Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L

Thompson's Drive Seal is a coating specially designed to renew, waterproof and protect tarmac driveways.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Review 1 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:01/07/2013
Reviewer: DIYwhennecessay
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OK Short term
"Not able to comment on renewing and protecting. Does give your tarmac drive a deep black appearance for the first few weeks. But if your drive is old and pitted like mine, despite copious amounts of Thompson Drive Seal, the effect long term is purely cosmetic. The actual product appears to be a (thin) water based acrylic black paint, so as your drive sheds more of its surface the coating comes away leaving exposed patches within a matter of 4 or 5 weeks. I wrongly assumed it was a pitch based tarmac sealant, it is not. So great if you want to spruce the drive up for a one off occasion, but can't recommend it for long term remedial repair."
Review 2 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:18/06/2013
Reviewer: walras
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product
"first coat I found hard work with the roller and tray, getting into the tarmac,second coat I poured it on straightout of the tin.Looks great just like new tarmac hope it lasts"
Review 3 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:12/06/2013
Reviewer: GIYJoe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quarter Coverage
"I pre-painted a very small part of the drive a year ago to check on robustness. This would be no good if it wears through or flakes off in six months. It has last a year with no signs of trouble, although it's not in a high wear area. On the result of that test, I did the rest of the drive.
Coverage is very poor compared to the claims - our drive is very rough so this is probably worst case, but for 2 coats it took 4x the recommended amount. Budget for 3 times at least before you decide and make sure your store has enough in stock - if you stop and restart you risk overlap lines.
I recommend dampening the surface before you start (its water based) to stop it drying out too fast and help get an even coverage. Don't do it in full sun or on a hot day - late in the evening is ideal as it gives you time to get the coverage even before it fdries off. I know because the first coat I did with dampening in the late evening and it was fine - the 2nd coat late afternoon after a hot day with no dampening and it dried out too quickly - I could not see where I had been and did end up with a few small overlap areas (They won't notice when it gets dusty/grubby - not that bad)
The resulting effect is very pleasing - looks like the real thing (new tarmac that is). It also holds together some of the looser particles and slows down moss and mould growth (from my experience of the strip I did).
It dry conditions its easily drive onable the next day - it does recommend 4 days of light use though - so bear that in mind - think of the long term.
It will wear through in time - how long is the million dollar question. I suspect a single re-coat in 3-5 years will be needed. That's a hope/guess, not a real prediction.
Buy it from a store that has good throughput of stock - I bought some top ups from another DIY store and they had settled out and took an age of stirring and decanting between cans to get them all mixed together. Most of my B&Q ones needed minimal re-mixing.
Bottom line you really need to find someone who has written a review after 2-4 years of use - only then can you tell if its really good. Although from my 1 year test, the signs are promising and suggest it will not be a disaster by any means. If it lasts more than 5 years looking good, I'd come back and give it 5*. I suspect all the reviewers here who rate it so highly look at the "week 1" result and are impressed - in that respect they are right. But longevity must be the real test."
Review 4 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:15/05/2013
Reviewer: peterb16
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks gret
"Had to put 2 coats on even after ensuring I covered the whole area with the 1st coat. Now the 2nd coat is on it looks good. Time will tell how it lasts."
Review 5 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:05/05/2013
Reviewer: doitallyourself
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
"Excellent product with a good result. BUT the suggested coverage is VERY optimistic."
Review 6 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:06/06/2012
Reviewer: PatriciaB
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thompsons Drive Seal
"I have quite a big drive and it took ten tins to apply two coats - we followed all the instructions on the tin to the letter - we did not use the drive for at least 48 hours - and only one week later it has started to come off in places - I am really disappointed because it was really hard work due to the area to be covered and it cost me £150!!! I do intend to write to the manufacturer for their advice and guidance. The drive looked fantastic when first painted in fact some peple thought we had had a new tarmac drive so you can imagine our disappointment now"
Review 7 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:16/10/2011
Reviewer: mrhappy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
now smiling
"i had an accident with motor oil on my drive. i searched for weeks to find a solution. plus god knows how much on cleaners!!!!!!!. i then gave thompsons driveway seal a try.( for £15 i wasnt expecting it to do much).....how wrong i was......my drive looks like its just been re-tarmaced!!!!!!!!. already 4 neighbours are going to do theirs.absoutely excellent."
Review 8 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:02/08/2011
Reviewer: manic101
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Briliiant
"Looks like I've had a new drive, easy to apply. Highly recommended."
Review 9 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:17/04/2011
Reviewer: Trevo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product
"Very good results, but as our drive hadn't been treated for a number of years, it only covered about 5 to 6 sq m per litre first coat, 10sq m second coat.
It took 6 tubs instead of the expected 2.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:14/04/2011
Reviewer: forestfach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
"Have used over many years. Good coverage protects drive and looks good as well."
Review 11 for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Date:02/10/2010
Reviewer: Shawzy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great Product Brings Drive up As New Would Use Again"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Thompson's Quick Drying Drive Seal Black 5L
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1