Product Reviews

it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm

This Prestige-style drawer from B&Q’s it Kitchens range has inbuilt soft-close runners, with a smooth opening and closing action that prevent drawers slamming shut and damage to the mechanism building up over time. Made to fit a base cabinet of 500mm in depth – and giving ample storage space – the drawer is able to extend fully and securely from its runners.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
11 of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Review 1 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:18/06/2014
Reviewer: TJM1952
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handle With Care - Not Robust
"I initially purchased two 500mm soft close draw units for a kitchen rebuild. The first assembled easily and fitted easily as the runner location was marked on the base unit and worked perfectly. The second had a different runner design and no locations marked on the unit so confusing to fit. However main problem was RH runner did not run smoothly and on inspection found teeth stripped on the idler wheel in the mechanism. This seems a weak point as I had a similar problem with a 600mm drawer box. Other people have commented on the apparent complexity of the mechanism and seemingly reliability issues."
Review 2 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:16/04/2014
Reviewer: Chickenonaraft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good
"Great quality except the clips that attach and hold the draw front. I had to use additional brackets to keep the draw front from falling off when opening the draw. Apart from that I am very pleased with these drawers."
Review 3 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:02/10/2013
Reviewer: MSChapman
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Poor misleading instructions!!!
"Good product - however instructions wrong/misleading for installing into a new IT kitchen,
USE TOP HOLES OF BRACKETS FRONT AND BACK MOST - It took me over two hours to figure this out and I am reasonably proficient/competent!"
Review 4 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:05/07/2013
Reviewer: Mantissa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best buy ever!!
"Excellent buy - but beware!"Really glad I waited until I could buy these instead of the standard drawers. Fantastic qualty - work like a dream! However, I would suggest their construction and fitting are suited to a confident DIY'er. The instruction booklet had a number of small omissions/confusing instructions which complicted things. Also - be aware that the unit to house them does not have the necessary pre-drilled holes - they need to be measured, marked and drilled before the runners can be fitted. Even with this, they are really worth the effort and I would have no problem recommending them to someone else""
Review 5 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:25/06/2013
Reviewer: avago
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks & Feels Great
"Just fitted these draws I am glad I did not go for the cheaper ones as the title says these look & feel great.
When you have to adjust them as you have to leave the locking clips out just open the next draw a bit so you can get your arm in to the back and pull the draw forward from the rear this saves the draw front from falling off, Once adjusted put the locking clips on and you have a nice solid draw.
As for the cabinet not having any holes for the runners just follow the instruction to the letter and use a bradawl to stop the drill bit slipping not forgetting tape on the drill-bit,It took me no longer than half an hour to complete, adjust and and place completed cabinet in
"
Review 6 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:28/05/2013
Reviewer: butterfly2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good quality drawer, soft close works very well. The only drawback are the instructions which are not very clear but if you've got some common sense you will be fine!"
Review 7 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:08/05/2013
Reviewer: TonyQJ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drawer kit
"I've now used this drawer kit several times and I'm a huge fan. It goes together easily and solidly.
Do believe the drawing and don't take any notice of any numbers written on the runners - the drawing is correct.
As for those reviewers who stated that the drawer front falls off if you don't fit the clips, well, that's what the clips are for!
Tony"
Review 8 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:10/02/2013
Reviewer: Suetonius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So good I'm getting more!
"Bought 5 of these about 3 years ago. They went together like a dream; hardly needed instructions. They are very solid and strong. A bit tight to open but that's probably because the fronts I have fitted are with finger grips on the top rather than handles. They have been in everyday use and I have had no problems whatever. I am now going to buy some more."
Review 9 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:08/10/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bit Fiddly to put together
"Bit fiddly to put together lots of holes to be drilled in the cabinet for the runners etc. Also until the locking key is placed into the side to hold everthing in place the front panel would fall off with very little pressure. Apart from those little niggles they are very good quality draws, very smooth in operation."
Review 10 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:08/08/2012
Reviewer: Johnsa
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Could be better
"The construction of the draw unit seems to be strong and runs well. The fixing for the draw front is very poor and has come off several times on one of the draws At the moment the other draws the fronts has stayed on but do not feel it is a good solid fix."
Review 11 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:05/03/2012
Reviewer: stevedh
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
parts missing
"ordered two drawers for collection from northampton, my nearest store. Collected on a saturday afternoon. Two days later when trying to assemble the drawers there was a pack of parts missing from one of the boxes. I had to return back to the store (15miles away) to change the box"
Review 12 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:03/05/2011
Reviewer: Micky1954
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Well designed & easy to assemble would use again
Good value for money
"
Review 13 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:04/10/2010
Reviewer: DIYslave
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not Good for Arthritics
"I liked these drawers in the shop as they operate really smoothly and pull the drawer tightly closed slowly and quietly. The silver finish to the interior also looks very luxurious. However, the downside is that they require considerable force to pull the drawer open over the first four centimetres or so, to operate the closing mechanism backwards. If you don't brace your fingers by pressing on the worksurface or drawer above with your thumb, this force has to be counteracted through your arm, spine & legs down to your feet, which means that anyone who suffers from arthritis in any of the joints involved will get a stab of pain in the affected joint. This effect is worst when bending down to get to the bottom drawer, especially if you're standing to one side of it rather than in front. The mechanism also does reduce the usable width of the drawer a bit. I'm going to convert back to roller runners with a soft closing stop, to end complaints from my wife!"
Review 14 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:28/02/2010
Reviewer: DanB
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than standard drawers
"These drawers are far superior to the standard drawers which feel flimsy and wobble about when fitted. The soft close mechanism works well, although some drawer space is taken up.
My only complaint with these is that the IT cabinets do not come pre-drilled with holes to fit the prestige drawer runners - making a 5 minute job of building the units into a 20 minute job."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Date:04/09/2009
Reviewer: Barney
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Over complicated
"The drawer is very complicated and the mechanism seems to take a fair bit of the drawer capacity. I do not see any advantage at £35 over the standard drawer at £15 plus a soft closer £1.50. The instructions did not mention the side covers also lock the drawer front in place, without these ( left off to make adjustments ) the drawer front just pulls away. I believe most people want is the standard drawer with taller sides. The designer of this prestige drawer should get an award for the most complicated kitchen drawer ever, especially as the complication does not leed to any user advantage."
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for it Kitchens Prestige Soft Close Non-Framed Drawer Pack 500mm
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1