Product Reviews

Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White

Pure Brilliant White by Crown is has quick drying gloss finish for use on interior and exterior wood and metal. The non-yellowing formula ensures it stays white for longer.
Average Customer Rating:
2.461 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
22
15 of 39(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Review 1 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:06/04/2014
Reviewer: Clubby
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this paint
"Utterly useless, the worst gloss that I have used in 40 years.
Quickndrying is an understatement, goes off in seconds giving you no chance of feathering in, catches and clumps up instantly.
I'm going back to Dulux Professional liquid gloss.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:18/03/2014
Reviewer: Sammyjo345
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant White
"This is a very good no fumes quick dry WATER based gloss. As long as you have a good base (clean,sanded wood), have primed the wood , You don't pile the paint on (yes it won't do it in one coat) just do even coat and make sure you wait until totally dry before putting on the second coat, Then you will end up with a nice bright white,glossy,smooth finish. Time.prep and patience are the key to painting even with quick dry gloss."
Review 3 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:26/02/2014
Reviewer: cazmaz
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Paint I ever used
"This is by far the worst gloss paint I have ever used, when you read it's benefits it sounds fabulous, but using it where it really tells. It dries too quickly you cannot go over it as it goes all bitty and powdery, when it dries you can see every brush stroke and it dries with barely a sheen. It was so bad that I decided I had to remove it, I tried sanding it but it was like trying to sand a plastic bag, yes it really does seem to dry with a plastic coating on, the only way was to use the hot air gun and some paint stripper, a very messy job and cost me half a days holiday to do it, it took hours to get it off, and I am relieved to say it is now all off and I will revert back to my favourite of Dulux Non Drip Gloss. Please do not buy this product if you want a high gloss finish without brush marks."
Review 4 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:14/02/2014
Reviewer: BajanTime
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase ever
"After my Dulux paint turned yellow I decided to try Crown, hoping it wouldn't turn yellow too.
This has to be the worst paint I have ever had the misfortune of using. It is practically impossible to achieve a good finish, it's too thick and it dries too fast. I advise anyone thinking of buying this paint to think again, utter rubbish.
"
Review 5 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:10/02/2014
Reviewer: Carren
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worse purchase ever
"I bought this gloss think with it being more exspencive it would be good or so I thought . I would not buy this gloss again even if it was the only gloss left in the shelf waste of money,time and my energy. After washing all my wood work down it Goes on streaky an for it being £20 a tin not worth the money"
Review 6 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:08/02/2014
Reviewer: CatManDo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprisingly good glossy finish
"Very pleased I didn't read the reviews before buying this. I have decorated 3 houses recently using Dulux Quick dry gloss which is not good and certainly is not at all glossy and thought I would try Crown - what a difference. Two coats are needed, but it covered well. It does dry fast, but laid well and gave a good glossy finish (just don't go over it again whilst it is drying). Have just finished one house with it and will certainly use it for the next one."
Review 7 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:28/11/2013
Reviewer: theninjaturtle
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Total waste of time and energy!! do not buy this paint it is so bad it is hard to tell the difference between it and the undercoat paint. surely crown must know it is as bad as this or do they think people will not notice come on crown."
Review 8 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:24/11/2013
Reviewer: Rorschach
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless
"Didn't stick, streaked terribly and not glossy at all. After 5 minutes wasting my time I took it back and exchanged it for some real paint!
Only gave it one start because it wouldn't let me give zero.
"
Review 9 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:11/11/2013
Reviewer: DIYguru2
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WORST PAINT I HAVE USED IN 30 YEARS OF DIY!
"This paint is the worst I have used in 30 years of DIY. It is like painting with treacle. I used a synthetic brush and stirred thoroughly as directed on the tin. The ambient temperature was 16dC. Within about 30s of applying it the surface started to skin over. You cannot do more than two brush strokes without dragging the skin off the previously applied area. I logged a complaint with Crown who offered to refund the paint once I send the receipt back, little consolation considering the day off work I have wasted. B&Q staff at Scarborough gave me a discounted price on Dulux Once and the finish is superb. I will not be buying Crown paint again, it is rubbish and they should be embarrassed about it. This was a brand new batch from Crown last week."
Review 10 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:12/10/2013
Reviewer: RJLDIY
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this paint!
"This is the worst paint I have used in 20 years of DIY. It is quick drying, but it dries so fast that achieving a smooth finish is almost impossible. Within 20-30 seconds of application, if you go over the same section you have just painted, it forms lumps and islands of paint. Normally in painting you would expect to be able to go over the same area at least once to ensure complete coverage - not with this paint - avoid at all costs!"
