Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed

ShackUp's Tridoorbikestore is a compact designer bikeshed–toolshed combination made to store one–two standard-size adult bikes and all your basic gardening equipment. This bikeshed features wide-opening double doors and a separate third door to the main storage area; 12mm tongue and groove walls; 11mm oriented-strand board roof and floor; and a brown mineral-felt roof layer. The brainchild of Wayne and Gerardine Hemingway of HemingwayDesign, ShackUp's eye-catching sheds are exclusive to B&Q.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed
Review 1 for ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed
Date:25/06/2011
Reviewer: Anonymous12345
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality product, but thats about it!
"The product itself is very good. Large enough to easily fit two bikes with the end storage for small general purpose gardening items. The wood is good quality and solid.
However thats about all the good points. As mentioned in other reviews there are an number of issues with this product:
1. The shed is provided by a Third Party company not by B&Q. As reviews are not allowed to comment on delivery or customer service that is all I can say.
2. The instructions are poor and so you need some good DIY skills to be able to put this together. There are very few helpful images and the images supplied are dark and unclear. I would definitely suggest reading, re-reading, and reading again before starting.
3. The incline on the main roof is too shallow and, as indicated in other reviews, can lean to some water pooling on the roof."
Review 2 for ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed
Date:05/05/2011
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good purchase
"the shackup bike shed is a good size for my bikes and has plenty of storage in the side area but it has been raining a bit heavier the past few days and the roof is gathering water, it doesnt go in a big enough incline for the water to run off which is a bit disappointing as I dont want the water to soak through the roof if its lying on the top in big puddles. I will have to modify it myself! that is the only fault i have with this product"
Review 3 for ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed
Date:04/05/2011
Reviewer: Fluffy21
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Shed
"Have just finished putting the shed together and we are very pleased with it. Not one for someone without reasonable DIY skills as it arrives in around 30 different parts which all need to be screwed or nailed together and the instructions are quite brief and without many helpful pictures.
Over all it is a quality product and it suits our needs perfectly."
Review 4 for ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed
Date:27/04/2011
Reviewer: mithomx
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product, awful instructions!!
"Awesome bike shed, great size and fits neatly in the garden, however the instructions need to be read and re-read and then double checked!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed
Date:23/09/2010
Reviewer: Mark1970
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike store
"A very good product and not too difficult to put together
Well made
"
Review 6 for ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed
Date:12/07/2010
Reviewer: terrydiy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike Store with storage
"It looks larger than it actually is in the picture shown but i liked the double function of the product as i had no where safe to put my bike accessories. I bought a heavy duty lock for the doors so that my bike would be as safe as possible. Its kept my belongings safe and dry, and met its purpose."
Review 7 for ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed
Date:31/05/2010
Reviewer: Kenthejock
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 Month on.
"I shall keep this review short, to erect this shed you WILL need to be able to do DIY to an advanced standard ! anonymous is quite right the instructions are thrown in the bottom of a plastic bag along with all the screws nails nuts and bolts of all different sizes so the first half hour is taken up with sorting that lot out, then there is the wood, nothing marked at all so you do need to do a lot of thinking, ok now we start to put it together, in my opinion the quality of this product is appalling, it has been put together with nailguns I guess, which have been set wrong and when put into the wood it just splits it, if gripper nails had been used it might have held it together better. nothing was boxed at all just dozens of bits of wood and of course your plastic bag dumped on you by the courteous driver.
1 Month on- nothing fits anymore the wood has warped the locks dont fit and I could go on and on. So make your own mind up you have been warned.
Ken.
"
Review 8 for ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed
Date:03/03/2010
Reviewer: 3456tina
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cant Understand Previous Review??
"The quick delivery made the purchase of this bike store very successful for me. It was stress free, and very easy to put together. It fulfills its purpose, but also brightens up the corner of the garden. i'm sorry that the other customer had such a bad experience with buying this product, but it was a great purchase on my behalf."
Review 9 for ShackUp Tridoorbikestore Bikeshed
Date:03/10/2009
Reviewer: Akula971
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't Waste your money!
"I bought this "shed/bikestore' on the 3rd of September and duly got a telephone call to say that the carriers would be in touch to arrange a delivery date. Nothing happened for 3 weeks. Every day I rang B&Q, and was told that someone from "Shire Sheds", the maker would be in touch, still nothing. I asked for Shire's telephone No. and telephoned them myself. More promises of I'll get back to you today, but never did. Their staff ranged from the inadequate to the frankly rude, Customer service and civility is a new concept to Shire Sheds.
The product comes with instructions photocopied on two sheets of A4, crumpled up together with a mixed bag of screws. The instructions are mostly useless and you will need to do a few dry runs to make sure where parts go. None of the parts are numbered, so you'll have to measure each part to find out what it is. The wood is a very low quality softwood and arrived with numerous splits, and proud nails. Quality control none existent. The wood is of such low quality it will often split when a self tapping crew is put through it. Considering that the whole thing is put together with self tappers, not good. The base board is comprised of low quality chip board, with the words plywood printed on it. Its not plywood. It has no longitudinal strength and will warp and start to come to bits if assembled on anything but the most perfectly level foundations. You must assemble this product and paint it as quickly as possible, other wise the open grain timber used will absorb the moisture and make painting difficult. I'd also recommend that you glue all the panels together too. The completed structure is flimsy and makes a mockery of the door bolts supplied. A few swift kicks will demolish this unit, so its not exactly the most secure unit to place bicycles in. All in All a waste of time and money. If I knew then what I know now, I'd avoid this like the plague. SAVE your money and avoid!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Response from B&Q:By Shires Customer ServicesShires Customer Services31/03/2010
We at Shires are sorry to hear of this bad experience and would like to address the issues raised.

Unfortunately this reviewer is anonymous but they advise that they purchased the Tridoorbikestore from B&Q on the 3rd September. Our records show that for a week either side of this date all Tridoorbikestores that were ordered were delivered within 14 days of receipt of order. Furthermore our call centre records show that the customers were contacted by Shire on the same day as orders were received.

We would encourage them to contact us on 01945 465295 with their name and order number if they would like us to look into this further.

A pdf of the assembly instructions is available upon prospective customer request.

The timber used in the construction of the Tridoorbikestore is as the specification states. The timber comes from Siberia an area that inherently produces slow grown tight grained softwood there is no low grade timber used in any building produced by Shire.

The floor & roof are as specification supplied in OSB (oriented strand board) which is a man made board which is extensively used in construction & timber framed housing. The grade & thickness specified by Shire ensure strength & moisture resistance.

As is common to most external timber products this item is supplied with a base coat of treatment applied only. This is clearly stated on B&Q point of sale applicable to this product. Further protection of the timber is highly recommended the type of which is at customers discretion.

The Tridoorbikestore is well made & excellent value for money. It is a stylish well designed unit that provides reasonable secure storage. The hinges cannot be attacked which is always the most vulnerable area of any storage unit.

Please I urge customers with any issues to call us on the above number.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.