Product Reviews

Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W

The Bosch SDS35 electric chainsaw is the Ideal entry level chainsaw with simple, tool-less chain assembly & tensioning. Complete with visible oil indicator, large steel gripping teeth and instant stop kick-back brake.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
34 of 41(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Review 1 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:31/03/2014
Reviewer: maximo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant Product
"Being my first purchase of a chainsaw i was very apprehensive of it. But the instructions were very plain to understand,and using was a pleasure"
Review 2 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:24/03/2014
Reviewer: treefellers
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A very nice piece of equipment. Well built and easy to assemble."
Review 3 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:09/03/2014
Reviewer: Fluther
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor product
"Bought this chainsaw 18 months ago, and it worked well for a total of about 15 hours use over the course of one autumn/winter. stored in a dry garage, and not used again for 12 months. Failed to start. Told by dealer that the motor was dead, and would cost more to repair than the original price of the saw. Having spoken with a number of dealers it seems that cheap electric saws are OK for very occasional use, but do not expect them to last."
Review 4 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:21/02/2014
Reviewer: trebortrah
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very capable product
"We lost several trees in the recent winds, two small and two with trunks over 16 inches in diameter and 40 feet in height. I didn't want to spend too much on a chainsaw or want a petrol driven model.
I took a chance on this model because of the brands reputation and am so glad that I did.
It took me four hours to cut all four trees up into logs small enough to fit into our log burner and have to say that I was amazed at how easily this machine dealt with the job.
It is not a big or heavy machine but it cut through the trunks like a knife through butter and other than having to top up the chain oil once didn't stop until I was finished.
I have to say that I am not sure how a more expensive machine would have done the job better and in light of what I used it for and the size of my trees would suggest that the term "for light use" does not do this produce justice.
The only reason I have not given the product 5 stars is because the assembly manuals pictures are not clear enough to show you what way round to fit the chain which is a bit poor. I am a mechanic and was sure that I followed the instructions and images to the letter but still got the chain the wrong way round. other than that all was fine
Thoroughly recommended.
"
Review 5 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:17/02/2014
Reviewer: diyerer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good chainsaw
"I bought this as a back up to my petrol chainsaw. It is a very easy to set up and use. It is much quieter, lighter and requires hardly any input to operate (just keep the oil topped up). The chain stops immediately when you let go of the power button so it feels safer than my petrol model where the chain continues to spin. I use it for cutting logs to size and it does the job well and for continuous use is less stressful and tiring than my petrol model."
Review 6 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:25/01/2014
Reviewer: ryan1987
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good purchase
"Very light weight, easy to set up and it has an auto stop feature. We have quite a few trees/stumps and it cut through within seconds. Drinks the lubricant quickly apart from that very good for money."
Review 7 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:17/01/2014
Reviewer: oldtodger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
used it twice so far
"I have used the saw twice since i purchased it and at the moment it appears to be working fine.
The saw was purchase on the understanding that there was a two year guarantee with it, there is no mention of this in the handbook or on the packaging so i would suggest if you are going to purchase one, to keep your receipt safe.
B&Q were the cheapest for this saw.
"
Review 8 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:06/10/2013
Reviewer: ThePud
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Deal - get one before these sell out!
"Excellent value for money. Cut all my logs ready for the winter. Sensible size and weight and for the price it was one of my best DIY decisions this year
Tip is to buy a spare chain at the same time so you dont have the difficult moment of a broken chain and B&Q is closed!
"
Review 9 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:20/09/2013
Reviewer: Treebutcher
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chainsaw dilemma
"Bought this chainsaw as it comes with a good pedigree and good price. It was OK for rhe first hour when the front hand guard snapped off. As this is a Safety Feature the chainsaw is now unserviceable, leaving me with a row of trees to be removed by hand. The chainsaw is back with Bosch awaiting their decision."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:18/09/2013
Reviewer: Taysider1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
"Needed a new chainsaw urgently, in a rush to buy one and seen this online. Very pleased with it, easy to assemble, chain and cover."
Review 11 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:13/09/2013
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use
"Very quick and easy to set up for use. Please be aware that there is no oil supplied with this and i would recommend purchasing 5 litres as i was cutting down two conifer trees and used a lot of oil."
Review 12 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:09/09/2013
Reviewer: DrChainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great saw for most garden jobs
"I bought this saw at the weekend and have been very impressed with it. I have been able to cut through an entire 10 foot tall Hollytree. It copes easily with branches and trunks as wide as 12-14 inches. The chain has come off a couple of times but nothing too bad and it's easy enough to put back on. It can clog easy if you chop small things up like twigs with lots of foliage. I thought that the cable could be a brighter colour as the black one is often hard to see. Although we didn't cut through it I was worried that this might be a possibility. Overall a great product is not too noisy and very effective at what it does"
Review 13 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:04/09/2013
Reviewer: dc50
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
usless
"it made me annoyed enough to register.
ive got a pair of cutters that cut better.
useless.if this is all you can afford ,SAVE YOUR MONEY.
"
Review 14 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:26/08/2013
Reviewer: StomperUK
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Made easy work of a tough task
"This was a careful choice for some serious claer back of some overgrown bushes and small trees. It was easy to assemble and ideal for the job of clearing a fair few small trees and bushes. I'd still be cutting now if I'd stuck with what I had. The Bosch electric chainsaw made easy work of it. Correctkly tensioning the chainsaw seems a bit hit and miss at first but I soon got the hang of it."
Review 15 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:18/05/2013
Reviewer: grummy
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
to dear for the money
"not powerful to go through large items"
Review 16 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:26/04/2013
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Never used a chain saw in 50 years, but this was easy to assemble, light, and easy to use, taking note of all safety instructions.
Excellent product.
"
Review 17 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:03/03/2013
Reviewer: DrCam
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Powerful but loud!
"Relatively easy to set up however its pretty unclear which way the chain should be put on. When set up its pretty powerful and does the job well. Pretty loud when in use. Only complaint is that the oil flow often gets clogged by sawdust."
Review 18 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:07/11/2012
Reviewer: TheBigJW
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money
"decided to try electric after a number of years using cheap 2-strokes and getting fed up with the seemingly inevitable problems:- starting-when-hot; starting when cold; running out of fuel; mixing fuel; running out of 2-stroke oil; burning my fingers on hot exhaust; breaking the starting rope; keeping fuel on the property; smelling of fuel.
Bought the Bosch on recommendation of the B&Q chap and haven't regretted it for a moment.
No fuelling issues; No starting issues; No odour issues; No vibration issues.
LIKES: Easy to assemble; Chain rotation ceases the instant you release the trigger, so very safe to use (the motor continues to revolve for a few seconds, though); Cuts virtually effortlessly (12" diameter logs - no problem!); Easy to adjust the chain; Plenty of power; Visible chain-oil level
DISLIKES: Minor - noisier that I expected; Doesn't come with any chain oil (so make sure you get some); It seems to use a bit more chain oil than the other saws I've had; Using 'normal' chain oil invalidates their warranty (but considering the saw price, I don't care and have continued to use my normal chain oil).
"
Review 19 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:27/10/2012
Reviewer: Wildcard
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not worth the money
"I hve found that this chainsaw stops cutting within 30 minutes of use I was using it to simply cutting down a bush. Besides this, the chain kept coming off even though it was on right."
Review 20 for Bosch SDS35 Electric Chainsaw AKE 35 SDS 1800W
Date:07/10/2012
Reviewer: pd45
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chainsaw no petrol needed
"Hi very good saw-- -easy to put together----cuts well---no petrol leaking all over---very good price as bought on members 20% dicount weekend"
1 2 3 next>>