Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Dulux PaintPod Roller System

With the New Dulux Paint Pod Machine painting has never been easier, faster or cleaner. The Paint Pod Roller system uses paint which is specially formulated. The Matt emulsion comes in an unique pack, which just drops into the Dulux PaintPod Roller system. Transform any room with freshly painted walls using this unique roller system. Easy, fast and even cleans itself.
Average Customer Rating:
3.807 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
12
42 of 57(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Review 1 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:01/03/2014
Reviewer: Maysigma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great piece of kit
"Does what it says on the tin. Usual failings with rollers connected at both ends, leaves more then necessary to be "edged" though the edging brush provided is good. Time to devise a single end connection to afford cosier connection to edges.
Main, and serious concern, suppliers of the paint pods required for this are becoming fewer and current ones, including B&Q, are ceasing to supply. Seriously worried that I will have real problems easily finding them. Available on Dulux website but, of course, they don't do the deals of major suppliers. Quite concerned about this.
Happy with performance."
Review 2 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:21/02/2014
Reviewer: diyisnotforme
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great invention
"Great product - even I can now paint a room without spraying everything but the walls with paint. no drips either. and helps the old back as not continually having to bend down to the roller tray.
Cleaning very easy, though not quite as thorough as I thought it would be but second time round much better.
everything neatly stores (almost) in the pod too, which is a bonus.
"
Review 3 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:01/11/2012
Reviewer: ShellieB
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makes life easier..
"The paint pod is great as you don't have to worry about spilling a tray full of paint whilst climbing up and down ladders, it's clean and effective.
Yes if you hold down the trigger too much it will overflow but the simple answer to that is, Don't hold the trigger so much then!
You will find the right way to use it as time goes on.
When I bought mine I bought a tub of the white paint as I had all my ceilings to do. When I had used all the white I didn't go and buy another pot of paintpod paint as Dulux recommends, I simply reused the paintpod pot and filled it with a much cheaper brand of paint. It works just fine and saves a lot of money too!
The cleaning process is also simple enough, press the drain button, remove paint, add hot water and press clean. I do however recommend you repeat the process about 3 times to clean it thoroughly. You will need to take out the roller and squeeze off the excess water (common sense really).
It may sound hard work but it's certainly not as back breaking as standing over a sink for 20 minutes rinsing a roller by hand!
I also recommend pressing the drain button again to make sure all the water in the tube goes back into the reservoir.
Painting is a messy, soul destroying job, and whilst the paint pod isn't perfect (nothing is).. It makes the whole painting process a little less painful
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:20/09/2012
Reviewer: Paintpodrubbish
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This is the worst invention EVER!!! The idea is great except the paint costs an arm and a leg, is completely water based and takes forever if you want a good job done. They don't make a primer for a start, so there goes the idea of not having the trouble of reloading. I was constantly wiping the roller, paint was dripping everywhere if you pushes on the trigger too long AND you have to, to get a somewhat decent finish. I done 2 ceilings about 4x4metre and it packed up. No idea why, so i bought a new battery and still not working. Done spending any more time or money on this garbage. Thankfully I got it for £27 BUT Dulux should have paid me for this garbage. Its noisy, sprays paint everywhere, the paint's totally water based and on walls you probably need 8 coats and worst of all they don't do a primer. I wonder how many people will be using this in 5 years time? lol. If I could give it minus stars I would."
Review 5 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:13/08/2012
Reviewer: SSheffield
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nightmare
"Been looking at these for a while and decided to take the plunge and buy one, the mug that I am bought 3 different paint colours along with the paint pod ... All I: can say is I spent longer trying to get the thing clean than I did painting, and I still need to give it another coat!
Thats without the fact the unit will not clean itself for some reason ... Troubleshoot guide and Dulux website only repeat each other and say nothing about "light comming on and then going off without anything happening", useless.
If it wasn't for the fact the store was shut the unit and paint would be sat on the cutomer service desk right now and me asking for refund / exchange as the unit is obviously not fit for purpose.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:29/07/2012
Reviewer: rlsg
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Product but Not Reliable
"Bought this product a couple of months ago and have been using it to paint my lounge/dining room which has Anaglyptic paper all over it. It is a good product and easy to use... when it works.
In order to get sufficient paint on the wall you have to put some weight behind the roller and now I have a partly painted room with a what appears to be irreplacable broken paint handle (£65 to replace as I would seem to need to buy a whole new system).
In addition to this the unit I bought occassionally goes on the blink for no apparent reason required a well placed firm thump on the pod from the right angle to get it back into life.
If my unit is an exception on the reliability distribution curve then ok, but if this is representative of the normal level of reliability then I would steer clear of it."
