Product Reviews

Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder

This 2800W quiet shredder is ideal for garden use, with a 60L capacity collection box. The shredder folds into the collection box for easy storage and space-saving. Features a sturdy, robust metal frame with large, smooth running wheels for easy transportation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
24 of 32(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Review 1 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:28/07/2014
Reviewer: shakeybrooks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic A****************
"I bought this product early this month. read the other reviews this shredder is 100% perfect. I have a very large garden with very very large trees and bushes ,it worked a treat not a problem so far and have used it daily and for good few hours these past three weeks. Don't understand other peoples negative feed back . shredding and mulching is just perfect.well recommended product and still on offer at present"
Review 2 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:27/07/2014
Reviewer: Southcoastmiller
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it should, and Its all about adjustment.
"I have to say, having read some of the disappointing reviews, I was sceptical about the quality of this machine mainly because some of the feedback given was no better than some other reviews for a number of other cheaper models. Having said that, this machine was on special offer and it looked to be a better quality build.
So I took the plunge & bought this one. It is worth reading the full instructions and getting to know the machine and its various settings before you start to use it.
I have set mine up to my own liking and it is brilliant. I wish I had bought one years ago, It is worth every penny - And it comes with a 2 year warranty.
I am pretty sure that the poor reviews are a result of poor setup to begin with.
I am very happy with this product
"
Review 3 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:24/07/2014
Reviewer: N0m1s
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Crunching
"This piece of kit is the bees knees at eating twigs and branches. It runs quite slow which makes it very quiet, but it has a heck of a lot of power. It can eat branches over an inch thick no problem. Highly recomend it. Used it for 4 hours with no blockages."
Review 4 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:06/07/2014
Reviewer: rucksack
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not very good
"who ever designed this is not a gardener. This is ideally suited if all you have is straight branches without twigs growing off them and are at least 10" long. Spent all afternoon chopping branches no thicker than a finger, unfortunately they all had numerous smaller branches / twigs. the small hole that you feed into (designed to limit size being put in) is a massive hindrance. Also the rotating chopping blade is about 10" below this so had to use a brush shaft to push stuff down into blade,. Now need new brush shaft. A larger feeding hole with the blade closer to the top and some sort of cheap plastic pusher implement would made this a great machine. but as it is, there must be better on the market. This is my 1st shredder and I am not impressed by this. It could have been so much better."
Review 5 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:05/07/2014
Reviewer: gardendemon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad I read earlier reviews
"I have to admit that I would possibly have been disappointed had it not been for the earlier reviews commenting on the adjustment needed, as the 'factory settings' were not satisfactory and the instruction book gave very little information. But having made the adjustment, I am now extremely pleased with it. It's already 'eaten' a lot of tree cuttings which were awaiting disposal, meaning that I can now clear the next bit.
And I now have the beginnings of a very nice wood chip pathway.
"
Review 6 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:05/07/2014
Reviewer: Handyman53
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First Class
"What a handy tool.
I used to find cuttings a real headache. Now the shredder easily chops it into little bits and I bag it all ready for the trip to the tip. Even quite thick branches all go through without too much effort.
Unpacking the machine I would start from the bottom of the box next time. As it is quite heavy It would be easier to get it out with the bottom open and the machine on the floor and just lift the box off
Assembly is easy if you take a couple seconds to read the info which you should do that before you use the shredder anyway..
Using it is fun especially when you think of what a chore this job can be. Check the hopper after it has been through the machine and adjust the tension knob to ensure it is cutting completely through the off cuts.
I cleared some massive piles of fresh cut and old trimmings, all equally easily. I can't wait for stuff to grow so I can get the shredder out again.
Currently at £98 what value for money.
"
Review 7 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:29/06/2014
Reviewer: jillywagg
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect
"Well worth the money"
Review 8 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:23/06/2014
Reviewer: Nickolai
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Muncher
"Not quite a shredder more of a muncher of your garden waste, but it reduced a ton bag of tree branches into a couple of boxes full in a few hours. Not the most exiting of tasks but this did the job well with only a few blockages when the collection box was over full."
Review 9 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:11/04/2014
Reviewer: Clogwyn
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of space
"If I use a pair of secateurs instead, I could have saved a lot of money and do a better job. I have bought Mac Allister equipment before, without regret - but this contraption has shattered my confidence in the brand."
Review 10 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:24/03/2014
Reviewer: ferretusmaximus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chomper
"The Mac Allister is more of a chomper than a chipper. It uses a large cog wheel with sharp teeth to slice the garden waste which makes it more suited to prunings than leaves, although it will cut these into shreds. Bought this unit to replace a conventional chipper and would say it is more flexible as it only jammed once in about 5 hours of heavy use (hazel coppicing). Clearing jams is reasonably straightforward, undoing 4 screws and removing one panel. It pays to follow the instructions carefully in order to set the cutting action correctly. Only minor gripe is that the slot for inserting waste is more suited to individual sticks rather than handfuls of cuttings."
