afraid to use the trigger button, you can see if its overloading, I painted a very large room and only had one little drip at the start.....you'll be flying in no time.....wash cycle needed 2 goes.....Although paint does go a long way, I only used 1/2 a tub , Paint doesn't cover very well, I was painting white on white and still needed to give it 2-3 coats to cover any minor marks....
I would say its certainly worth trying I'm sooooo glad I did :0)
"
Review 30 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:22/04/2011
Reviewer: Allan125
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paintpod deluxe
"Perfect item
Perfect price
"does exactly what it says on the tin" - need I say more!!
"
Review 31 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:08/04/2011
Reviewer: sphinx
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dulux paint pod
"Excellent piece of equipment,easy to use much faster than using a normal roller. Also the self cleaning makes life so much easier just switch on and leave while you go off to do other jobs or relax with a cuppa :)"
Review 32 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:07/04/2011
Reviewer: busysinglemum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant :)
"Found it very easy to use & used little paint, even though I did 2 coats. Painted a room in under half the time I normally would. Would recommend this esp if brought in sale like me... Have read that some people struggle to use, but if u can use a roller then you shouldnt have any problems using this, and you wont get covered in paint splashes, which in itself saves loads of time. Cleaning wise I used very very warm water & it was fine, I did was the roller out after but as it saves so much time & mess I didnt mind.
If you are still unsure how you will get on with it then buy it in the sale & a lighter coloured paint (easy to cover) and have a go...the only downside is that you want to keep on painting as its so good.
It is a little noisy but after a while you dont really notice it.
Its so easy my 11 yr old daughter managed to use it without any probs or mess!!!
"
Review 33 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:01/04/2011
Reviewer: Joan1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dulex Paint Pod
"This is a great way of painting no mess and really easy to use would definately recommend."
Review 34 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:29/03/2011
Reviewer: JH123
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would think twice about buying again
"Bought the paint pod and it was wonderful the first time I used it. However, after doing the ceiling and waiting 3 days for the roller and tubes to dry (you still have to rewash everything- therefore making as much mess as with a normal roller), I painted the walls. For some unknown reason, and I double checked everything, paint oozed out of the roller. It has made so much mess in my kitchen that I am still cleaning up now (5 days later). I had a similar problem with a paint pod compact but felt it was my fault perhaps for not letting the tubes dry properly so I was extra careful this time. I would honestly be reluctant to use it again, particularly in a carpeted area of the house. I usually love decorating but this has put me off now for a long time (husband is glad of this though!)."
Review 35 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:28/03/2011
Reviewer: Vortal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG!
"OMG in a good way of course!
Always thought these were a good idea but the big discount gave me the extra encouragement to buy one and I can say what a great purchase.
It is easy to work and saves a ton of time in both the preparation, painting and (most importantly) the tidying up.
I cannot recommend this more, my only regret is I did not get one sooner."
Review 36 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:01/03/2011
Reviewer: debbie65
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
paint pod
"Bought this thought it would save me time and money, it was half price at the time, but when i went to look at the range of paints they were all Matt, not something i use prefer silk, but i thought would give it a go, paint is a bit pricy too at £30 per 5lt tin, it says its self cleaning, but hard work still think the paint roller and pad is qicker and less cost effective, you need to lower your price for the paint and get both Matt and Silk and more colours too, otherwise its just and expensive toy colecting dust and wouldnt use it again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:22/02/2011
Reviewer: James9325
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very tidy product
"First one of these had a snapped delivery tube but I took that back and replaced it with no problem.
Instructions take a bit of reading but it's actually very easy to use and control. We had no paint spills or drips and the best bit was cleaning afterwards. Apart from the edging brush and tray, the device cleaned itself.
We were very cautious about overloading the roller with paint but when we saw how little paint we'd used at the end, we were probably being over-cautious."
Review 38 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:10/02/2011
Reviewer: BestHubby
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Totally Unbiased
"We did not read all reviews so we could make an unbiased decision. Glad we did. Yes, it is noisy but if you read and follow the instructions it is FAB. So clean & the paint goes on with one coat!! So cost effective too!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:14/12/2010
Reviewer: andrea1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic....
"l bought this after l read the reviews and l have to say its one of the best items l have ever bought, gone are the days of going up & down the ladder to put paint on the roller and getting paint spots on you. this is so fast and clean. l have been telling everyone how great it is and how fast l did my livingroom in just two days and the paint last for ages next stop the stairs(after christmas) Buy this you wont be sorry..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:22/11/2010
Reviewer: Tincaalot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Jury is out
"First time i used this equipment was on a newly plastered kitchen ceiling. Invested in the extending handle and thought what a good bit of kit -in principle!
In practice it left me with a somewhat patchy white ceiling(wasnt impressed).That was nearly 2yrs ago.
Second outing was over the weekend. This time I was painting my living room walls(chickened out of doing the ceilling!!). Saturday wasnt too good-patchy like the kitchen ceiling. The 2nd coat on the sunday though was a revelation-especially when I found a white plastic rod lying in the bottom of the box and worked out where it fitted!! Ended up with a cracking finish in probably half the time it would have taken me with a normal roller. Also used the nozzel function to fill a small paint tray for the difficult bits(far cleaner than pouring from a can).
Despite putting 2 coats on the walls(which is effectively 2 rooms knocked into one), I'd still got a 1/3rd of the 5ltr tub left. I also sussed out that although you press the trigger intermittently, you've got to do it while on the move and quite often to achieve whole roller coverage.
In conclusion, put it together right, use it on a wide expanse of wall and experiment a bit with the trigger and you get a cracking finish, save time and use less paint than you would with a conventional roller. It's less messy while you're painting,
though again, not convinced totally with the cleaning function.
"
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>