Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish

Select from our extensive range of function, style and Italian designed taps. All taps carry a full manufacturers guarantee, ranging from 1 to 2 years, depending on the manufacturer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.318 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
6
12 of 22(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Review 1 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:01/05/2014
Reviewer: Kacey22
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase Ever
"I found this Tap perfect for what I needed"
Review 2 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:05/01/2014
Reviewer: truck3rw1f3
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolutely Shocking Tap! Not Worth Even Displaying
"This is the WORST tap ever. As other have explained the water leaks out from the base where the spout attaches, Never even bothered to contact Cooke and Lewis (which I wholly regret now) and bought another, and Guess what!? water started leaking out of the cold twist tap (not the spout this time..) I have lived in my house 1 year and gone thru two taps.... I shall be writing a lovely letter to Cooke and Lewis. what a waste of £50 quid!! DO NOT BUY!!!!"
Review 3 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:14/12/2013
Reviewer: Dampdog
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality
"I bought this tap 16 months ago and the spout has now split just above the tap.
The spout is too thin at this point and seems to be a problem that others have experienced.
The replacement spout is still the same quality so I expect it to split within two years.
You would expect the problem to have been resolved by now
"
Review 4 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:04/10/2013
Reviewer: TSJ81
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not happy
"Got this tap 10 months ago when I had kitchen replaced, it looks lovely but just started to leak from where the long spout goes into the body, wish I had read the reviews before I purchased it as it seems like this is a common fault. Just noticed it has a 2 year guarantee but still means I've got to get plumber to take off and replace It even if I could find the receipt."
Review 5 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:01/10/2013
Reviewer: allan62
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Disppointed
"Had this tap for about 6 months & for no reason started leaking from where the spout goes into the tap body. I had to call a plumber out who fixed it with PTFE tape. The instructions were no use. It would have cost me less to buy a higher quality tap elsewhere."
Review 6 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:21/03/2013
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks good but drips
"I am very pleased with the look of the taps but when the tap is turned off sometimes it continues to pour out, other times it pours out a lot of water up to 10 minutes later. I phoned the makers and they said to check the washers (which our plumber did) but it still drips. Very annoying but I guess we will have to live with it."
Review 7 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:28/02/2013
Reviewer: BandQReview
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK
"Bought as part of renovating the kitchen in the house I have just bought. It represents very good value for money, and looks stylish. Fitting it was relatively easy, though it is always fiddly to work in a confined space. I am not sure why such a long retaining bolt is supplied, as it prevented the use of a socket spanner, so making the job more difficult ( I could have cut it down to size I suppose).
I recommend this type of tap as if they begin to leak, you only need to put a new washer in, where the ones that turn on and off in half a turn, need a whole new mechanism, (if you can get one).
The only reservation about this tap is the spout, which is made from some very light alloy, which might not be as durable as the rest of the tap, which is made from chrome plated brass."
Review 8 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:10/02/2013
Reviewer: Cuckoobird
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice looking tap.
"We bought this tap on special offer and are very pleased with it. The style fits in well with our kitchen which is a mix of country, traditional and modern. We had it fitted when we had a new sink unit etc and seemed to be no problem being fitted. It looks good and works well so far! The main spout turns easily and there's only a short time to have to let the water run after using the hot water tap before the cold starts to come through via the other one and vice versa! We have a cold water mains supply but a water tank in the loft for hot water and we have no problems with this tap pressurewise."
Review 9 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:05/02/2013
Reviewer: sabp
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality tap
"Easily replaced an old leaking tap. Seems quite robust and hopefully should last a few years. The price was very good due to a special half-price offer too."
Review 10 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:01/02/2013
Reviewer: Jimbojones12342
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A bit stiff
"This has now been fitted in my kitchen and was easy enough to fit, everything works and the only issue I have, which is only minor, is that it is a little stiff to move."
Review 11 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:24/01/2013
Reviewer: mary2mick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am very happy with this product, some taps i have had in the past have been useless. The last tap i had only lasted for 4 months. This tap is well made and easy to fit. The next time i purchase a tap it will be the same make."
Review 12 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:21/01/2013
Reviewer: Kefalonia
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor Quality. Thin Tap Shaft.
"Cooke and Lewis have reduced the quality of this item down to a price. The price may be low, but the tap is very poor quality with a thin central shaft. It wont last 5 minutes, B&Q used to sell good quality durable taps. Not any more. Avoid this item!"
Review 13 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:21/01/2013
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average Tap
"Thought this would be pretty good for the price and was a bonus it was half price. However its very average and a bit wobbly on the the actual long spout, the taps are fine but i expected a sturdier tap for the price."
Review 14 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:17/01/2013
Reviewer: TheScottman
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value @ 50% off
"Purchased this tap during sale, no problems so far.
Would give 5 stars if supplied with flexible tap tails.
"
Review 15 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:03/01/2013
Reviewer: Keefyb
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money
"This was ha;lf price in sale my husband found it easy to fit and was exactly what we wanted. T"
Review 16 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:19/09/2012
Reviewer: Danno77
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value
"The previous review reporting a leaking connection was probably due to misassembly, as I made the same mistake. If the white plastic collet / split ring is not located in the groove in the neck of the movable spout then the two rubber seals will drop below the narrowest point in the tap body and water will flow past the seals. The tap is good and not a bad price."
Review 17 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:22/05/2012
Reviewer: 1ant
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Misleading description on box....
"Am refitting kitchen as moved recently, amongst pretty much every other part of the house internally and externally.
Brought this tap as was on offer and budget as always is tight. Nice looking product but the box states the taps are 1/4 turn ones, however, this is not the case and they are the standard 'turn until you get the flow you want' ones.
Would have rated higher but the false box details are to blame. Couldn't return as had to have a working sink same day. (Fitted on a Sunday of all days)
Anyone else's box state that they are 1/4 turn? Just out of interest.
"
Review 18 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:26/04/2012
Reviewer: 7Granary
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
C&L Newport Taps - Easy
"First time have had to replace my kitchen taps, was a bit concerned but no reason to be, all very easy. The taps are well made, tough and surprisingly heavy.
Worth buying a box spanner to get to the tigtening nut as it is generally hard to get to."
Review 19 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:26/04/2012
Reviewer: Basilbrush
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Newport Tap
"A good value tap for the money. Just check that the box has not been opened and parts removed before you buy. We ordered this on the Reserve & Collect service but when we got it home it has parts missing and so we had to return to store."
Review 20 for Cooke & Lewis Newport Monobloc Tap Chrome Finish
Date:17/04/2012
Reviewer: waggy9571
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"had these taps fitted and they leaked from where the spout meets the body of the tap."
1 2 next>>