Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue

The Kinley kettle barbecue is packed full of features to make outdoor entertaining a breeze. The wheeled trolley barbecue has a durable porcelain enamelled bowl and lid, and comes complete with a host of accessories to help cook and prepare food. Includes an adjustable height grill, two utensil hooks, warming rack, bin, chimney starter for easy lighting, granite chopping board, bottle opener, and an ash collector; and also features a large 54.5cm diameter cooking area.
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Review 1 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:13/08/2013
Reviewer: 9988
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great BBQ, the bad reviews must have no DIY skills what so ever, as it only took me an hour to build and I'm a double amputee as well as missing parts of all my fingers on my left hand, oh and I did it on my own."
Review 2 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:25/07/2013
Reviewer: SmokeyJoe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Complicated but worth it
"From first seeing the large box, I had a feeling this was going to be hard work. The instructions are very good compared to most, however some parts are a little more tedious than others. However once assembled correctly no one can doubt that this BBQ looks absolutely stunning!!"
Review 3 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:14/07/2013
Reviewer: BBQChef
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money
"I bought the BBQ over a month ago and have now used it twice. From the later reviews it looks like some of the parts are pre-assembled which would definitely be a big improvement. For the record it took me and my brother about 3-4 hours to put the whole thing together and one of the brackets was missing and the bottle opener needed to be bent in a vice so that it would fit flush.
So that deals with the assembly. Now that I have actually used the BBQ I am really pleased with the results! The quick start chimney lighter is excellent. I just pop a couple of firelighters in the specially designed holder and then scrunch up some paper into the bottom of the chimney. Top it all with some instant lighting charcoal and then leave it for 15 - 20 mins. Lift of the chimney and the whole thing is ready to start cooking. The grill is a very good size and will easily cope with numerous burger and hotdogs on the go. The warming rack is ideal for cooked meat to be stored and kept warm.
The height adjust function could have been better because you need to grip the hot handles and the rotate the whole grill. I have seen other models where the grill is operated by a lever which seems a bit safer.
Once cooking is done, the ash is simply pushed into the can below ready to be emptied. The hooks are useful as is the chopping board but the bin seems a bit superfluous.
As the title of this review indicates, I am really pleased with the purchase. It is a big trolley BBQ that does what it is supposed to do. Yes, it is a pain to assemble, but that only happens once! As other people have mentioned, that is reflected in the price.
P.s. can anybody tell me what the 2 dark coloured semi circular grates are for?? They seem to be part of the bottom coals grate but I can't find a sensible use for them!!"
Review 4 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:14/07/2013
Reviewer: John27
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blooma Kinley BBQ
"Absolutely brilliant product although not the easiest thing to put together out of the box!"
Review 5 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:10/07/2013
Reviewer: Idcsgimp
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blooma Kinley kettle BBQ
"After reading the negative reviews I was slightly worried about the time reviewer where quoting I.e. 3-4hrs. I can honestly say there is no long any 3-4 hrs. It took me less than 2hrs and that was rebuilding certain things as I never really read the instructions and was watch TV. Doing it properly and not watching TV will take a maximum of 1-1/2 hrs.
A lot of items came pre assembled which I think helped. With this in mind, you will have lots of fixings left, this is a result of items already assembled. I would recommend if you can to print the instruction manual on to A3 paper as this make putting it together easier (when u read them properly)
Slightly negative bit, there where some items slightly bent but this doesn't ruin the look of it.
Very sturdy once assembled can't wait to use!!
Buy buy buy!!!"
Review 6 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:10/07/2013
Reviewer: Escapee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent BBQ
"First things first it seems they've taken on board the early reviews that it takes an age to assemble and more items could be pre-built. They've added a few items that are already assembled so there's an extra sheet to the instruction manual stating which parts are affected, they've also added the assemble time to the description on line.
Now to the assembly - l'm a pen pusher, little DIY experience of mainly putting up shelves, toilet roll holders, mirrors etc l pay people to do the more complex things!! that's their job. I did this in 3 hrs during the weekend heatwave and including a 30 min lunch break with my partner holding the odd bit of bbq to help me out. The screws are set out brilliantly in a little push out bit of packaging clearly listed and before you start its good to count all the parts and check them off, this will also help with the assembly and get you familiar with the parts. Only a spanner, Allen key (provided) and screwdriver is needed, take your time and it's quite straightforward, its just time consuming.
