Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer

Lightweight, cordless hedgecutter with 52 cm blade length and 15 mm tooth spacing. Powered by latest lithium-ion technology. Features patented "Anti-Blocking System" to avoid stalling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:11/07/2013
Reviewer: Louise12
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
"I have previously had a Bosch cordless hedgecutter with ordinary rechargeable battery but the battery eventually died after a few years so decided to get the same hedgecutter but with a lithium battery. It is light and very easy to use. It cut my yew hedge very easily and quickly and I also pruned some of my shrubs. I am very pleased with the hedge cutter and pleased I chose this one."
Review 2 for Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:26/06/2013
Reviewer: Mmmmmm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was fed up with a mains corded trimmer as a trailing lead and the risk of cutting it worried me. I chose this product partly because I already have a Bosch cordless strimmer which uses the same battery and charger.
I am pleasantly surprised by how long the battery lasts on a charge, and should it run out of charge I can switch to the second battery while charging the first. I am also pleased that it is light so less tiring if reaching up to trip a hedge above (say) 6 feet high.
An excellent product.
"
Review 3 for Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:18/06/2013
Reviewer: C3007B
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor battery life
"Bought this trimmer last year, charging battery takes ages and only lasts a short time, although there are 2 batteries there is never enough power to finish the hedges in one go, I will be buying a replacement that runs off the mains."
Review 4 for Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:28/04/2013
Reviewer: MikeBofHampshire
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprisingly good
"I bought this hedge cutter about a month ago and used it twice, before considering to write a review.
I bought this particular make/model because I already had the electric hammer drill which shares the same battery type (though the drill has a larger capacity battery and faster charger), so I now have 2 batteries for longer use and 2 chargers.
Also note that not all retailers sell this version with the 4cm longer blades, which is shorter than I would normally use due to the size of my hedge, but there are very few cordless hedge cutters with longer blades.
When I turned this hedge cutter on for the first time I was a little concerned because it was very quiet and the noise seemed to give the impression that it wouldn't cope well, however once in action it was very impressive. It cut through the hedge really well and gave a good clean cut and easily lasted well over an hour on it's battery and still had plenty of power, I only stopped because I had run out of bags for the cuttings. It only once went into reversing 'non-blocking' mode on a particularly large branch.
The whole job seemed quicker than usual and I suspect that was because I didn't have the hassle of cable whilst up a ladder when I was cutting the top of the hedge.
Overall I am very impressed with this hedge cutter, my only gripe is why does it come with the lower 1.3Ah battery when the Bosch drill has a 1.5Ah battery and why-o-why do they have different chargers, with the hedge cutter charger taking 3hrs to charge the lower rated battery and the drill charger only taking 1 hour for the higher capacity battery"
Review 5 for Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:19/01/2013
Reviewer: myreview
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good all round
"Machine is lightweight and easy to use. Useful long blades give a wide cut area.
Feels quality. Tackles stems up to thickness recommended easily."
Review 6 for Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:30/08/2012
Reviewer: Shirley48
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product.
"Light in weight and easy to manage but powerful at the same time. Would recommend."
Review 7 for Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:21/05/2011
Reviewer: gardener1
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bosch AHS 52 Cordless Hedge Trimmer
"The hand grips are far too small, easily slips out of your hands."
Review 8 for Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:29/07/2009
Reviewer: alrightmate
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great hedge trimmer
"Bought this a few days ago after reading mainly positive reviews on Amazon, Ciao etc etc. Unpacked it and charged the battery for the recommended 5 hours first charge - (in fact left it over night as it started raining so couldn't do any trimming anyway).
Used the tool the following day - first impressions were good quality - battery clicked into place nicely, tool feels like it's built well. Action is good and it's really well balanced. Easy to use and is light. It does have 3 switches to press to start it but I found it easy to use. My concern was how powerful it would be as some reviews said it wasn't as powerful as electric models and struggled to cut through branches.
I used it for the first time to cut through a variety of shrubs / large plants / small trees and a hedge, which are all in my large rear garden. It didn't struggle on any of it and was quick and efficient. The non blocking "power tech" system works really well - basically if you get a branch in the teeth that is too thick for it to cut through in one go it will reverse the movement and try again (over and over again) until it's cut. In practice this all happens very quickly and works really well. Also I found there were hardly any branches it wouldn't cut through on it's first attempt so it didn't need to do this often. It seems really powerful (considering it's powered by a battery) and the fact that there is no cord to worry about is excellent - you can just fling it around and not have to worry about killing yourself with an electric shock! It's a joy to use.
Have used for 30 mins so far and will use the rest of the battery charge later - hopefully will last for another 30 mins before needing a charge again.
All in all well pleased with it. Petrol or some electric models may get a job done slightly quicker - due to more power , but this is great as there's no cord and no worries about petrol / gas etc.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bosch AHS 52 Li -Ion 18V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1