Review 7 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:15/07/2012
Reviewer: Jobbo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dulux PaintPod
"Registered so i could complain about this. The thing is awful, rubbish, a waste of money, terrible, and should be permanently removed from shelves and never seen again.
Just wasted 4 hours of my life pushing a roller on a wall with little or no paint coming out of said contraption. I managed to do a whole square metre in 4 hours and the thing used about 10% of the paint pot. It would have been quicker and better using a toothbrush.
I wasn't too impressed.
"
Review 8 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:28/05/2012
Reviewer: Zapzap
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dulux Paint Pod
"Really easy to use, although, instruction are not so easy, but, its fool proof.
It does take a fair time on the first useage of it, to get the paint spread the entire width of the roller.
"
Review 9 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:28/05/2012
Reviewer: DebbieD
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant pain pod
"Brilliant, time saving and so easy to use. Almost self cleaning, still a bit of residue left on the roller after running it through its cleaning cycle. It didn't take much sorting really. An absolute must if you have big room to decorate."
Review 10 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:14/05/2012
Reviewer: jec73
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to use, amazingly clean painting
"I purchased this on a whim as there was 20% off and I am so glad I did. It took about 5 minutes to unpack, read the instructions, set it up and start painting. About an hour later my kitchen was finished, another hour and the lounge was done.....I cant emphasise how easy this system is. Also worth mentioning is the fact that I didn't drip a single drop of paint anywhere that it shouldn't have gone to the point that by the time I got to the lounge I didn't even bother with dust sheets or covering the carpet - there is just no need.
The roller gives great coverage and the cleaning up afterwards is as simple as the painting itself - it takes about 10 min for the machine to clean itself.
This has to be the best DIY pichase I have ever made - Love it"
Review 11 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:29/04/2012
Reviewer: Agnes86
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FAB
"was very sceptic about this machine... NO MORE it is FAB!! will not change it to ordinary roller. no mess, it cleans itself, painting is a fun now! worth it :)"
Review 12 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:09/12/2011
Reviewer: smokey26
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good buy
"excellent can paint the ceiling without covering all the furniture only one or two drip"
Review 13 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:22/11/2011
Reviewer: Lisa2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic would recommend to everyone
"Love this item so easy to use no mess at all, the self cleaning makes it all so easy, great not having to stand over sink for ages. Does exactly what it says 5 Stars."
Review 14 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:20/11/2011
Reviewer: Lozzie1968
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
"This is the best thing I have ever bought!!!! Would recommend to anyone. Painted the house very quickly with very little mess ( just need to get used to taking finger off button as paint will come out too quickly). Another bonus was the fact it used very little paint, Buy it now while on offer."
Review 15 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:13/11/2011
Reviewer: Trouble1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Purchase
"I am delighted with the whole concept of the 'Dulux PaintPod Roller System', easy assembly of the roller parts, ease of use, smooth application and the easy cleaning method of the Pod. The finished walls look great thanks to the effortless 'Dulux PaintPod Roller System'."
Review 16 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:05/11/2011
Reviewer: wista
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy
"This Paintpod really takes the effort out of decorating.
You don't have to worry about dustsheets, or wearing painting clothes.
It pays to go through more cleaning cycles than recommended, but as it doesn't take any time or effort on your part that is no hassle.
"
Review 17 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:23/09/2011
Reviewer: ManUThruandThru
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
"This product is great - simple.
It's easy to use, easy to set up and the best feature is the easy clean system - yes that may be a bit noisy but it was quicker for the system to clean itself down than it took me to clean 2 extra brushes I had used to touch up the ceiling!
Paint doesn't work out much more expensive than normal Dulux paint and the extra cost is probably outweighed by the paint saving the machine makes by minimising the amount you use.
Really easy to use and I'm glad I bought one!"
Review 18 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:09/08/2011
Reviewer: CraftyCarin
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic invention!
"What a brilliant idea! I love this machine! No balancing paint on a ladder and up and down filling trays! No mess, no fuss! Superfast too! Easy to use and just plain fantastic!!!! I wish they had a paintbrush for cutting in that worked on the same principle! Thanks Dulux for being so Innovative!"
Review 19 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:07/07/2011
Reviewer: kevRIO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BRILLIANT PRODUCT
"EASY TO USE AND CLEAN I HAVE NOW BOUGHT THE EXTENSION TO MAKE LIFE EASIER ON THE STAIRWELL"
Review 20 for Dulux PaintPod Roller System
Date:03/07/2011
Reviewer: gazbi
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your hard earned cash
"Roller does not get totally covered with paint , it ends up 1" short from both ends, used it once then threw it in the bucket. Total waste of money."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>