Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm

A versatile board or sheet material. Various uses, ranging from cupboard doors and units, to shelving.
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
14 of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Review 1 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:11/07/2013
Reviewer: Carpenterinhertford
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Been a carpenter for 15 years and this is a Poor quality MDF board when painting with MDF primer goes like chip board and needs to be rubbed down"
Review 2 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:20/06/2013
Reviewer: TradeMaster
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product!
"Flat, Smooth and Easy to use!
I used the timber cutting service which was wonderful to use. Although staff morale at the cutting station can be low and sometimes rather unhelpful.
"
Review 3 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:09/03/2013
Reviewer: Bobrob
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Problem edging
"Bought several sheets of 18mm MDF cut by local timber merchants for cabinets I was building. One of my measurements was wrong so on a Sunday, I had to use B&Q to have one piece cut. No problems I thought until I came to paint units. Edges of all Timber Merchant supplied MDF were smooth and easily covered by couple of coats of Bullseye 123 to give a clean smooth edge. B&Q piece was much more porous and pitted. Had to use filler to get clean smooth edges. Can only presume B&Q MDF is poorer quality"
Review 4 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:27/02/2013
Reviewer: Wiggsy
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this from the Scotswood Road Branch Newcastle, thought it was fantastic that they cut the wood to size for you for free. However would've been nice if the member of staff had a personality. Most miserable person I've ever met. My son is a joiner and is about to lose his job and would love to be able to have a job like that helping people. Come on Mr give us a smile!!!"
Review 5 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:06/01/2013
Reviewer: bazza49
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mdf 18mm sheet
"as usual from b&q tp quality product at a very competative price, with the bonus of having a cutting service it took a lot of work out of making purpose built bed and work station in my sons bedroom."
Review 6 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:17/11/2012
Reviewer: OllieWoodCarpentry2012
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very versatile MDF
"Bought this material to make children's play desks with blackboards and to make toy chests. Great material for furniture making, particular 18mm thick which enables a strong rigid completed item, just make sure you have a dust-mask/eye protection for sanding and pre-drill all screws entry points to prevent splitting. Treats/seals on rough edges very very well with a 1 part water and 1 part wood glue mix when sanded afterwards, highly recommend."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:06/11/2012
Reviewer: martinthevet
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes a good table top!
"Needed to increase the size of our dining table to accomodate the family at Christmas.This made an ideal temporary top."
Review 8 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:23/08/2012
Reviewer: 8HRR52J
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good fibreboard
"great for making subwoofer enclosures; had all the cutout measurements on a piece of paper, took it into the store and they cut it perfectly! Great sub-bass responce aswell; very good quality :) (although it does weigh a lot!)"
Review 9 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:07/08/2012
Reviewer: eddie9185
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
"mdf is so versatile but beware of the edges being damaged when you buy,mine was but it didn't matter because it didn't show when used"
Review 10 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:19/02/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product
"ok price and good product. With this size sheet its better if two people can handle. Only issue is that the product was not on display on the shop floor in newton abbot so assumed not an item they stocked. Checked online at home, only to see they do stock . Was told its too big for shop floor display, so always worth asking staff if you cant see what you want."
Review 11 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:01/01/2012
Reviewer: monkeymaid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDF chipboard
"used this to enlarge our table top over christmas. Cut to exact size required in store> Product was as expected and nice and strong. Bit worried where it was not supported by our table top that it may not support food and elbows etc but worked really well. Am going to varnish it so it can be kept in garage for other occasions."
Review 12 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:25/10/2011
Reviewer: Yuna
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18mm MDF
"Had this stood up in my front room before I put it to use and expected it to have bowed a bit, but it was fine.
When cut the edges were smoother than I expected them to be.
Apart from that, there's not much more that can be said.
"
Review 13 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:22/08/2011
Reviewer: JANINA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOOD QUALITY PRODUCT
"THIS MATERIAL IS SO USEFUL FOR MANY DIY FURNITURE PROJECTS. AS WELL AS BEING A CHEAP MATERIAL TO BUY, IT PAINTS WELL AND IS ALSO EASY TO DRILL. ARMED WITH MY CUTTING LIST I TOOK FULL ADVANTAGE OF THE IN-STORE CUTTING SERVICE (WHICH IS SECOND TO NONE) AND HAVE ENOUGH PIECES TO GO TOWARDS MAKING SEVERAL MORE ITEMS. A PREVIOUS REVIEWER MADE REMARKS ABOUT THE QUALITY OF THE PRODUCT BEING POOR, I COULD FIND NO FAULT WITH THE PRODUCT I BOUGHT, MAYBE THEY JUST HAD A FAULTY PRODUCT?"
Review 14 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:23/03/2011
Reviewer: travelbug
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's MDF
"product was what is meant to be, it cuts up nicely and can be painted and screwed together. not much else you can say!"
Review 15 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:15/03/2011
Reviewer: NotSoGreenFingers
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Average product but good service
"As a previous reviewer mentioned, this MDF can de-laminate. The board I bought had started to de-laminate slightly along the leading edge, but the rest of the board was fine and I've had no problems working with it.
The best thing about buying MDF from B&Q is their cutting service. At no extra cost they cut the board into 7 sections of the exact dimensions that I required. Their reserve at store service also works well; I reserved the board first thing in the morning and it was ready for collection a couple of hours later (even though the confirmation email said that it would not be ready until the next day)."
Review 16 for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Date:24/02/2010
Reviewer: oldwonky
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
18mm MDF Sheet
"This product is very poor quality and overpriced. I have previously bought this product and it was smoother and denser than the current supply of boards. Previous purchases have machined well, but the current suppliers boards de-laminate when machined. Overpriced. Overpriced. Overpriced."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for MDF Board (L)2440 x (W)1220 x (T)18mm
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1