Review 11 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:20/06/2013
Reviewer: Blackpepper
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This not glossy
"Do NOT buy this paint if you want a gloss finish. I shall be taking mine back. It is not glossy."
Review 12 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:30/05/2013
Reviewer: 6Sue
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Worse Paint Ever
"I would not recommend this paint to anyone. The coverage is rubbish, it might not smell, it dries quickly,
too quickly, but what a terrible finish. It goes lumpy if you dare to overbrush it and it shows every brushstroke. Thought the second coat would be easier but if anything took longer and looks no better.
I need to give it another coat or maybe two but keep putting it off because I cant stand the stress involved.
Even phoned Crown Helpline but they were not helpful at all. Rubbish product.
"
Review 13 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:23/05/2013
Reviewer: si67
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
healthy gloss
"think this gloss is great. suffer from sore heads after using regular gloss because of fumes not the case with this gloss. easy to apply , bright lasting white and great for clean up afterwards."
Review 14 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:15/05/2013
Reviewer: welshsy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Paint
"I have used plenty of gloss over the years and this one is the best. It doesn't always cover in one coat (depending on the colour of the wood) but after two coats in some rooms and one in others, the paint gives a great finish, nice and shiny but not too shiny and stays white. If you use it right it def works and dries quick!"
Review 15 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:03/05/2013
Reviewer: Pricey67
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Water based gloss is now much better
"Have used solvent based gloss for years, which has always given great coverage and shine to my interior woodwork.
Although due to excessive yellowing of newer solvent based products, due to EU legislation, I thought it was time to give these water based gloss paints a go.
The water based gloss pros are hardly any smell, quick drying times and cleaning brushes only requires water. The cons are it needs 2 coats to achieve a good result, and has far less of a sheen than oil based paints.
You will never get that wet look of an oil based gloss, but the end result if done well, looks very good and shiny.
I recommend a good set of synthetic brushes, and slightly dampening the area you are painting, to avoid the paint drying too fast, and ending up with large brush marks.
"
Review 16 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:19/04/2013
Reviewer: ibrahaj
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
awful paint
"Wish I had read the reviews before buying this paint, do yourself a favour and save yourself some money and buy the solvent based one.
Yes I know about the smell etc but this water based one has nothing going for it apart from the fact you can wash the brush out easily.
It dries too fast leaving a very poor quality finish I can empathise with the 'train tracks comment'. You have to avoid brushing over the area you have just painted otherwise it seems to drag the previous painted stuff with the brush ruffing up the area, it does mention this on the tin but has to be seen to be believed.
I would have taken it back and told them what I though but I couldn't find my receipt.
"
Review 17 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:24/02/2013
Reviewer: pauld142
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
quick drying shiny gloss
"what is this, what rubbish there is just no shine to this paint not a happy man just painted the stairs and it looks like undercoat dont buy this paint. Iam going back to the shop to complain. I bought crown because of the brand but I am very dissapointed with the finish, wastid my time and effort."
Review 18 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:11/02/2013
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Load of rubbish!
Bought this as it dries in an hour and stays white apparently. Painted one door frame with it, it is absolutely awful stuff. Not like a gloss at all. More like undercoat/emulsion. Thick and gloopy and dries full of brush strokes, just looks an absolute mess. Would not paint a dog kennel with it. It does dry within the hour and has no smell, whether it stays white I will not be finding out as taking this back to B&Q and getting Dulux Once Gloss. As they say 'if it sounds to good to be true, it usually is'. Will be sticking to Dulux in future. Do not waste your time with this so called Gloss!"
Review 19 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:09/01/2013
Reviewer: Sollerbeen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't Do What It Says On The Tin
"Isn't gloss paint supposed to be glossy? The finish on this is more like satin, polished up a bit.
It doesn't smell, it's environmentally friendly and you can wash your brushes in water. But so what, if it doesn't do what's required of it?
It dries very quickly, complete with brush marks, giving an interesting but unwanted ploughed field effect.
I found coverage, at least over existing white, to be OK, but you're still going to want a second coat just to try to get a decent finish.
If any paint manufacturers read this (fat chance), what I want is a wet look gloss that doesn't take days to dry, stinking the house out in the process, and it would be nice if it didn't turn yellow in dark places. Is that too much to ask?
"
Review 20 for Crown Quick Dry Gloss Pure Brilliant White
Date:17/12/2012
Reviewer: S123456
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dreadful, absolutely dreadful!
"This is the worst paint I haver ever used. Trying to get a good finish with this is almost impossible. It doesn't cover and no matter hard you try you end up with brush marks like train tracks. Don't waste your money on this product."
1 2 next>>