Product Reviews

Crown Cupboard Paint Champagne 750ml

Satin finish paint in Champagne specially designed to make over kitchen and bathroom cupboards. Ideal for melamine, wood, MDF, wood veneer and acrylic bath panels.
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
4 of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crown Cupboard Paint Champagne 750ml
Review 1 for Crown Cupboard Paint Champagne 750ml
Date:05/07/2013
Reviewer: CovenhamSailor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Paint
"Re-painted a pine dresser & drawers - looks great.
After applying two coats of primer / undercoat by brush, painted first coat which was touch dry in about an hour. Second and final coat next day, which was easy because the paint goes on lighter than the dried paint with a contrast so that no patches are missed.
Would have given five stars but for a slight issue in finding the correct and consistent "brush loading", but this could be my lack of practice.
Overall a good and easy to use paint.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Crown Cupboard Paint Champagne 750ml
Date:11/12/2012
Reviewer: jayjay58
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
looks fab
"Ive just painted some wardrobes and a wooden bed it has tranformed the room - if you know how to use cupboard paint its great - paint fast and dont put paint on thickly coated - you will need a few coats if going from dark to light - and the best thing is it rinses off the brushes in water so no need for paint cleaner"
Review 3 for Crown Cupboard Paint Champagne 750ml
Date:24/10/2012
Reviewer: Kackers
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nightmare to use but great results!
"Thin and fast is the key to applying this paint.
Something I did not discover until I was 4 cupboard doors in!!!
I applied 4 thin coats to cover up a laminated pine effect and I was very very pleased with the results.
It dried as a flat matt finish.
For £15 a tin, it has totally transformed me kitchen and it did not take that long to complete but do allow 24 hours between coats."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Crown Cupboard Paint Champagne 750ml
Date:11/09/2012
Reviewer: HandyDIYSandy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked For Me
"Despite other poor reviews of this product, I was very happy with the result. Using sugarsoap to clean the doors first, a thorough sanding with fine paper, another wash with sugar soap, one application of primer and 2 topcoats and its fine. The finished result is a refreshing kitchen makeover from oak finish to a light and airy cream. After reading the 1 star reviews I went to look for brushmarks on my handywork but it seems pretty good to me. The paint does dry quickly and I did have to clean the brush regularly (after 2 or 3 doors) to prevent drying paint sticking to the bristles, but I did like the quick drying nature of the paint, as with 24 doors to do it did speed up the process."
Review 5 for Crown Cupboard Paint Champagne 750ml
Date:11/05/2012
Reviewer: LizzieRose
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wished I had read The Reviews!
"I hate decorating but needs must!
I thought I was buying the best possible paint for my Pine doors; as advised, I sugarsoaped, sanded and prepared to the best of my ability. It was clear to me from the start I was going to struggle as the paint dries so fast and streaks were immediate, I thought after the second coat it would improve, the overeall effect looked worse.
Thankfully I stopped after 2 doors and after reading these reviews, wished I had checked the site sooner!!!!
Back to the drawing board for me and another DIY lesson learned.
Sorry would most definitely not recommend!!!!!!!
"
Review 6 for Crown Cupboard Paint Champagne 750ml
Date:18/04/2012
Reviewer: depressed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The worst paint I have ever used
"I have Just bought this paint to use on my kitchen cabinets but before doing so I decided on a trial on a piece of wood exactly the same as the cupboards. The result was so bad I will not use this paint but throw it away. My cupboards are dark Mahogany and I was expecting to have to use two coats. I have so far used three. The wood was prepared in accordance with Crown paints own instructions. The brush used was the best and finest bristle bush I could buy but instead of a fine finish brush marks are clearly visible and it looks streaky. If you could rate this paint below one star I would."
Review 7 for Crown Cupboard Paint Champagne 750ml
Date:07/06/2011
Reviewer: transformer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really poor paint not suitable for the job.
"This paint really is the terrible, having sanded primed [rubbed down between 1st 2nd priming coat and first finishing coat ]I attempted to apply this paint, it gathered and spread so unevenly one had to try and paint the full length of the doors very quickly otherwise it dried on you and the paint brush strokes showed., never again with this rubbish, it cost me three days hard work at the tune of 12.99 for one tin[another two I took back] and I had to remove it and start all over again..If you really want to paint kitchen doors use another well known water based emulsion hard as nails flows like a dream , no brush marks and best of all 14.99 for 5ltr not 13.00 for 750ml..stay away from this rubbish or you may well regret it... ."
Review 8 for Crown Cupboard Paint Champagne 750ml
Date:22/11/2010
Reviewer: WelwynDIYer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Leaves brush marks
"This paint has a sticky consistency and as it dries quite quickly the brush marks do not disappear. I tried with a small roller, but this gave a texture to the finished surface which was not what was wanted. I also found that up to four coats were needed to cover my oak cupboard doors satisfactorily."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.