Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L

Isoflex Liquid Rubber has an advanced technology formulation which forms a permanent flexible waterproof coating for roofs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Review 1 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:30/04/2014
Reviewer: SeanfromBurton
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use of ISOFLEX High Performance Liquid Rubber
"The flat roof on my porch had developed a leak to the point I had to put a bowl on the floor during heavy rain. After probably a couple of month of ear ache form the better half, I though it was about time I tackled the problem. After inspecting the roof I noticed a 50mm crack in the felt, which was roughly where the water was coming through the plastered ceiling. I looked on line for products that claimed to repair leaking flat roofs and I came across ISOFLEX High Performance Liquid Rubber. I'd used FLAG Roofix before, which appeared to work well, however after 2 years the UV from the sun had hardened the epoxy making it brittle and it began to crack and fail. Therefore I decided to try another product to see how it faired. I tried several places to compare prices and to my surprise B & Q were the cheapest and to be honest I wasn't expecting that? Whilst purchasing the product I read the label and it stated that you needed to use the ISOFLEX primer before applying the liquid rubber, this added an additional £10 to the job, but I bought both as I didn't want to compromise on the job.
I followed the instructions on the primer by cleaning the flat roof of loose material and giving a good clean. The primer was very thin and was applied with ease leaving a slightly tacky surface. After removing the tin lid from the ISOFLEX liquid rubber I found that the product had separated whilst been sat on the shelf in the shop, to a hard thick treacle substance taking up about a third of a tin, and a very thin black liquid filling the rest. This took some mixing with a strong stick, in fact I used a toy cricket stump I found in the garage which was about 22m round. It was very hard work mixing the product and it took me at lease 15 to 20 minutes to completely mix the product, it was an arm burner to say the lease, but the product eventually was one thick consistency. The mixed product was easy to apply and I only used half a tin covering approximately 3m². The finish was a black smooth, rubber like finish, which has been down for a week. We've had some heavy rainfall since application and all appears to be well and doing the job.
"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:25/03/2014
Reviewer: Ants53
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a really good product well worth the money and sorted the problem out"
Review 3 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:18/01/2014
Reviewer: angelica678
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great stuff even when put on in dry cold weather.
Cured my leaking garage roof.
"
Review 4 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:05/08/2013
Reviewer: muergo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally have a leak after storm
"This Isoflex liquid rubber polyurethane/ butyl is a remarkable product.
I used about forty cans to cover flat roof and did exactly as directed, the primer is essential,
It is now about twenty years old and only todays storm has shown a leak.
I'm sure that using it again with overlap primer it will fix it.
It really cures to a flexible rubber sheet just like a swimming pool liner."
Review 5 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:13/06/2013
Reviewer: Kingfisher17
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roof sealant
"Without doubt the best product for sealing a roof.
Much longer lasting than cheaper products.
Make sure that when you buy that the liquid in the tin is in prime condition and if not take it back. The first tins i bought had thick rubber gunge at the bottom of the tins. They had obviously passed their shelf life and the rubber solution had separated. Subsequent purchase was fine and liquid poured and brushed easily.
"
Review 6 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:18/07/2012
Reviewer: unsatisfied67
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish Product
"I am calling it rubbish as it DID NOT DO WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN,ie it still cracked and let water in."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:30/05/2012
Reviewer: KoolDude
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very usable product
"Like many folks with flat roofs, my garage and workshop had developed regular leaks. I had used a bitumen type sealant for quite some time, but that never seemed to last for more than twelve months. I needed a more permanent solution.
I opted for Isoflex liquid rubber as it has very good feedback on many trade sites and has been around for many years.
The product is easy to work with, but contrary to what is said it DOES need stirring before use. It brushes out and flows very easily, but being self levelling it means if you have undulations in your roof, you are better to apply two or three thinner coats rather than one thick coat, to ensure all areas have an adequate thickness of coating.
Invest in some cheap throwaway brushes before using this product, as it forms a thick gel that trashes your brushes in a matter of hours. All in all a good product."
Review 8 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:31/03/2012
Reviewer: RoyR40
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for flat roof repair
"Fabulous product that I've used a couple of times now to help fix a leaking flat roof with excellent results. The only reason I give 4 stars and not 5, is that at £38 for a gallon tin it's a bit overly priced as it doesn't go very far."
Review 9 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:18/01/2012
Reviewer: Sailor64
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Isoflex Liquid Rubber
"I found it easy to apply and I am still waiting for it to rain to see if it does what it says on the tin. I have used this item in the past and found it excellent, that is why I am using it again."
Review 10 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:04/10/2011
Reviewer: TWINNEY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
isoflex epdm
"Excellent product, does exactly what it says on the tin-to coin a phrase.
Just pour and sweep over the roof (in small sections)with a small stiff bristle kitchen hand brush.
A 4"" paint brush can be used to finish it off or smooth out any thick layers.
Do wear thick long plastic gloves ,old clothes and safety goggles as it can go everywhere and is difficult to remove.
Say goodbye to all your brushes etc. as you can't clean them.
When pouring keep upwind of the fumes that can effect some people.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:07/09/2011
Reviewer: Cain
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
"Rain leaking through flat shed roof, applied one coat of Isoflex Liquid Rubber. After forty-eight hours, heavy rain fell, NO MORE LEAKING ROOF! Would highly recommend this product, does exactly what it says on the tin!"
Review 12 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:21/08/2011
Reviewer: dazbee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic product
"had a leaky flat roof so i thought instead of replacing the whole roof i would just try to seal the leaks.
great coverage sealed all of the roof with one tin, bit messy will not come off clothes or fabrics, but excellent job.
"
Review 13 for Isoflex Liquid Rubber Black 4.25L
Date:08/03/2011
Reviewer: Bouremouth
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
isoflex Liquid Rubber
"I have used isoflex over 20 years ago on a roof and its still water tight so great stuff. Just used it on my garage
and going by the past wont have to wory about it for some time to come.It would be good as before you could get isoflex in silver heat reflective sadly they do not do this anymore.
Only one draw back you must use all of the tin when opened as i found that any air contact dries the rubber that is the way isoflex works dries by air.
I put cling film over unused liquid and does not set so far so good.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.