Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG

The striking yellow, innovative HIPPOBAG® is a conveniently integrated solution for the hassle-free and cost-effective disposal of household, DIY, trade and garden waste. Simply buy a bag, fill it up and call HIPPOWASTE® to book and pay for collection separately. The bag will be collected within 5 working days and the contents disposed of responsibly and in accordance with your Duty of Care obligations, with up to 80% of materials recycled.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Review 1 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:01/08/2014
Reviewer: olly5868
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant idea
"couldn't believe how easy this set up is. Buy a bag fill it up and within two days of my request to pick it up it was gone. I was apprehensive about the collection as the bag was in my garden and very close to my new fence I had just finished building .The driver of the pick up lorry made it look so easy using a remote control from standing in my garden to negotiate the safe removal of the bag.overall the bonus factor is that you can take time to fill up your bag ,pay no skip licence and use 2 -3 bags [1.5 tonne mega-bag] for approximately the same cost of a skip with less hassle.wish I had thought of this years ago.the bag is extremely strong so no need to worry about overloading it."
Review 2 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:18/04/2014
Reviewer: camitajo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
"I got one of these bags to get rid of general waste. Put where I wanted it collected from, filled it up, used website to arrange collection, paid for it...all done as specified. Driver super friendly. Quick efficient service and best of all could be done at my convenience :). Well done hippobag"
Review 3 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:12/03/2014
Reviewer: gfrtders
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good strong bag but look into removal charges before you buy"
Review 4 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:11/08/2013
Reviewer: Frecs09
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hippo bags
"Brilliant product for getting rid off rubbish, I just used mine to,get rid of our old bath suite. Much cheaper than paying for a skip and if you need a licence for the road for the skip you also have to wait and it costs more. Only downside in my opinion would be not knowing about this service, I had never herd of it and was told by a mate."
Review 5 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:26/07/2013
Reviewer: RecentPurchaser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beware Plasterboard
"This is a great alternative to a skip. However beware if you are including plasterboard as the restrictions on plasterboard (either the whole bag has to be plasterboard or there has to be less than 10% plasterboard, which is covered in clear plastic at the top of the bag) are not detailed on the bag or the website until you try and book a collection"
Review 6 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:09/05/2013
Reviewer: Rosalyn
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1.5 tonne hippobag
"Bought it because it was much cheaper than a skip to fill up with our soil & rubble after replacing all our fencing"
Review 7 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:28/11/2012
Reviewer: Robbo58
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
"Much easier (and cheaper) than a skip. Holds a lot of waste and doesn't take up much room. Collection arrangements were very easy - I didn't even need to be in!!"
Review 8 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:26/07/2012
Reviewer: Bishboshbash
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Useful - not cost effective alternative to skip :(
"The product itself is massive and certainly large enough to get a lot of waste into. If you get a few of them, you can fill them up at your leisure and it takes the pressure of filling up a skip in 7 days, or however long you rent one for.
Unfortunately, the Hippo collection team won't give discounts for multiple collections, so if you fill up 5 bags, it will cost you £389.95 to have them collected - and they take the bags you bought from B&Q as well, to recycle them.
Therefore, I don't really see it as an alternative to skip hire, as skips are much cheaper.
My plan is to fill up 5 bags at my leisure, then get a skip for a day, empty the bags into it, then get the skip taken away. It's much cheaper this way and I can keep the bags for future use. It also means I don't have a skip on the road for 7 days - it's in and out on one day, or even 20 minutes if the skip driver helps to fill it - means you can avoid the council skip permit stealth tax :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:29/03/2012
Reviewer: Juniper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hippobags
"Bags were very good quality and we filled them well, but unfortunately they could not be collected as our driveway is 50cm too narrow. So we have now had to order up a skip and move all the rubble a second time!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:15/11/2011
Reviewer: KarlMc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent idea
"A friend used one when doing his garden and so I got the mega one when we did our house renovations. So simple. Just put where you want remembering it has to be collected and then fill it up. I booked a collection online when we were ready and I think it was collected next day no problems.
Going to buy the smaller one now to get rid of plasterboards.
"
Review 11 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:23/09/2011
Reviewer: DIYDennis
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and effcient
"Need to have building waste removed. Do not have space or the time for a skip to be delivered, filled and removed. The hippobag makes life so simple. Buy it!, Fill it! Order collection! And its gone!.
Bought on Friday night and by Monday lunchtime about 1.2cubic yards of building waste was gone.
Perfect.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:29/07/2011
Reviewer: Sturdy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Conveniant alternative to a small Skip
"I found this useful for throwing away all the stuff I couldn't be bothered to recyle myself - bits of rubble mixed with plastic and paint tins etc etc. The job itself had much more waste but anything easy to recycle I took in bulk to the tip myself.
Best bit was that I didn't have to unfold the bag until I was ready to use it. And I could position it myself. Hippo collected the bag the day after I ordered collection via their website - very good.
Worst bit was knowing what they may consider as "level load" because, as the bag is plastic, it deforms, unlike a skip when you know you've definitely gone over the level!! It turned out that they took it all even though there was a s light mound in the middle."
Review 13 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:27/03/2011
Reviewer: MrsGMA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money
"I bought a midi and a mega Hippobag and filled them with most of a brick wall 1.0mx8.2m which we demolished. (Two megabags would have taken all the bricks and mortar.) The bags are very reasonably priced. I booked collection by Hippobagonline and they contacted me by email advising when the bags would be collected. The bags were collected on the next day. The advantage of Hippobags and their collection over a skip is the one-off price i.e. you don't have to pay a daily rate to have them on your property."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Date:04/03/2010
Reviewer: david77
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT IDEA
"bought the 1.5 tonne bag from bq the bag comes nicely flatpacked i put mine in the garage for a couple of weeks until i was on holiday.i put the bag in my front garden .i cleaned our loft out the garage.loads of old carpet and underlay etc etc etc 'i filled the bag to the top i went on-line to the hippobag website and paid on-line the bag gets collected in up to 5days .mine got collected on the 5th day by a big yellow hippowaste lorry.excellent service would well recommend and use again ."
Ratings-Only Reviews for 1.5 tonne Mega HIPPOBAG
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1