Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

B&Q Play Sand Natural

Washed play sand for use in children's play pits.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Review 1 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:06/08/2011
Reviewer: MabelJane
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful Play-PIT Sand
"As mentioned in previous reviews the sand in the bags called Play Sand is the washed, darker, stickier sand. I bought the sand in the clearer bags actually called Play-Pit Sand which is fine and dry and lovely. I'm not sure which bags had been put aside at my local store but the Play-Pit Sand was on offer so we bought 4 bags and told them we didn't need the ones which had been reserved (which I suspect were the darker sand called Play Sand). So be aware of the 2 kinds - this photo is of the Play-Pit Sand!"
Review 2 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:14/06/2011
Reviewer: mumof2rascles
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Sand ....Just make sure you pick the right 1
"Reserved online for collection today, however when got there, as i left quite soon after reserving, it had not been collected ready for me, which i didn't mind at all, i'm actually glad as when i found the childrens play sand there was 2 different types. After reading the other reviews i picked the right one, which is the one in the almost transparent sack which was described as play-pit sand on B&Q label on shelf. The other type was called play sand and advised was the washed sand, its the same price and weigh but in a mainly blue larger sack (which i actually think is this sand which this review will fall under as noticed is only sand advertised on the site) just make sure you pick up the transparent bag one for the dryer sand. The kids love it, really nice natural light golden sand, feels very much like any sandy beach, add abit of water and makes great sand castles. Sweeps up easy aswell and haven't noticed any staining of clothes or hands either. I'm just glad i got a few bags as think the sand pit will be a favourite place this summer holiday. Beware though it is 25kg per bag and they are quite small so give the impression of not very heavy... just watch your back.
p.s. i did get a phone call a few hours later from B&Q to advise my order was ready to collect. I felt quite sorry for the person as they had lugged loads of sand and compost bags onto a cart and i'd already collected earlier."
Review 3 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:28/05/2011
Reviewer: Pommie
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not suitable for sand pit
"We bought 5 bags of this sand, got it home and filled the sand pit up, it is a dark sand nothing like the image shown in the picture. The next day after one use we had to empty it all out.
It stains clothes! This is not good sand for a childrens sand pit as it will leave big brown marks on all their clothes. I would not recommend this. I am now stuck with 125KG of the sand to get rid of!!
"
Review 4 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:15/05/2011
Reviewer: HarlowMum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sand
"Bought 3 bags for my child's sandpit. Lovely soft light yellow sand. Children sit on the sand and play with it happily. Only problem is that I need to buy more to fully fill the sand pit."
Review 5 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:28/04/2011
Reviewer: Bond
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy with the choice.
"Great product, like proper sand just higher quality. Perfect for moulding and making sand castles with kids as it sticks together very well when wet and holds shape for long. Pleasant to deal with. I did not notice any problems with washing clothes after. Obviously you wouldn't use new clothes to wear in it, and to get messy is just part of fun. We bought quite a lot as we have a large sand pit, 350 kg. It was a best deal all around as we did not need a tonne. The only thing, shame that packaging is not recyclable."
Review 6 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:20/04/2011
Reviewer: sandlotty
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is the pouring sand not good for building castles so depends what you want!"
Review 7 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:18/04/2011
Reviewer: bunny5
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
would do the job
"I have bought first time this product from b & q. It does not seem to be less moist than other brand's ones."
Review 8 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:05/04/2011
Reviewer: dougal1972
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Sandcastles
"When I first enquired about bags of play sand at B&Q this year it was unfortunately out of stock. I left my phone number and my local Northwich store efficiently called me back when a delivery arrived. The sand is dry in the bags and is of excellent quality. It makes lovely sandcastles too. Fantastic customer service and a perfect product, thank you B&Q."
Review 9 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:02/04/2011
Reviewer: antonio
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
childrens favourite
"the grandchildren found it great. just like being on the beach, except the sand is of a very high quality, and leaves no yellow stains/marks. great value for money."
Review 10 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:16/02/2011
Reviewer: jay1122
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its great!
"this sand is brilliant for kids, i think the sand that the first two are referring too is the washed play sand, which u buy wet and it is very dark and dirty looking. i did not like that sand when i purchased it, we had to empty our sand pit of it as it just wasnt drying out and the kids were coming in filthy.
however this play sand is brilliant. its a lovely colour and feels like soft beach sand. no dirt or staining to the skin or clothes, and you can easily make sand castles by sprinkling in some water. and it dries out fast too, so its nice and smooth for playing with dump trucks and cars etc. we refilled our sand pit with this stuff, the sand pit was covered for winter, we opened it up again last week and its still in great condition. i was expecting to have to renew it again but it looks as though it will be fine to use for this year as well!
and its a great price! dont buy the washed stuff though."
Review 11 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:22/11/2010
Reviewer: Bella1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best play sand I have found
"I was initially put off by the other reviews of this product and ended up having to buy it as no-one else had sand in stock. And I am glad no-one else had sand.
This sand was for my 2 year old son and his friends to have treasure hunt, and after playing in it for over 2 hours there were no stained hands and no stained clothes.
This sand is stickier than other play sand, but that is its great advantage. The kids were able to make sandcastles and pies and it was much easier to clean up than the super-soft and fine sand we've used before.
When dried and spread out it did become fine and dry, so easy to sweep up and to remove from clothing and skin.
I will definitely buy this again and have others preparing to buy it too!"
Review 12 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:06/10/2010
Reviewer: Tiopepe
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dreadful purchase
"Sand was very very wet and very dark brown. It stuck to hands and clothes staining the latter. Extremely heavy and most unsuitable for use in children's sand pit - more like building sand."
Review 13 for B&Q Play Sand Natural
Date:24/05/2010
Reviewer: asdf
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WORST CHILDREN'S PLAY SAND EVER
"This sand is gritty and nasty and sticks fast to children. It is not the nice soft play sand you can buy elsewhere."