I've read a review on here that said the pre-drilled holes didn't line up - l take it those were the ones on the wood chopping part? They look like they don't but they are spot on, a tip is to put the bbq on its side putting all the weight so to force them to line up, once that side is done lay it on its other side and repeat, screw the screw in half way until all are lined up then fully screw in. Its nearly impossible to do it with the bbq in its upright position and yourself underneath it.
As for the performance, its exceptional, the starter is the best feature and the coals stay warm for hours. One of the best looking charcoal bbq's l've seen."
Review 7 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:19/06/2013
Reviewer: MickyA
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great BBQ
"I would agree about the time to put this bbq together my husband spend around 3 hrs and discovered he'd put the bottle opener on wrong side :( he said he followed the instructions to the letter!! we had to replace the 1st one as it had a lot of nasty scratches on it especially the granite chopping board 2nd on had a few marks but better than 1st so just decided to keep it hence 4* the quick fire is great does the job, cooks beautifully so my husband keeps telling me, quite easy to clean, I can vouch for that, I would say its very practical having lots of space both on the top wooden surface and beneath great storage, bottle opener very handy as are the utensil holders all in all a great little bbq that I would recommend to friends and family, oh and its pleasing on the eye looks good on our decking."
Review 8 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:16/06/2013
Reviewer: Zinzan
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blooma BBQ a Blooming good purchase!
"I would echo the other reviews in that it takes time to build, 3 hours for me whilst watching rugby on the TV, so not too bad. If you buy with this in mind you will be chilled. Good working space and accessories, charcoal chimney excellent for getting even coal heat and quickly. Cost+accessories+good build+does what it says on the tin=good purchase. Ok it's not a webber but you'll pay 4x for nearly the same thing that"ll be used 10x a year?"
Review 9 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:15/06/2013
Reviewer: RedcarRed
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed
"Very Sturdy and stable when assembled. Assembling took over 3 hours on my own so be prepared for a bit of patience required. Only difficult part was fitting the two curved front panels, attaching them to the upright legs. Once finished it works brilliantly and very well thought out in terms of layout and useful features even down to the bottle opener!"
Review 10 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:09/06/2013
Reviewer: lizzi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great barbeque
"In addition to the great barbeque you need a good half day to put it together. Only pictures / diagrams to follow which needs 2 people. You have to do some acrobatics to assemble some bits as the previous bit has been put together hindering the next process. We almost got a divorce during the assembly but get a mate round with some beer and have a laugh doing it. You need to make a night of it or you will end up throwing it out the window! Despite this, when assembled it is the best thing ever. The large cooking area and quick start chimney is the best. I think the 4 hours was worth it for the end result compared to prices elsewhere."
Review 11 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:06/06/2013
Reviewer: McN2001
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Money well worth spent
"We shopped around to see if we could find a BBQ that was better than this one, we kept going back the the Kinley Kettle Trolley BBQ. It has been the best purchase ever."
Review 12 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:01/06/2013
Reviewer: timp
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent BBQ - when together
"We purchased the Kinley BBq after managing to find a store within driving distance that still had one, which shows how popular this model is.
A great BBq with great features and i am sure we will enjoy cooking with it.
The only downside, and the reason i gave only 4 stars was the assembly! Literally nothing is pre-assembled. Not difficult as such, and the instructions were adequate. A couple of fixings did not work due to the holes not being big enough, but mostly went together ok.
The main problem is the amount of work required, and on your own, as i was, it can become awkward.
Also some of the parts were fiddly and hard to fasten.
That said the end result was worth the 3 hrs it took to put together.
Would still recommend this BBq, just get some help to put it together."
Review 13 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:16/05/2013
Reviewer: Burntsausage
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great BBQ
"The BBQ came flat-packed (standard) and once all parts were identified the assembly went well. I did it on my own but there were times I wish I had another pair of hands.
The pack of screws and bolts was really helpful as they are individually packed in its own bubble pack. I cracked a piece of the wooden shelf when screwing it to the metal frame, so be careful and don't screw too near to the edge of the wood. Nothing a bit of glue didn't sort.
The BBQ too me about 2 and a half hours to assemble but that was mainly due to me doing it on my own.
The best bit was fitting the bottle opener (this will get well used).
That night (in the rain) I tested it out and the chimney system that you use to light the coals with is excellent. No more pouring loads of fluid and fire lighters. A safe and fairly quick system.
Cooking on the racks was good and found no issues there - adjustable to get varied heat is a good feature.
