Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m

The Blooma Skye is our largest gazebo on offer with a width of 8.9 metres making it perfect for large garden parties and other outdoor occasions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
4
20 of 25(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Review 1 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:23/08/2012
Reviewer: Spock
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fine if handled with care
"Startlingly large at c. 9 metres, well designed, if a bit flimsy, but can be erected by two people in calm conditions, did its job well and is good value. The extra tent pegs (metal meat skewers) we bought elsewhere kept it safely on the ground even when the wind got up."
Review 2 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:19/08/2012
Reviewer: nastynanny
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
blooma skye gazebo
"excellent valuebought for my sisters 50th easy to put up and down perfect to put across back of house to use as an extension for party .xxxxxxxxxxxx"
Review 3 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:11/08/2012
Reviewer: DebsMcM
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant value for money
"We bought this for our daughters birthday party as it had rained for days before it. We ordered online and picked it up the next day from an Aberdeen store and the process was very straight forward.
Being impatient I did not wait for other to come and help me set it up and it took me about 40 mins to build the frame myself. The instructions are very clear and all poles are numbered to make it easier.
It is very big and there was plenty of room for all the teenagers, lots of chairs and a huge table. It rained very heavy all day and there was a bit of wind but it did not move at all.
We loved it so much we went and bought another one as our garden is big enough to have two of them up. We had it up for a few hours and were asked if we could lend it to someone for their party.
Brilliant product and brilliant online service and from Aberdeen store!!!"
Review 4 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:03/08/2012
Reviewer: nannas
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
done its job
"overall saved the birthday party due to heavy downpours.after reading previous reviews really did secure the frame etc yes its not the strongest but this took three days outside didnt leak .....and for the price done its job.not a seasonal gazebo but mine lives for another party.the rivet holes we ??? but after the rain we know its to stop the roof pooling.buy if you want a large unspoilt party etc .... thats what it says on the tin."
Review 5 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:14/07/2012
Reviewer: Didjeridave
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfit for purpose
"I have had one of these marquees for a year. I used it once for my wedding; it collapsed on this first occasion & has been stored since. I have inspected it this week to find it to have deteriorated to unusable condition in the one year. An earlier review mentions that this marquee should not be sold in the UK due to unpredictable weather; I would rather suggest it should not be sold altogether.
I find it to be of wholly inadequate design & construction, primarily by the very thin wall thickness of the poles being of insufficient strength to support the structure as it stands alone, let aside in any kind of weather. The geometry of the poles appears to have been badly calculated, making assembly troublesome. The plastic used for the joint mouldings is both of insufficient design & the material of inferior quality; three of these cracked during the collapse & after a year, four of the mouldings have deteriorated; the plastic has simply cracked of its own accord.
Our marquee was stored in a dry barn. Despite this, the paint finish on the poles has rusted well within a year.
I hope anyone looking to purchase this marquee might take note of my own personal findings & consequently avoid purchase. In my opinion, it is entirely unfit for purpose."
Review 6 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:13/07/2012
Reviewer: Lexy40something
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money
"Bought this to replace previous model which didn't survive a torrential "summer" downpour with mini hurricane that uprooted trees in same village. The new model steel poles click together better than the old, which required tape to keep in place but the old canvas was much better with zips to join the panels rather than flapping gaps, and a roof vent. We did leave it up overnight and we had rain, but no problem. Wind might be a different issue.
As previously mentioned it really needs three people to put it up but it is not difficult, and you end up with a fantastic space - wow factor. Seats 30 people round 3 trestle tables and for occasional use I think it is pretty good value for money.
"
Review 7 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:10/07/2012
Reviewer: Altrust
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"As they say you get what you pay for and this describes this product perfectly. The frame is quite flimsy and I am concerned that in windy weather the fabric could come away from the frame quite easily and rip. We were very lucky that when we used the gazebo it was a lovely day, I don't think I would like to leave it up overnight. We bought a gazebo about 5 years ago from same store and it much stronger, think the quality of the new one is much lower ."
Review 8 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:08/07/2012
Reviewer: Gunn
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Huge!
"Easy to assemble, but would recommend a team of at least three. We assembled ours for the first time in the pouring rain and I can say that it's definitely fit for purpose and worth having if you entertain alfresco.
Good value for money.
"
Review 9 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:25/06/2012
Reviewer: fruitgum2000uk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fab investment!
"We are delighted with the ease of the way this huge gazebo went up - took 2 of us but was very simple with use of easy to read instructions. The weather was foul the day we put it up and we were able to continue with our celebrations with plenty of room for everyone, including children to play"
Review 10 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:20/06/2012
Reviewer: DrPepper
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't do it - you will regret or end up returning
"I bought this for a party but the quality and attention to detail is poor.
The main roof had half of the velcro straps missing and you can see that the others will easily come off
The main frame is poorly made and they clip together using metal pins that don't engage properly and the frame isn't substantial enough for the size of the gazebo
The base feet are plastic for you to clip into - again not strong enough and break easily
I return this after attempting to put it up and finding 3 poles missing and the velco straps also missing
I wouldn't buy another of these. I bough an similar style from a competitor DIY shop and you can see the difference in quality and design.
