Product Reviews

U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg

Mix in the Bag Concrete is a no mess trade formualtion concrete that can be used straight from the bag. U-CAN makes enough for small DIY repairs, leaving no mess and no clean up. So simple, anyone can do it!
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg
Review 1 for U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg
Date:17/05/2014
Reviewer: PhilipW
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average product, only for small areas.
"I bought several bags of this to lay a base for a barbecue, having no experience of laying concrete I thought ready mix would be the easiest thing, but I was a little disappointed in this product.
The coverage was quite poor and in my opinion the mix needs more than the 1.8 litres of water specified on the bag.
I'm not sure whether it was to do too little water but the finish was very rough and uneven.
On the plus side the bags were sturdy and mixing in the bag was very easy.
I ended up redoing the base using Lafarge ready mix concrete and mixed it in a bucket using a spade and measured out 2 litres of water per bag using a Pepsi bottle. This gave much better results."
Review 2 for U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg
Date:02/05/2014
Reviewer: Blabyman
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good
"I used 3 bags to make a solid base to build a pnd waterfall. I worked the bags on a sheet of plywood and had no leaks at all. I made the mix wetter than recommended and the concrete had set level and hard with 24 hours.
The idea is good. and with care it works very well.
"
Review 3 for U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg
Date:04/09/2013
Reviewer: Suitbuilder1
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't worry about the bag
"Fairly good idea, but the bag splits as soon as you start to mix, that was the same for the six bags I brought, ended up mixing the last bag in a bucket, glad I wasn't wearing a snazzy red blouse like the girl in the preview add."
Review 4 for U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg
Date:12/08/2013
Reviewer: AdamJ
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dissapointing
"Needed some concrete for some minor repairs and rather than having to mix myself, this looked ideal. Sadly I was quite dissapointed with this. The bag didn't break like some other reviews and in theory is a great idea, but the quality of the concrete was poor and has not set well - will need to start over with a propper mix"
Review 5 for U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg
Date:19/07/2013
Reviewer: mickdoh
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
"This is certainly better than buying the materials and then mixing by hand. I am 66 years old and been doing DIY for at least 45 of those years, I'm no expert but I like to think I'm competent. Have just used the product to make a base for a 2 metre high garden lamp post. I have dug a hole for the base, and I would recommend digging out 8/9 litres of soil, or about two thirds of a domestic plastic bucket full. This information is not on the bag and is the only minor fault. overall I would use this product again."
Review 6 for U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg
Date:17/09/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not bad
"product is great just a shame about the bag it comes in, it splits so easy and when i added the water there were loads of holes that were not obvious to see and the water was splilling out everywhere.
in the end i had to split the bag and mix by hand anyway, if they used a thicker, stronger plastic for the bag and this product would be perfect.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg
Date:23/08/2012
Reviewer: Scousenouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
U can concrete
"Works really well BUT, watch the bag as they do burst and use 2.5ltrs of water per bag and mix really well for about 3 mins before pouring flows much better."
Review 8 for U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg
Date:06/06/2012
Reviewer: Steve1981
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy for Fence Posts
"I thought I would post a review for this as I found it very easy to use in setting a couple of fences posts in my garden. Much more successful than my previous attempt to mix myself!"
Review 9 for U-Can Mix in the Bag Concrete 17Kg
Date:26/05/2012
Reviewer: Mikiejack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for patching small areas.
"Great product for patching small areas, as it's a lot less hassle than buying the two or 3 items you normally need. Just be careful mixing as the bag split really easily on me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.