Cleaning the next day was fairy painless, the bucket that catches the ash is a smashing idea.
Overall a good piece of kit, only hope the weather holds out so I can start using it."
Review 14 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:16/05/2013
Reviewer: Horacedog
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Impressive Piece Of Kit
"I was looking for a charcoal barbeque and saw this one on display at my local store, I didn't purchase it emediately because I wanted to look at the reviews on line first. All the reviews said the functionality of the device was good but the assembly was challenging. I decided to purchase online and collect. This item must be popular because out of 5 local stores dispplayed only 1 had stock. Whilst I was online I discovered a better set of assembly instructions. I studied the instructions first, layed out all the components for each step and assembled the whole thing in under 2 hours without help. The reason I am impressed is the value for money of this product and the features it provides especially the quick start chimney. I found the assembly satisfying and therapeutic."
Review 15 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:15/05/2013
Reviewer: Tyguer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent design and price
"Okay, so the thing takes three hours to build, but when I saw what needed to be done I wouldn't expect anything less. The instructions and screws are well presented and neatly labelled which makes the job much easier.
One point to note is that I found the direction of the brackets holding the front curved barrier plate to be pointing the wrong way in the instructions (i.e. they should be pointing left instead of right). This did result in me having to dismantle the offending brackets and change them around (but not the end of the world), and if you don't the screw holes in the wood and the bottom tray won't meet.
The BBQ is extremely functional and the charcoal starter is very handy, and along with the removable ash pot at the bottom its easy to maintain.
I would definitely recommend the purchase and there is no excuse about the build time because the website clearly states a 3-4hour build is required. Two people would make it easier but I did it by myself without any major hassle.
Also, the medium sized Blooma cover fits perfectly even though the store recommended the large which is far too big.
Now we just need the sun to come out!"
Review 16 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:14/05/2013
Reviewer: gregski
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Nice BBQ
"It is very good piece of bbq, takes a bit a time to put it together but come on -it is not rocket science and once you done you will have very clever, well made tool to make food on garden parties.So far it is the best (most expensive too) bbq we had"
Review 17 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:09/05/2013
Reviewer: adr1982
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Truimph of human spirit
"Ok, firstly this BBQ looks great and functions superbly when put together, so from that perspective I am really happy.
However, I am currently sat at my desk with a pillow behind my lower back, which is due to being hunched over on the kitchen floor for four hours. Thats correct. Four hours. For a BBQ.
I have never, ever, in all my days had something that should be so simple trn out to be so complicated. I am by no means a DIY expert, but I am not bad either. When I had been considering purchasing this BBQ, I had read all the reviews stating how difficult this was to put together, and dismissed them thinking 'how hard can it be, its a BBQ'. The answer is hard, really, really hard. The instructions have been written using no common sense what so ever, meaning you add bits, and then find the next step is to add something behind the bit you have just added, which is in-accesible. My personal highlight is the metal front, which comes basically flat that you then have to bend into shape to find that the screws are mm's out. Oh how I laughed about that one.
To the guy who put this together in 1.5 hours, I bow down to you sir. To everyone else, buy this product if you want a great looking, great functioning product and have a will of iron, nerves of steel and a bucket load of alcohol. I know what you are thinking reading this, 'its a bbq, how hard can it be?'
Hahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaa
Have fun."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:28/04/2013
Reviewer: s7eve
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great bbq, it does take a while to put together but dont let that put you off buying, a little help is needed now and then while putting bbq together."
Review 19 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:28/04/2013
Reviewer: Kemmers
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top quality BBQ
"I read the previous reviews and to be honest they put me off. I decided to visit my local store and ask them about it. They told me if anything wasn't made right I could take it back and get a refund.
I bought it then and there, took it home and set it up, I only gave this a 4star due to the length of time it took. 1hr & 45mins to be exact. Very pleased with it and my mates and I love it. Great space to prepare food. Useful little things such as the bottle opener and the hooks for my utensils. I would definitely purchase this BBQ if your looking for a sturdy good looking BBQ then look no further. Get this as soon as you can. You won't regret it.
"
Review 20 for Blooma Kinley Kettle Charcoal Trolley Barbecue
Date:22/04/2013
Reviewer: GuyH
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great BBQ
"A great BBQ, first use this sunday, very safe for kids as nice and stable. lots of prep space.
Did take 2 hours plus to build, but no issues with instructions, just a lot to do (and 7 year old "helping")
a great summer buy"
1 2 next>>