Product Reviews

Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White

Pure Brilliant White by Crown is has quick drying gloss finish for use on interior and exterior wood and metal. The non-yellowing formula ensures it stays white for longer.
Average Customer Rating:
2.395 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
25
16 of 43(37%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Review 1 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:20/06/2014
Reviewer: BrummyBoy
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RUBBISH
"This has to be the worst paint I have ever used. Quiick drying - YES, Brilliant Wite - YES, Smooth and Easy - NO, NO, NO.
If you want a Semi-Gloss PRIMER or UNDERCOAT this will be OK, for the top coat use an Oil based paint as this will not do.
Would I recommend it - ONLY AS A PRIMER OR UNDERCOAT. GLOSS IT CERTAINLY IS NOT.
Rated 1 star as not allowed to enter 0
"
Review 2 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:02/06/2014
Reviewer: Balvennie
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but not great
"Good clean brilliant white colour, but requires several coats. Doesn't dry to a high gloss finish - more like satin - but you can wash the brushes in water."
Review 3 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:01/06/2014
Reviewer: xChrisTx
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wish I'd read the reviews before buying
"Worst paint I've ever used, as others have said - it dries too quick, no chance to go back over what you've done, brush marks stay, complete waste of money.
Hoping as it's water soluble I can maybe water it down and make it useable........
"
Review 4 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:31/05/2014
Reviewer: WXYZ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst gloss paint
"This is the worst water based paint I have ever used. I have used water based in the past and thought they might have improved. I need to sand down this finish and buy an oil based paint. Avoid"
Review 5 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:06/04/2014
Reviewer: Clubby
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this paint
"Utterly useless, the worst gloss that I have used in 40 years.
Quickndrying is an understatement, goes off in seconds giving you no chance of feathering in, catches and clumps up instantly.
I'm going back to Dulux Professional liquid gloss.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:18/03/2014
Reviewer: Sammyjo345
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant White
"This is a very good no fumes quick dry WATER based gloss. As long as you have a good base (clean,sanded wood), have primed the wood , You don't pile the paint on (yes it won't do it in one coat) just do even coat and make sure you wait until totally dry before putting on the second coat, Then you will end up with a nice bright white,glossy,smooth finish. Time.prep and patience are the key to painting even with quick dry gloss."
Review 7 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:26/02/2014
Reviewer: cazmaz
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Paint I ever used
"This is by far the worst gloss paint I have ever used, when you read it's benefits it sounds fabulous, but using it where it really tells. It dries too quickly you cannot go over it as it goes all bitty and powdery, when it dries you can see every brush stroke and it dries with barely a sheen. It was so bad that I decided I had to remove it, I tried sanding it but it was like trying to sand a plastic bag, yes it really does seem to dry with a plastic coating on, the only way was to use the hot air gun and some paint stripper, a very messy job and cost me half a days holiday to do it, it took hours to get it off, and I am relieved to say it is now all off and I will revert back to my favourite of Dulux Non Drip Gloss. Please do not buy this product if you want a high gloss finish without brush marks."
Review 8 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:14/02/2014
Reviewer: BajanTime
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase ever
"After my Dulux paint turned yellow I decided to try Crown, hoping it wouldn't turn yellow too.
This has to be the worst paint I have ever had the misfortune of using. It is practically impossible to achieve a good finish, it's too thick and it dries too fast. I advise anyone thinking of buying this paint to think again, utter rubbish.
"
Review 9 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:10/02/2014
Reviewer: Carren
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worse purchase ever
"I bought this gloss think with it being more exspencive it would be good or so I thought . I would not buy this gloss again even if it was the only gloss left in the shelf waste of money,time and my energy. After washing all my wood work down it Goes on streaky an for it being £20 a tin not worth the money"
Review 10 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:08/02/2014
Reviewer: CatManDo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprisingly good glossy finish
"Very pleased I didn't read the reviews before buying this. I have decorated 3 houses recently using Dulux Quick dry gloss which is not good and certainly is not at all glossy and thought I would try Crown - what a difference. Two coats are needed, but it covered well. It does dry fast, but laid well and gave a good glossy finish (just don't go over it again whilst it is drying). Have just finished one house with it and will certainly use it for the next one."