Review 11 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:08/01/2014
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set it up before use..
"As in the last review and it will cope with fine stuff or thick stuff. I'm waiting for a bit of good weather so haven't used it in anger yet but it gobbled up a piece of 10mm wood easily. I tested the fine stuff with thin cardboard from a cereal packet and without adjustment it didn't cut it but more pressure (turn the knob clockwise) and it came out chopped into pieces.
My adjustment knob was VERY stiff to turn as it has a friction nut to stop it shaking loose and I suspect the factory don't turn them hard enough. I have used a cheap impact shredder and a Bosch and both required pressure to feed the material through, very tiring. This feeds itself with no effort and I don't anticipate any problems. I would give it 5 stars if it hadn't needed adjusting first.
"
Review 12 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:19/07/2013
Reviewer: Squenyog
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No problems.
"Bought mine August 2012.Had same problems with not shredding as the "poor reviews" until I adjusted as per instructions.When adjusting listen for the rollers to "clip" the counter plate.Takes a bit of practice but I found the results excellent.Having said all that mine packed up this week,July 2013.Still under the 24 month guarantee I took it back and they changed it no problem.Could have changed it for a different shredder but I know this one does the business.So,if you do buy one adjust it correctly and you'll have no problems."
Review 13 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:05/07/2013
Reviewer: kanglajot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Viable, good value
"This replaced an old (inherited) much heavier duty and more expensive machine, which died. It does the job quite well, but tends to jam easily (although easily cleared). The collection box really needs emptying when 60% full, which is a bit too often, and I wonder how durable the box will prove. But at half the cost of replacing its predecessor I can't complain."
Review 14 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:30/06/2013
Reviewer: Allan3349
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MacAllister Shredder
"I bought this shredder on Wednesday and assembled it on the Saturday to try it. The shredder didn't live up to our expectations even with the blade adjustment set to maximum. Branches were still coming out in whole albeit cut in several place but not up into bits. Smaller branches parts of the Leylandii were virtually untouched. Disassembled the unit and packed it back into it's box and returned it today to B&Q for full refund. Absolutely no quibble. Refunded fully. Very happy with the service regarding returned product."
Review 15 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:09/06/2013
Reviewer: Wilt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shredder
"Pretty good breaks down large branches quite well, doesn't seem to break down smaller twigs so well, more of a crusher than a shredder i would say.
Happy with purchase and would recommend.
"
Review 16 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:03/06/2013
Reviewer: Peeta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy
"Being disabled I was worried about the weight of this shredder; but with a garden to clear and and convert to wheelchair use I had to have something. I was surprised how easy it is to move once built. the weight balances well on the wheels.
Its easy to use and tears everything up in good time. I certainly can't prune and chop as fast and efficient as this can chew it all up.
It is worth doing a bit of research on this type of shredder before investing to avoid the beginner pitfalls. I am very happy with my first shredder :)
"
Review 17 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:28/04/2013
Reviewer: Kajima01
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bit like a boy trying to do a man's job!!"
Review 18 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:26/04/2013
Reviewer: rocket67
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
different to an impact
"After trawling through the available reviews on numerous websites I have come to the conclusion that there isn’t a ‘shredder’ that will take everything the garden will throw at it. This one is considerably quieter than my old impact shredder. It takes 20mm branch with ease. It doesn’t matter whether you put green or dried waste in it. I’ve use it three times so far for about two hours each and when I opened it to clean it, the inside was clean and dry. Because you don’t spend long periods stripping it down and clearing the inlet and outlets, you get an enormous amount of work done in those couple of hours. The downside is that it doesn’t shred it anywhere near as small as an impact. As some reviewers have said ‘it’s a chopper rather than a shredder’. I used it to shred conifer cuttings; the shreddings were thrown around the base of the conifer trees. This is totally unsuited if you want the shreddings to be small enough to put on flower beds or compost bins. I like it, but if I’d bought it for my last house, I wouldn’t have. It depends on your garden and how you want to use the shreddings."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:15/10/2012
Reviewer: HeJo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mac Allister Shredder
"Simply does not do what it says on the tin!!!!!
Small branches go through in one piece albeit a little crushed and larger branches are cut into inch long pieces"
Review 20 for Mac Allister 2800W Quiet Garden Shredder
Date:06/10/2012
Reviewer: Koirash
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets the requirements
"Having done some research and having read some of the reviews I was a little concerned on whether this Shredder would meet my requirements. However I have now tested the machine and I must say my first impressions are very good. It easily 'mashes' small branches etc into a compostable medium. For a finer mulch just tip it through again - simple. I'm now looking forward to next spring when the machine will get its first real workout."
1 2 next>>