Product Reviews

Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L

Crown Matt Pure Brilliant White by Crown is part of a range of easy to use matt paints for interior walls and ceilings.
Average Customer Rating:
3.193 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
30
49 of 83(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Review 1 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:23/08/2014
Reviewer: Bella111
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
"This is a great paint. It went on easily and quickly. It met my needs perfectly. I was lucky enough to be able to purchase 2 x 10L tins for £25 as a special offer."
Review 2 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:21/08/2014
Reviewer: LewisCat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst paint EVER - DO NOT BUY
"Do not waste your time on this paint. Bought it as had a lot of white painting to do and though, being Crown, would be a decent enough paint. Was expecting 2 coats to cover the wood and coloured walls, but am on my 5th coat, and the door is still more brown than white! the paint appears to actually remove the previous coat when applying. This is the worst product I have ever bought - will be complaining to Crown!
Shame I cant give it less than 1 star!
Be warned!"
Review 3 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:10/08/2014
Reviewer: 3775andy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic paint
"Used to paint ceilings, looks very transparent but covers well when second coat applied. Good for the price."
Review 4 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:20/07/2014
Reviewer: Scott6141
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst emulsion I've ever used
"Bluntly spend a bit more money. The coverage of this paint is shocking. Goes on walls very patchily."
Review 5 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:24/06/2014
Reviewer: Billion
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't Buy Check coverage
"This paint seems like a good buy. I have always bought crown paint but am very disappointed by the coverage. It is very thin and when you apply it to the walls, even by overloading the brush it just does not cover. 4 coats over white and I can still see through it. I used Dulux on the ceiling and it covered with just one coat. Wish I had read the reviews before buying"
Review 6 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:06/06/2014
Reviewer: PPMS
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Should have read other reviews prior to puchasing
"This product although Crown is a DIY paint not Crown Trade, so it is far less superior, so required three coats on a already white wall. Bought the magnolia as well, again, same problem, so will be returning the 2 buckets I didn't open, ended up going to my local Builders Merchants and bought 5L of Johnstone's Trade white and Trade magnolia and painted more square metres than with the Crown 10L worked out cheaper as well on sqm coverage PLEASE TAKE NOTE."
Review 7 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:30/05/2014
Reviewer: DIYMarge
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Crown white emulsion - what a waste of money
"I cannot believe the watery nature of this paint. It's so thin and such poor quality. Crown used to be a good make, what's gone wrong? I'm going to have to throw this away and pay out again, getting Dulux this time. Seriously, even if I did 3 coats it would not have the coverage, even though I am refreshing a ceiling which is already white!!"
Review 8 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:19/04/2014
Reviewer: RAVENAK47
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too Thin
"Only use this as a mistcoat on new plaster,way too thin to cover anything else, get what you pay for, tried it as it was crown, who are normally good and it was reasonably priced, stick to Dulux trade, it might be twice the price but will require less coats and you won't have to go over and over,From a painter with 30 yrs experience"
Review 9 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:23/03/2014
Reviewer: ytskid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worth the money
"does what it says on the can. Crown is a good well known paint"
Review 10 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:22/03/2014
Reviewer: PHREDDOFROG
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant Value
"I used this for coating a Nicotine stained ceiling. As was to be expected, two coats were necessary, however, application was easy and drip free. In my opinion it represents outstanding value for money."
Review 11 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:08/03/2014
Reviewer: wiredcharlie
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This paint is almost good enough to repaint a white wall provided it does not have any marks on it. 10 litres will waste more of your life than 5. You won't buy it again. The problem is fundamentally that this stuff does not realise that it is paint. It thinks that the brush is trying to wipe it off the wall, not on."
Review 12 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:27/02/2014
Reviewer: Damo23
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
"New dry lined wall 4 coats still patchy, never buying crown again."
Review 13 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:14/02/2014
Reviewer: JohnBobRoyGeorgeSteveDave
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Weak paint
"Took as many as 4 coats to cover light blue walls. Switched to the breatheasy paint and took 2-3 coats."
Review 14 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:02/11/2013
Reviewer: roob
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Profit over qaulity?
"Am a profesional painter and used to purchase lots of tubs of this paint, found it to be a good value decent covering paint. Recently the qaulity has become so poor that even 3 coats looked patchy on walls that were only slightly off white. Crown realy need to take there name off this paint as it is just BQ brand paint that they used to sell a few years ago. With the amount of paint i used i would have saved money and time with a good trade paint. Avoid this paint it will cause you nothing but problems."
Review 15 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:22/09/2013
Reviewer: Bernieowl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic value
"Fantastic value for money.good quality paint,covers well"
Review 16 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:12/06/2013
Reviewer: Mossey
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Quite thin so not very good for ceilings Should have bought trade version which is far superior"
Review 17 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:15/05/2013
Reviewer: TGHORSLEY
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Absolute rubbish, will not cover, have now used 3 coats and can still see through it. Have switched to Dulux trade....great product."
Review 18 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:29/04/2013
Reviewer: skiTTish
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Its 'ok' not much pigment and very watery ,not good coverage and several coats needed .Going back to Dulux ."
Review 19 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:23/04/2013
Reviewer: VMBML
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good cheap base coat paint
"I used this paint, watered down 50% to apply a base coat to a fresh layer of plaster. The coverage was good and I applied two coats. Was going to go for cheaper trade paint but was put off by the negative reviews as some are very poor quality. The finish was ok for a final layer but when I added some dulux trade vinyl matt on top the finish was so much better. All in all I am happy with this purchase and it did the job I needed it for."
Review 20 for Crown Matt Emulsion Paint Pure Brilliant White 10L
Date:08/04/2013
Reviewer: BigAlWidepants
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Crown matt emulsion
"Cheap but you can see why. Umpteen coats later and it's still not covering too well. Dulux, Johnstone's, MacPherson's all much better."
1 2 3 4 next>>