Product Reviews

Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black

Twin motion sensor spotlight with fixing pack and instructions so it couldn't be easier to install.
Average Customer Rating:
2.1 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
3 of 10(30%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Review 1 for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Date:10/01/2014
Reviewer: Speedtrile
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not suitable for use outside
"I have had 2 of these lights and both oft hem have failed. The motion sensor fills with water!!"
Review 2 for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Date:28/10/2013
Reviewer: MisterReeman
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless
"The PIR only works if you wave your hand a few inches in front of it. Therefore not much use as a security light."
Review 3 for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Date:11/07/2013
Reviewer: Middletonman
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant light
"This light was easy to put up and simple to operate. It has a good light spread and is quite sensitive to movement. Ideal for my drive and garage entrance."
Review 4 for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Date:07/05/2013
Reviewer: Rambutulon
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good lights
"Got this light as a replacement for a low energy PIR security light. Fitting was very easy and I really like the directionality that the two lights provide. The frosted glass softens the light so one of the beams is pointed to illuminate a patio with no harsh glare.
May get a 60 w bulb for the other beam to give a bit more lighting power in a darker area of the garden.
Very happy with the purchase very flexible just what I needed
PS I will never buy a low energy PIR device as a security light."
Review 5 for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Date:01/05/2013
Reviewer: Radarman
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doubly Unsatisfactory
"The first unit I bought worked fine for a couple of years, then failed 'permanently on'. Too late for any refund/replacement so bought a new unit in January.
In April (only 3 months use) it would only respond if I waved my hand about 6 inches from the sensor.
"
Review 6 for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Date:18/02/2013
Reviewer: IeuanD
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IP rating needs to be down-graded
"The lower sensor lens filled with water despite my checking all the seals were good.
I drilled a small drain hole in the bottom of the dome which temporarily seemed to cure the problem, but of course that didn't stop rain water draining through.
A couple of weeks later, the sensor had developed a mind of its own and the light would go on and off irrespective of movement or light level.
Not recommended for unprotected outdoor use."
Review 7 for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Date:08/01/2013
Reviewer: Blaina
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good purchase
"I bought these lights at least 3yrs ago, and have recommended them to a friend, as I have not had any trouble with them, but I decided to read the reviews. To me the previous purchasers must have done something wrong when fixing them up, as they are unhappy with them. I just screwed them to the wall, plugged them in, switched on, and Iv'e not had any problem. When they are first switched on, they will stay on for quite awhile, but then, they will only go on with movement, and what I like about them, they can be adjusted,so when my animals are in the garden at night, they don't keep going on and off. I am really pleased with mine and they don't let water in. I think they are a brilliant buy."
Review 8 for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Date:04/01/2013
Reviewer: Kitlin
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No manual override
"I bought this light specifically because it states on the box it has manual override ie it will stay on permanently as required. The instructions in the box also explain how to set manual override. This does not work and I have tried all combinations of switiching on and off (as well as sticking to the instructions) as has my builder but the light does not stay on permanently so beware if this is a feature you want. This also applies to the single spot version. I have both and am waiting to see how B&Q resolve the situation as I have had to employ an electrician to fit them. I also agree with another reviewer - I have to wave my arm near to the sensor to make it work. Nice looking, simple lights but they do not do what it says on the box - or in the instructions!"
Review 9 for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Date:07/12/2012
Reviewer: shotinthedark
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2nd chance
"I think someone ought to test the IP rating (waterproofing) on this product as this is the second unit I have brought in as many years, the first lasted about a year but had to be regulally emptied of water before giving out. Not to be detered I brought another unit which once again after a rain fall started to play up. stripped, dried and cleaned ciruit board (which showed signs of water damage) then tried to seal all joints. it worked for another few weeks until a heavy rain fall then stopped working again, stripped to find water on the ciruit board."
Review 10 for Photon Outdoor Security Twin Spotlight with PIR in Black
Date:16/04/2012
Reviewer: TheRussHank
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
12m range, more like 12 inches.
"This light doesn't spot me until I wave my hand in front of the sensor, and then it goes off after 3-10 secs...
Not very effective really!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.