Product Reviews

Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater

This greenhouse heater is economical to run and will burn continuously for 7 days on one filling. Ideal for small greenhouses. Ideal for use in a small greenhouse of 4 square meters. Economical to run - will burn continuously for 7 days on one filling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.789 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
15 of 19(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Review 1 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:30/03/2013
Reviewer: flatcap53
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase
"I have been using this greenhouse heater for a week now and it is great. It says you can heat the greenhouse for a week on one filling and yes it does just that. Its easy to put together good value for money. As it spreads the heat over the bottom of the green house. Also its easy to adjust the flame you can either have one or you can have both. Its was worth the money"
Review 2 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:09/03/2013
Reviewer: smudgera
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor quality
"This came without instructions nor any clue as to where they could be found. To get this unit to operate smoke free required a precision setting of the wicks whilst observing the adjustment through a contender for smallest observation slot ever. To compound this my unit has one adjuster that will probably only ever be easy to adjust wth a pipe wrench it's that stiff!!
If I had designed and built this I would have been so proud I would put someone else's name on it"
Review 3 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:26/01/2013
Reviewer: sean1962
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The worst product ever,if you dont get the flame height just right then the heater goes out or covers your greenhouse and plants with soot"
Review 4 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:24/01/2013
Reviewer: Reltso
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
"Purchased this heater to replace a very old one, wish I hadn't.
On assembly the heater element would not fit correctly.
Left for approximately 2hrs before lighting.
Terrible smoke and soot.
Trimmed wicks, relit and adjusted to where I had a reasonable flame. Left for approx 10mins.......flame gone out!!. Adjusted flame height on more occasions and still would not stay alight.
DO NOT buy this heater.
Should have read reviews on other web sights.
"
Review 5 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:20/01/2013
Reviewer: StuartP99
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job
"Despite some adverse comments about this heater producing a lot of smoke, it works fine provide you follow the instructions and NEVER set the top of the yellow flames higher than the top of the burner housing. This is stressed in the instructions - which by the way were not in the box but I found a copy on the internet. Its worth checking the flame after an hour or two as the flame hight seems to increase a bit as the burner warms up. Also make sure the tops of the wicks are level and free of soot.
It has kept my 8' X 6' greenhouse frost-free with temperatures reaching -4 outside. Note that it will not elevate the temperature a lot, but it does enough to keep my plants from freezing. I would not recommend this model for anything bigger than 8' X 6' as it will not cope. In fact I have partitioned off the last section of the greenhouse with bubble-wrap type insulation as this bit is only used for storage and would be a waste to heat. This helps no end to maintain the heat where its needed.
4 stars - 5 stars if the instructions had been in the box!"
Review 6 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:15/05/2012
Reviewer: Pit1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
heater
"After reading the reviews, left over night with paraffin in,
did what it said in the instructions, left while I brewed up, then lowered the wick , had my brew then checked again, every thing seemed fine.
item is larger than i thought
"
Review 7 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:28/04/2012
Reviewer: Bronteboy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value basic heater
"Effective heater in my 4x6 and easy to set up. Do buy a funnel to assist in filling - only drawback is you have to get down on hands and knees to check the flame height as it is only visible from one side of the stack."
Review 8 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:21/04/2012
Reviewer: perilberyl
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
green house heater
"not a good product goes out, flame needs to burn too high to stay a light, then it soots up green house"
Review 9 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:18/04/2012
Reviewer: Flossie123
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Greenhouse heater
"We bought this to heat our 6x8 greenhouse, having run out of space on our dining table for any more seedlings. It arrived promptly for collection from our local store. Assembly was a bit fiddly, but it seems sturdy enough. It does the job- the greenhouse is frost free- however we don't seem to be able to stop the heater from smoking, so now we have tinted windows in our greenhouse. We've decided to wait until we no longer need heat before we clean the glass, whether the smoke affects the seedlings remains to be seen."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:11/04/2012
Reviewer: jason30
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good heater when you ..............
"Good wee heater WHEN you replace the WICK that comes with it!!!!! The wick that came with it BURNT OUT IN 2/3 HOURS!!!!! Once it was replaced by one that i bought from my local hardwear store it was going like a wee dream ; )"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:12/02/2012
Reviewer: NENE
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parasene Superwarm 4 parafin heater
"Easily assembled, instructions easy to follow and control operation of heater very easy to move ensuring flame efficently burns,"
Review 12 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:04/02/2012
Reviewer: greenfingerjulie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Warm Product
"I bought a little parasene heater first and it wasba nightmare. Smoked a lot and filled my mini greenhouse with sut. I read the reviews on this Superwarm 4 heater and went to my local B & Q store and bought one. I read the instructions and it is so important to leave the wick to soak in the paraffin for at least an hour first. I lit this and put the chimney on top. It then started to snow heavily. I went back in the 6 x 4 plastic greenhouse and to my suprise, it was lovely and warm 18 degrees. No sut or fumes at all.
Would recommend this productb100%"
Review 13 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:01/02/2012
Reviewer: ladygolfer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for
"I have a 6 x 6 Greenhouse and this heater is ideal for that size, but It would also suit a larger one.
Easy to assemble. maintains a steady heat without using too much Parasene.
I would definitely recommend.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:21/10/2011
Reviewer: zodie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first class buy
"An excellent product. Easy to assemble..Instructions clear and concise.
The heater is more than adequate for my Greenhouse which is 6x6 .
Without doubt the heater is great value and to be highly recommended..
"
Review 15 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:04/09/2011
Reviewer: wayneyquo1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
"Saw this item on the B&Q web site as I needed a heater for my new Greenhouse. (Also purchased from B&Q)
The reviews for the larger model were not so good so I went for this one which is really good. Easy to assemble and the instuctions for use easy to understand. I would recomend this product to anyone that needs a small heater for a 6ft x 4ft greenhouse.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:22/03/2011
Reviewer: gardengodess
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent heater for my small 4x6 greenhouse
"Excellent heat from this for our small 6x4 greenhouse. We have had it on during cold nights and its been warm in the morning, a temp of 20 inside when it was only a few degrees c outside overnight. So my plants have been toasty."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:03/03/2011
Reviewer: Umbra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little heater
"This Superwarm 4 heater is nicely keeping my 6x8 greenhouse at a minimum of 6C even when frosty outside - the greenhouse is bubblewrapped, but even so I'm impressed. The burner runs for week with a full tank and produces no soot at all - just a nice paraffin smell that reminds me of my Grandad's greenhouse.
If you've read the bad reviews of the Superwarm 5 heater just ignore them - these people obviously didn't read the instructions about how to set up the wick for correct burning.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Date:07/12/2010
Reviewer: steve101
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Parasene Superwarm 4
"I bought the product at the beginning of the big freeze.With an outside temperature of minus14 deg C, it managed to maintain a temperature of just above freezing point."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Parasene Superwarm 4 Paraffin Greenhouse Heater
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1