Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch

With its easy fold handle design & Flymo's unique patented central grassbox system, this smaller grass collecting hover mower is even lighter & even easier to use! Now comes fully assembled.
Average Customer Rating:
2.348 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
13
10 of 23(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Review 1 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:14/11/2010
Reviewer: olddragon
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought 10-11-2010
"Bought this Flymo never had a hover before cut the grass well had to cut It twice only grass was ten inches high I have only got a small lawn ,only fault in my opinion grass box cover very flimsy and could break very easily."
Review 2 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:06/10/2010
Reviewer: DavieG
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job
"This is my first flymo mower and have to say after other mowers I have had it seems very flimsy. The blade is set quite high and I needed to put the two extra spacers in it to get a decent cut. Other rotary mowers I have had always collect all the grass but this being a hover blows some of it around.
Apart from those criticisms as long as I get a decent lifespan from this mower I will happy enough with it."
Review 3 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:26/09/2010
Reviewer: troy21
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent replacement
"I have used one of these for some years, and needed to replace it, like for like. This new one is great, it was ready assembled, just took it out of the box and got cutting! Has a metal blade, deals with longer grass better than the plastic type. Its easy to move around shaped lawns, and collects almost all the grass cuttings.
A really good, well made product.
"
Review 4 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:02/09/2010
Reviewer: Derf
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job well
"Straight out of the box, simple to assemble spacers for first time cut. Does the job well.
The only downside is that the grass box and cover seem a little flimsy and may not take much of a knock to damage them - so care when manoevering !
"
Review 5 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:26/08/2010
Reviewer: Bret
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a mistake
"Wife has just been shouting that lawn is looking the worst it has ever been and wants me to get my old lawnmower back. Grass appears to have been pulled and hacked rather than being cut. Bought it in the sale at a good price, but now regret it and wish I had got another better model."
Review 6 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:11/08/2010
Reviewer: IGiveUp
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A solid, usable product
"This was bought as a replacement for my previous mower (same model) which had burned out its motor after several years of hard use - I expect this one to last as long. The only notable change is that it no longer has a detachable cable, but that is no problem and one less point to go wrong. It was genuinely usable straight out of the box but the addition of another spacer got it quickly to the cutting hight I required (all parts supplied in the box).
It really does pack the cuttings in and cuts well.
"
Review 7 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:09/08/2010
Reviewer: tonyb1976
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money
"This is quite simply the worst mower I have ever owned. It doesn't cut and the plastic blades frequently fall out or break(I used all the spares this summer and I only bought it in April! - its now August). It is light, but too light, there is not enough weight to give it a good cut. It is also difficult to manouvre as when you pull it back, it often tips up. I have bought many flymo's in the past and was previously impressed. This has ruined it."
Review 8 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:30/07/2010
Reviewer: Gyrnwynne
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use
"So easy to use. Not a close crop but it make the lawn look better than usual. If you want a quick cut that looks good this is for you."
Review 9 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:17/06/2010
Reviewer: Stephen19
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin (or box)
"A lot of the other reviewers for this lawnmower are clearly people who have very high expectations. This is not the very very very best lawnmower in the world. But, its a scaled back compact mower that cuts your grass just as you would expect it to. I found it really easy to use, the best hoveringness I've seen on a hover mower and the grass compacts really well! My wife suffers from a bad back and she found it really easy to use! Some previous review say that its had to manouvre, I would completely disagree! I would recommend this to anyone on a budget and if you want one that stores into a really tight space."
Review 10 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:07/06/2010
Reviewer: gardengal
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst lawnmower I've ever purchased
"Have used Flymo hover mowers for 25+ years and downsized mower weight to meet my needs (ie old age, weaker knees and a smaller lawn). After less than 2 summers this one gave up the ghost halfway through a cut and couldn't be revived. Silly idea for the cable to fit inside the grassbox when not in use (grassbox lid can cut through the cable outer cover) . Didn't give a good cut. Product life didn't meet my expectations.Not what I expected from a Flymo product or their Customers Service Dept comments - "it would be cheaper for you to buy a new product than send it for repair.""
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:30/05/2010
Reviewer: dunboy
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
"Really wish I had done some research before I brought this hover mower!!, But B&Q had it on offer so thought it was worth a try. Really awkward to use very heavy doesn't do a great job of cutting the lawn especially if the grass is more than a few inches long.
