Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thompsons Roof Seal Black 4L

Thompson's Roof Seal is a highly flexible coating designed to resist cracking during expansion and contraction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thompsons Roof Seal Black 4L
Review 1 for Thompsons Roof Seal Black 4L
Date:22/06/2014
Reviewer: dssmex
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good
"bought this to seal a concrete slab garage roof
easy to apply with a brush, coverage only about half that stated but this probably to rough surface i applied it to
dried very quickly
had heavy rain 2 days later and no leaks seen
will have to see if it manages its 10yr life span
"
Review 2 for Thompsons Roof Seal Black 4L
Date:12/02/2014
Reviewer: 0ne2ask
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stops porous roof
"I used this product on my daughters "conservatory" roof which is not glazed and was leaking in heavy rain round the flashing and joints in the roofing felt.
A treatment with two coats of the vulnerable areas has stopped the ingress and this weather is really testing the repair.
Not sure of how long it will last but a first class emergency repair giving time to look at a permenant repair"
Review 3 for Thompsons Roof Seal Black 4L
Date:14/06/2013
Reviewer: revenger909
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garage seal
"Brill product. It was a sunny day and it was drying as I was putting it on the garage roof. Needed two tins. I thought it would only be one. In future I will buy two and then take back the second if not required. Could have saved myself some time. Easy to spread with a roller."
Review 4 for Thompsons Roof Seal Black 4L
Date:29/03/2012
Reviewer: RYGM
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
waste of time and money
"bought one tin and applied as per instruction,,, two days after application, the rubber-like substance started having cracks. thinking that what I've initially applied is not thick enough, got another tin at the store and applied it too, lo and behold cracks started appearing after two days!!! spent so much time in preparing and cleaning the flat roof and spent nearly £50 which all came useless!!!"
Review 5 for Thompsons Roof Seal Black 4L
Date:16/03/2012
Reviewer: facebook
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome
"So easy to apply, large brush and some disposable gloves.
Tried all sort of products over the years and this has so far got to be the best, applied 2 coats 12 months ago and still looks like New and if you've got any leftover just put the lid back on and stick it in the shed, it does not cure up / get hard /go off in the tin as its water based......... 5 stars from me.
"
Review 6 for Thompsons Roof Seal Black 4L
Date:27/01/2012
Reviewer: Straker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product!
"Found this product in my local B&Q (Barrow-in-Furness) a couple of years back and was hugely impressed. Not only is it easy to apply, (the one I used before was a nightmare, it solidified whilst you were using it! NOT a Thompson's product I hasten to add!) but was very reasonable in price too! The big plus point though is it's durability! My roof is totally waterproof now, after years of damp patches appearing in the bedrooms and then ladders going up and down....good job I don't mind heights!
I have moved house now and am going to do the flat garage roof with Thompson's when the weather improves (if ever?...haha)"
Review 7 for Thompsons Roof Seal Black 4L
Date:12/06/2011
Reviewer: dora666
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good stuff
"l brought this to use on top of new felt and found it very easy to work with
i have only put one coat so far
but l know it is stopping rain going into the inside of shed as its pouring with rain now
l will put another coat on as that what the ins;say
used a large paint brush and went on ok
"
Review 8 for Thompsons Roof Seal Black 4L
Date:24/05/2010
Reviewer: bj51
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thompson Roof Seal - black
"Follow the instructions on the can and it workks very well - keep on stirring during application. Easy to apply - I used a large paint brush. Goes on grey and dries black , good for second coat. I used on tile and felt roofs, coverage was more or less as stated on the can."