Product Reviews

it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm

This 600mm-wide white base cabinet from B&Q's it Kitchens range is a great storage solution for your kitchen. The neutral white design will complement most kitchen styles and the shelf height is adjustable, allowing you to tailor the cabinet to your needs. Its cam-and-dowel construction makes for easy assembly, and metal shelf supports provide added strength. This white melamine-faced chipboard cabinet is made in Devon from a blend of recycled fibres and forest-friendly wood.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Review 1 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:13/04/2012
Reviewer: Potticus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doesn't fit 600mm wide ovens
"I bought this to house my 600mm wide oven, but it doesnt fit because it is the exact same size as the housing. Pretty obvious I guess, but not when you expect everything to be built to standards so that everything does fit. Eg, who has a 570mm wide oven? I guess they must make them, but most built-under ovens I have seen are 600mm.
Good quality and easy to assembly, although the feet orientation was confusing and took a while to figure out what the instructions were suggesting.
All I have been able to make use of is the base, without any of the actual housing, so wasted time building it and then taking it apart. Good thing I didn't use the glue as suggested."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:07/08/2011
Reviewer: TrickyDicky
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap 'n' cheerful - not for first timers.
"This is a generic review for the B&Q it Kitchen range of units and doors.
This is my 4th DIY kitchen from a variety of sources.
First the positives:
Reserve and collect - excellent! Everything picked and ready to go; but why no simple order # entry to pay for it? Everything has to shuffle around on the trolley to find the individual barcodes...
Price - sensible for the quality level.
Ease of assembly and instructions - in the most part; fine: but see the negatives below...
The negatives:
There's no indication in the instructions that tell you (for instance) that a really standard oven and hob are not going to fit in the base unit if you actually assemble the top or rear brace pieces to the unit. So you then have to take the whole thing apart to remove them.
The position of the supporting legs means that you cannot access the cam-locks to retighten or remove a side panel once the legs are fitted. The shape of the leg 'root' means that plinth will not fit to the side of a cabinet (only the front) without serious butchery.
Prestige drawer kits don't really fit in the D-line units very well. There are no spot-marked positions for the runners (although there are positions for ordinary drawers).
Overall:
Value for money but not for DIY kitchen novices.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:26/07/2011
Reviewer: Kingcod1980
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Strange
"To give it credit it is very easy to build with simple instructions but for some reason it is designed so that you have to take the top two supports out to put a built in hob on the worktop above the oven!!!
Be warned the the top two supports are only 33cm apart so they would have to be removed to install a standard ceramic hob above."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:10/04/2014
Reviewer: vinodeano
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product, affordable price.
"just adding a new oven housing to my original kitchen. Original kitchen been in since 1999 and still like new. may consider revamping the dooors in the next couple of years to modernise but the cupboards themselves are still going strong with no signs of wear and tear."
Review 5 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:24/03/2014
Reviewer: Gavmc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as any other.
"For the money B&Q cabinets are top notch: don't be put off by them saying they are 16mm thick: the tops and bottoms and shelves are 18mm thick. Yes, they have thin, hardboard backs, but these can be stiffened up with some glue out of a cartridge.
The cabinets come with a comprehensive collection of screws, hinges, shelf pegs, blanking plates, dowels, legs, plinth clips, etc. ALL every bit as good as comes with cabinets costing twice as much.
Yes, the pattern on the inside isn't brilliant, but how often and how much does one stare at the inside of a cupboard!!
Yes, sometimes the sides are about 1mm out of being absolutely flat with the top or bottom but, believe me, no more, no worse and no more often than much more expensive cabinets.
I thought along the lines of 'get what you pay for' and expected trash. I was very pleasantly surprised.
"
Review 6 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:10/02/2013
Reviewer: Stagman
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very good basic design, well made and very reasonable price.As good as cabinets at twice the price!"
Review 7 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:07/02/2013
Reviewer: StupidNicknames
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good solid units and are easy to put together."
Review 8 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:05/01/2013
Reviewer: NuBBs
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good value housing.
This oven housing was the best priced item I found and it does exactly what I want. The oven fits and the cabinet is of good quality. No need to go for much more expensive options as once installed it is invisible.
"
Review 9 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:15/03/2012
Reviewer: Zarf
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Does the job, but !!!
"Functional unit, that does what it's supposed to. However it has a very poor quality finish, and cosmetically damages very easily. Cheap and cheerful, but if you want a decent quality, go for something more expensive."
Review 10 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:26/11/2011
Reviewer: Clicky
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oven Housing
"Changing from a double to a single oven so needed a new housing. B&Q had just what we wanted. Easy to build and put in place. Adjustable legs made it easy to level. Oven fitted in very well and gave me an extra shelf underneath for storage."
Review 11 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:07/11/2011
Reviewer: Bordercollie
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
oven housing
"good price, does the job it was made for."
Review 12 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:04/10/2011
Reviewer: Catandkitten
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Product
"Went together well, and a standard 600 oven fits perfectly. only thing it should include is the front cover plate to cover the gap under the cooker. you have to purchase this seperatley"
Review 13 for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Date:19/08/2011
Reviewer: VanessaH
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for the Job!
"Very easy to put together and housed a standard built in oven perfectly.
The only slight tweak we needed to make was to cut a hole to ensure the hob wiring could fit through to be hardwired in, but otherwise it was nice and simple, and feels sturdy and secure.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for it Kitchens White Oven Housing Base Cabinet 600mm
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1