Product Reviews

B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm

This chunky floating shelf is easily mounted onto your wall using the 'invisible fixing' bracket supplied. Use floating shelves to transform any wall in your house into storage space and make a stylish addition to your interior.
Average Customer Rating:
3.067 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
9 of 15(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Review 1 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:02/06/2014
Reviewer: Whipeet
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolutely Awful
"This shelf is a very low quality product, no fixing screws included. Prongs on the fixing bracket are incredibly uneven which wasn't spotted until the back bar was evenly aligned and screwed to the wall which meant having to drill even more holes in newly plastered wall to re adjust to make the the prongs level. Flimsy with a lot of movement even with the underside screws in place, also no caps for screwheads. I hardly dare place anything on the shelf as it is so weak and wobbly. What a piece of rubbish from one of the UK's diy giants, well done B & Q on another quality product."
Review 2 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:26/05/2014
Reviewer: Marshymado
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish!
"After a protracted delivery fiasco I finally received the shelves wich were poorly packaged in thin cellophane meaning all three had several visible chips, cracks and marks. They are not "lacquered" either and are actually more of a matt finish (which is odd as my sister has the same ones which are very glossy!). The shelves have now been reluctantly mounted as they are only for use in a playroom but I am so disappointed with damage and quality. A very poor product."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:28/09/2013
Reviewer: Lmmorris
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible product
"Bought these shelves to fill an alcove. They looked lovely but were unstable and poor quality. The hidden brackets are far too short and do not support the shelf, they barely hold 2 books without tilting forwards. This product only works with extra brackets fitted which defeats the object of 'floating' shelf. What a waste of money!"
Review 4 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:24/07/2013
Reviewer: diyitseasy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clean simple lines
"A product that can be used in any room in the house.
The clean lines of no bracket make this product so practical for almost any decor. You can also make them to fit your space with very careful cutting and sharp tools.
"
Review 5 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:06/06/2013
Reviewer: Rach75
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not really floating!
"It looks good but it relies on extra brackets underneath, the bars are too weak and without the extra brackets, it more of a slopping shelf. Bought brackets from b and q and it does look nice but missing the point though, it's supposed to be a floating shelf!"
Review 6 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:13/03/2013
Reviewer: grandad1963
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks Good
"Not the best quality but its functional, looks good on the wall. Not for heavy objects though."
Review 7 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:09/10/2012
Reviewer: Pink419
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont waste your money
"These were not as good a quality as I expected, there were marks where the white was joined and chips out of the corners, i bought 2 but both were the same, would not recommend to anyone unless they are going into a garage or shed to use for storage of paint or tools! I went to another DIY store and got similar shelves for half the price and better quality"
Review 8 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:02/05/2012
Reviewer: NikB
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Damaged shelf
"I have just unpacked the above shelf to find that hidden under the instruction leaflet were two gouges in the top surface. Reading the reviews it seems that this is a common problem. Remember to open the packaging BEFORE leaving the carpark! Another 25 mile round trip required."
Review 9 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:11/01/2012
Reviewer: debbedo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stylish shelf
"great shelf very stylish...looks fab very pleased"
Review 10 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:19/12/2011
Reviewer: Angela66
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality
"Good product, easy to put up and looks great."
Review 11 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:03/09/2011
Reviewer: macca45
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
floating shelves
"The price was ok.....but you get what you pay for.
I will be returning these at the earliest opportunity.
Too many scratches on the corners (even though they are covered in cardboard when purchased) and edges.
"
Review 12 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:26/07/2011
Reviewer: MarleyBoo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
"I have just purchased two more of these shelves after seeing the quality and strength of the first one I got. There's a steel bracket with six inch rods that protrude that attaches to the wall and the shelf simply pushes onto this and is fixed with two small screws. The steel bracket has ten fixing points which are grouped in close proximity but all are not needed to fix this securely so it will be fine for those who have to fix it to less perfect walls. Check for any light chipping damage before leaving the store as they show up like a sore thumb due to the dark surface under the white finish. I would add a picture but the area is not yet complete so if possible I'll return to this and add one later. Highly recommended."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:07/07/2011
Reviewer: lovecoco
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Modern and Clean
"These shelves look lovely once up-I got someone else to put them up for me but apparently they're not too hard! The only problem was I bought three and two of them had slight damage to them wih chipped edges. I didn't bring them back because i'd paid someone to put them up and couldn't be doing with the hassle but I wasn't thrilled about it. They were easily covered up with a bit of white paint but that's not really the point is it? Anyway, they look lovely now!"
Review 14 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:08/04/2011
Reviewer: yorkie75
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good looking and easy to instal
"The shelf was easy to fix. Ten screws and wallplugs are required to attach the support bar to the wall. Remember to buy these if you don't have them on hand at home!
Once fixed, the shelf looks good and feels very solid.
"
Review 15 for B&Q Floating Shelf Kit, White Lacquered (W)1200 (D)250mm
Date:16/10/2010
Reviewer: guesthouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Floating shelf, it really is.
"This is a lovely product but does not come with any screws to fix to wall or to secure to concealed brackets. When I did manage to work out the fixings it looks beautiful."