I've had for just over a year and the motor has burnt out so really not impressed. First & last flymo I will ever buy. Very disappointed.
"
Review 12 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:13/05/2010
Reviewer: SpeedyWhiz
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
3 Months In....
"After 3 months and plenty of cuts I would say that the cut on the lowest setting is just good enough my my lawn. However the thing im not keen on is the grass that blows out of the side when you are doing the edge of the lawn, it covers the front door step and the bottom of the car, thats on the drive, with grass. If you expect to sweep the mower from side to side, it doesnt cut that well, but it does say in the instructions, best to push forward for the best cut. Look for the price its worth it and it better than one that has a cable wind on the top, they can get stuck and are hard work."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:01/05/2010
Reviewer: Bryan25
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst mower ever
"2 of these in less than 4 yrs burnt out motor on first 1 thought was how i was using it so got another 1 and emtied grass box well b4 it was full still same on 2nd 1 burnt out motor again in less than 2 yrs, i cut the grass regular an is never long. this mower is rubbish, and will now buy Bosch as you aleast get a 2 year guarantee with them, size of grass area is less than 30 sq mtrs"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:21/04/2010
Reviewer: chokynick
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont waste your money on this model
"been gardening for over 30 years . worst lawn mower i have ever had. motor burnt out after just 2 summers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:21/04/2010
Reviewer: keengardener
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mixed thoughts on this product
"I've had this mower for 5 summers and the motor has just burnt out. I did use it regularly as I enjoy keeping the garden neat and tidy. The first house had two small lawns and the second house one small and one large lawn. 5 summers good eh? Well first issue was the starter box on the handle became loose, so fixed it; then it kept cutting out, so I got a new cable and this fixed it, but the motor has just burnt out. It doesn't have good manoeuvrability, doesn't cut up to the edges well, any slight uneveness in the surface is handled averagely, enjoys taking a bite out of the edge of the lawn, gets heavy when the box starts filling and dumps grass out of the box, snags on any moss, but by modern day standards is cheap, but in reality nothing is cheap. Overall, an average beast, at a decent price and lasted if you maintain it very well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:15/04/2010
Reviewer: Challenger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value
"My petrol mower gave up on me so I borrowed by daughter's hover mower and liked it, so did my research online and found some very good reviews. I was very surprised to find so many adverse comments on here!! Found the product cheapest at B&Q so bought it from there. I am very pleased with both the mower and the strimmer that came with it. Very easy to use, no effort at all and so easy to adjust the height."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:09/04/2010
Reviewer: Burntout
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother with this hover.
"I must admit I agree with the other reviews. In common with some of the other reviews, this mower has stopped working after less than two years. The problem is not a burnt out motor but is due to a faulty on/off switch. This machine is difficult to manoeuvre, particularly when the grass box is full. I definitely will not be buying a Flymo hover again. I though I'd give the Bosch rotary mower a go instead. It can't be any worse!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:05/04/2010
Reviewer: MILDMILDWESTMAN
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Flymo ever?
"Bought this model last year (09) as my old Hover mower went on the "fritz". ( only had it 15 years. Nothing lasts nowadays). I wish I hadn't wasted my money on this mower, and had taken it straight back to my local B & Q. It is extremely difficult to manouver , I certainly wouldn't call it a hover mower, and it gets even worse to manage as the grass box fills up. It "chops" rather than cuts and leaves the grass uneven, Oh! and don't even try to cut the grass if it's damp. It won't cut to the edge and leaves a swathe of grass to be "strimmed", so you still have to rake and pick up grass manually. I found that a straightforward hover mower, minus the ridiculous grass box, has been the best for me over the years. If you have a small garden, why do you need a grass box? It's just a selling point for the manufacturer. As soon as I sell this rubbish, or end up giving it away, I will purchase a proper hover mower."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:27/03/2010
Reviewer: yogibear
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother
"Just like all of the other reviewers the motor burnt out after 2 summers with very little use due to the weather. Heavy to handle aswell considering its a hover mower."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flymo Electric Grass Collecting Hover Mower Hover Compact 330 1450w 33cm/13inch
Date:05/09/2009
Reviewer: Hali
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NEVER
"I have had this mower nearly 2 summers and the motor packed in..I should have read the reviews as this seems to be the fault that everyone has had with this machine..shame because I liked the mower, it was easy for me to use, altho' it leaves the grass a bit long on the shortest cut.."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>