Review 11 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:28/11/2013
Reviewer: theninjaturtle
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Total waste of time and energy!! do not buy this paint it is so bad it is hard to tell the difference between it and the undercoat paint. surely crown must know it is as bad as this or do they think people will not notice come on crown."
Review 12 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:24/11/2013
Reviewer: Rorschach
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless
"Didn't stick, streaked terribly and not glossy at all. After 5 minutes wasting my time I took it back and exchanged it for some real paint!
Only gave it one start because it wouldn't let me give zero.
"
Review 13 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:11/11/2013
Reviewer: DIYguru2
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WORST PAINT I HAVE USED IN 30 YEARS OF DIY!
"This paint is the worst I have used in 30 years of DIY. It is like painting with treacle. I used a synthetic brush and stirred thoroughly as directed on the tin. The ambient temperature was 16dC. Within about 30s of applying it the surface started to skin over. You cannot do more than two brush strokes without dragging the skin off the previously applied area. I logged a complaint with Crown who offered to refund the paint once I send the receipt back, little consolation considering the day off work I have wasted. B&Q staff at Scarborough gave me a discounted price on Dulux Once and the finish is superb. I will not be buying Crown paint again, it is rubbish and they should be embarrassed about it. This was a brand new batch from Crown last week."
Review 14 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:12/10/2013
Reviewer: RJLDIY
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this paint!
"This is the worst paint I have used in 20 years of DIY. It is quick drying, but it dries so fast that achieving a smooth finish is almost impossible. Within 20-30 seconds of application, if you go over the same section you have just painted, it forms lumps and islands of paint. Normally in painting you would expect to be able to go over the same area at least once to ensure complete coverage - not with this paint - avoid at all costs!"
Review 15 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:20/06/2013
Reviewer: Blackpepper
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This not glossy
"Do NOT buy this paint if you want a gloss finish. I shall be taking mine back. It is not glossy."
Review 16 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:30/05/2013
Reviewer: 6Sue
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Worse Paint Ever
"I would not recommend this paint to anyone. The coverage is rubbish, it might not smell, it dries quickly,
too quickly, but what a terrible finish. It goes lumpy if you dare to overbrush it and it shows every brushstroke. Thought the second coat would be easier but if anything took longer and looks no better.
I need to give it another coat or maybe two but keep putting it off because I cant stand the stress involved.
Even phoned Crown Helpline but they were not helpful at all. Rubbish product.
"
Review 17 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:23/05/2013
Reviewer: si67
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
healthy gloss
"think this gloss is great. suffer from sore heads after using regular gloss because of fumes not the case with this gloss. easy to apply , bright lasting white and great for clean up afterwards."
Review 18 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:15/05/2013
Reviewer: welshsy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Paint
"I have used plenty of gloss over the years and this one is the best. It doesn't always cover in one coat (depending on the colour of the wood) but after two coats in some rooms and one in others, the paint gives a great finish, nice and shiny but not too shiny and stays white. If you use it right it def works and dries quick!"
Review 19 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:03/05/2013
Reviewer: Pricey67
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Water based gloss is now much better
"Have used solvent based gloss for years, which has always given great coverage and shine to my interior woodwork.
Although due to excessive yellowing of newer solvent based products, due to EU legislation, I thought it was time to give these water based gloss paints a go.
The water based gloss pros are hardly any smell, quick drying times and cleaning brushes only requires water. The cons are it needs 2 coats to achieve a good result, and has far less of a sheen than oil based paints.
You will never get that wet look of an oil based gloss, but the end result if done well, looks very good and shiny.
I recommend a good set of synthetic brushes, and slightly dampening the area you are painting, to avoid the paint drying too fast, and ending up with large brush marks.
"
Review 20 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:19/04/2013
Reviewer: ibrahaj
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
awful paint
"Wish I had read the reviews before buying this paint, do yourself a favour and save yourself some money and buy the solvent based one.
Yes I know about the smell etc but this water based one has nothing going for it apart from the fact you can wash the brush out easily.
It dries too fast leaving a very poor quality finish I can empathise with the 'train tracks comment'. You have to avoid brushing over the area you have just painted otherwise it seems to drag the previous painted stuff with the brush ruffing up the area, it does mention this on the tin but has to be seen to be believed.
I would have taken it back and told them what I though but I couldn't find my receipt.
"
1 2 3 next>>