Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

B&Q Gas Heater 4200W

Average Customer Rating:
3.823 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
13 of 17(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Review 1 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:08/03/2011
Reviewer: Harters
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not bad however....
"I unpacked the heater and set it up in minutes - very easy, no problems at all.
I have not had any sticking controls so that is good.
It lit first time and was just as i had hoped - nice a warm office.
After an hour the office was warm enough and so i switched it down to position 1 and then from the back i switched off the gas.
About 1 hour later i thought I would switch it back on again and it lis but refused to stay on no matter how long I hold the control down for. I tried again 30 minutes later - same result
The next day I came to the office and it lit first time and again after an hour i switched it off. Once again, it now refuses to light again.
The flame when it exits the small silver tube is much lower in the morning and so the sensor can pick up the flame but on second lighting the flame seems to hover about 5-7milimeters above the tube and so shuts off.
I have tried to adjust the sensor position but am afraid I may break it so think it has to go back - unless anyone has any advice
Shame really :o(("
Review 2 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:27/01/2011
Reviewer: mehere
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice little heater
"Took me a while to get it working - I think the instrctions could be a bit clearer. Plenty of heat emitted on lowest setting so the 15kg gas bottle should last me quite a while. Overall, very pleased with purchase."
Review 3 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:31/12/2010
Reviewer: Semponi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic but Effective Heating
"Basic heater but does good job. Castors allow easy moving. Two handed job to turn on / off gas at bottle, bit fiddly at first but easier with practice. Other controls easy and simple to operate. Decent set of Operating Instructions. LPG Technician advised me that Butane heaters can cause condensation and room may need extra ventilation but no issues to date. Gas cylinder not included and will need to be purchased separately; note this is exposed at rear of heater when fitted. Unit takes different sizes of Butane cylinder; 15kg bottle can last up to about 150 hours on lowest setting, approx 50 hours on the highest"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:30/12/2010
Reviewer: tigra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good buy
"read all reviews on this heater, tried the heater control out in the store, no problems, only wished i had purchased this earlier instead of a "hotspot" from a local dealer for double the price!!"
Review 5 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:29/12/2010
Reviewer: newsman
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
B&Q Gas Heater
"excellent just what I required at a good price, dose the job without fuss and through the cold spell made my workshop a comfortable place to work."
Review 6 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:28/12/2010
Reviewer: dika
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works but fiddly
"Very effective heater, but has to be switched off at the gas cylinder, and incredibly fiddly and difficult to switch back on. Advise trying to find a heater that can be switched off without switching off the gas supply."
Review 7 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:26/12/2010
Reviewer: xpuggles
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
"Bought this product for my daughter as she had no heating in one of her rooms that she likes to use. Very quickly warmed up the room and had to turn it down to its low setting to maintain temp. Does exactly what you should expect and looks quite good too. Easy to move around but you must turn the fire off before moving, for your own safety"
Review 8 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:24/12/2010
Reviewer: Grigger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase
"I looked through the reviews before I purchased & saw the same thing, Setting switch jammed/stuck etc. I went to the store to see for myself & found that the swiched pushed in before twisting to the desired setting. A mistake that quite a lot seem to take as a faulty part. This is a great heater. Cheap & effective & I got a reduced price because someone returned it as faulty."
Review 9 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:22/12/2010
Reviewer: baddog
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a great heater
"needed some extra warmth because of the cold spell just lately and this heater certainly does the job, the problem is that you have to make sure you have the gas cylinder on order or you know where they have them in stock because at this moment they are in very short supply due to the weather and calor gas can't tell you when they can supply so shop around and get your calor gas first before you get your heater."
Review 10 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:22/12/2010
Reviewer: CGC10
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
"I found this an excellent buy, and it has kept my gas, heating and water running for last two weeks without problems (all located in my garage on outside walls) using just one burner. The garage is now at 6 degrees C - outside was minus 10C
Would like to know what the gas usage is so I know when to renew cylinder, or keep one as stand by.
Considering the adverse reviews it's strange that B&Q don't warehouse test that the Control Valve is fully operational before despatch."
Review 11 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:21/12/2010
Reviewer: Silas
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the price
"This does exactly what it is supposed to. Whilst not the prettiest it's cheap and belts out heat all day long. Ignore the reviews about sticking controls, The dial seems to stick, but a VERY gentle pull upwards stops the sticking completely."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:07/12/2010
Reviewer: MaryS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant product
"I bought two of these gas heaters because our offices were freezing and our electricity system wouldn't take any further heaters. These, one on the ground floor and one on the first floor, give sufficient warmth and are extremely economical to run."
Review 13 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:06/12/2010
Reviewer: krypto
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ABSOLUTE RUBBISH
"AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!
This is the third one i have had of these within 8 days and they have all had the same fault. As per another review the selector gets stuck and does not move, obviously a manufacturing fault. Stick to a decent brand and do not waste your money, time and no doubt petrol in running to and from B&Q! If i could give this no stars then i would!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:28/11/2010
Reviewer: grinchling
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice item
"This is a really nice item but had to go back to B@Q because the flame was not aligned properly to burn the gas, it only needed a tweek but meant another journey in the snow. Once working the heater is excellent and really keeps the house warm."
Review 15 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:22/01/2010
Reviewer: twinnie3112
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Heater To Have
"My wife is a childminder so is at home everyday, during the winter months it gets very cold & was costing a fortune to heat the whole house up just for the sake of one room, we`d mentioned this to her mum who bought us 1 for xmas`09 & its been fantastic, we even put it on at nightime when kids are in bed, again so we don`t need to heat the whole house up. When we`re not using it, it sits nicely in the corner of the room & does`nt look out of place as with the older heaters. :)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:10/01/2010
Reviewer: kennet
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gas Heater
"Sadly I have just returned my second heater to B&Q within less than a week with the same fault. I put the first down to just bad luck, but it appears that this appliance has a design fault with the heat setting selector. Both of the heaters developed the fault within about 2 days. Basically the selector becomes stuck and cannot be moved between the various settings which is annoying. Based upon this, I would not advise anyone paying for this and stick to a reputable manufacturer such as Calor."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
Date:06/01/2010
Reviewer: g7pkf
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
B&Q Gas Heater 4200W
"It work's, check for price details as on line it was £5 less than in store but they honoured this. so far used it for 1 season and it heated my workshop up from 0 to 7degrees c in 1 hour. it is a large workshop but it made it bearable. also acted as an emergency heater when our central heating broke and kept whole 5 bed house tolerable, will post update when i know how long a 15Kg gas bottle lasts as last season i used it intermittandly, this year it will be on every day (i think)"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.