"
Review 11 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:20/06/2012
Reviewer: BBQueen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So very useful
"Bought this to save a family BBQ washout. Went up pretty easy, instructions are easy, the pieces are all lettered you cannot put this up wrong. Once up it is quite sturdy even on a breezy day. It never rained so not sure how rain proof it is but the material would have kept showers off I reckon. I also think with an air blow heater it could be used anytime of year except In the snow.
OK so it didn't rain but I had huge peace of mind knowing if it did plan B was there. I now have the family gazebo to save the day and we call it plan B.
"
Review 12 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:19/06/2012
Reviewer: Beaverton
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a bargain
"Bought half price at end of season, and have used it for numerous parties - Jubilee, Royal wedding, 4th July, our silver wedding, birthday parties, etc. Repaired the bits the mice ate with duct tape, and should have several years left. Just waiting for another sale to get a second one cheap. Needs a team to put up, but a few drinks makes that enjoyable too."
Review 13 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:14/06/2012
Reviewer: Lenj
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo
"Great piece of garden party kit, quite easy if not labour intensive to put up but once up perfect for the job. Weather was attrocious so it was key that the gazebo stood up to it. Excellent item"
Review 14 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:10/06/2012
Reviewer: RusselC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fantastic large Gazebo, amazing value. Bought 2 of hem for the jubilee weekend for our Street Party in the rain. Tied them together in the street and the kept the whole party dry
I think this a great product for the price. Very flexible, relatively easy to build and stable when built"
Review 15 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:10/06/2012
Reviewer: Alij75
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent purchase
"excellent purchase, we love to entertain in the garden but because of the great british weather usually have to cancel. Not now that we have the party gazebo. its a brilliant size when you have a large family like ours and we will even use it on sunny days as we like to sit out on an evening. It keeps you warm and sheltered from the wind. I originally bought it for my Dad's funeral as we were having people back to the house afterwards, we expected 70-80 people back and because of the weather didn't want people getting wet as this many people wouldn't fit in the house. Perfect for the occasion and for many more british summers to come."
Review 16 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:10/06/2012
Reviewer: middlemuddle
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saved the Day
"Purchased this product the day before our Jubilee Street Party as the forecast was dire.
It was very easy to put up, my 16 year old did most of it with ease. For the price £74 we were very impressed.
Downside is that the poles are not very strong at all and a few of them kinked over night in the wind. Store were very good and exchanged them but said don't leave it out in bad weather. The instructions say leave it out for the season. You could not realistically take it down at midnight after a party in case of bad weather.
So it is good for what it does, but will not withstand being put up for a long time if that is your plan."
Review 17 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:10/06/2012
Reviewer: Napey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bargain for the price
"I was a bit sceptical about buying this because of some of the reviews, but I was desperate. I had a birthday bbq planned for about 25 people at 5pm, exactly as the rain was going to hit!! It was easy enough to put up, I didnt use all of the sides as we had a hedge as cover, but these were simple enough. Wouldnt be so simple if you lose the instructions though!!! The gazebo stood 4 hours of persistent rain and slight winds before a few small drips came through, but not enough to bother anyone. Everyone had a good time, which would not of happened without this gazebo! I dont know that it will withstand too many times up and down, but everyone at the bbq thought I had hired it, which would of probably cost about the same as it did to purchase, so any additional uses I get will be a bonus! I would recommend 2 people to put up and take down, as I could see how parts of it would break if you tried to do it by yourself. Also, you need a decent size space for it, its much bigger than I imagined. Dont regret buying it at all! Will probably be using it again next week for another get together, as the lovely British summer appears to have lasted for about 4 days!!!"
Review 18 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:08/06/2012
Reviewer: missross
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Should have been great
"We bought this gazebo for a jubilee party. The gazebo was incredibly easy to put up but due to the size does require a few people! The sides are all individual and can be placed wherever you wish which was a good point.
Unfortunately the little eyelets in the roof of the gazebo were split around the edges and we had to return it.
The gazebo is very big and if we had kept it would have proved invaluable for parties as there was space for tables, chairs and people without feeling cramped.
The quality of the gazebo could have been better, i.e. the material thicker, but for the price, I thought, was quite good.
The only negative comment about this purchase was the attitude of the staff upon it's return to the store. They were not very gracious about it's return even though the product was faulty.
"
Review 19 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:08/06/2012
Reviewer: Muskey71
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what you paid for
"If you want a premium product at a cheap price then this Gazebo is not for you. However for occassional use it is ideal.
It was put up on Jubliee weekend 2012, remember when we had all that rain? And it kept the inside perfectly dry and it stayed upright and that is basically what you need. We had to use Duck tape on some of the poles to keep them held tightly together.
Cheap and cheerful"
Review 20 for Blooma Skye Garden Party Gazebo - (H)2.6 x (W)8.9m
Date:07/06/2012
Reviewer: Tellithowitisreview
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst buy EVER
"Would i reccomend? Never...it is cheaply made the material is poor and it can not hold out in even the slightest bit of wind. We brought this for a bbq party we are having at the weekend and now have to go and find a more heavy duty one as we put it up already to see wot it was like and have now found that after 1 night the seems have ripped, a slight gust of wind and it was pulled straight from the ground even after attempting to hold it down with zip ties and extra tent pegs.
The worst buy i have ever purchased from b&q and i'm disgusted in the price charged for such a terribly designed gazebo....WASTE OF MONEY...Not sure if we will be able to get a refund but will be going to our local store to find out what we can do about this product"
1 2 next>>