Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw

Mac Allister 40cc petrol chainsaw with tool free chain assembly and tensioning, automatic adjustable oil lubrication for longer service life with minimized chain wear, and anti-vibration system for improved operator comfort. Includes textile bag for easy transport and storage.
Average Customer Rating:
1.812 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
12
4 of 16(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Review 1 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:18/11/2012
Reviewer: Jimbojones12342
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice gift
"A very good friend of mine bought this product for me a couple of months ago and I read all the reviews about this product and was very unsure of using it, nearly all the reviews are bad. This is the first chainsaw I have used so cannot compare it to anything, however I have now used it several times, cutting hundreds of times and filling my log store not just for this winter from seasoned logs but a good start for next year too. It has started every time for me, the safety tests all work and have had no problem with it whatsoever. I had a friend of mine who is a qualified tree surgeon look over it and although he wouldn't have bought it for himself as he only uses a certain make, he found it to be perfectly satisfactory for my needs. Hope this goes a little way towards nullifying the negativity towards this product as I would not have bought this due to the bad reviews and am really glad I have this. I would definitely purchase this if I didn't already have it."
Review 2 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:07/04/2013
Reviewer: RibbhH
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS CHAIN SAW!
"I returned my first chainsaw in the belief I had bought a duff machine; it started ok the first time I used it but then bringing it out to use the 2nd time a few weeks later it simply would not start. Having exchanged it with no fuss (good point for B & Q) I returned home to start this one ok for the first time again. I am meticulous about mixing my fuel from previous machines and so knew this was not a problem.
About a month later I got the chainsaw out again to use to find this machine took me 20 minutes of pulling the cord to get it started. Once going it was ok. The third time I went to use it a few weeks later I gave up after 30 minutes - it just would not start. I am now going to return to B & Q for a full refund as I will never buy or recommend this machine. The old saying 'you get what you pay for' is very true here.
"
Review 3 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:01/04/2013
Reviewer: fly7471
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolute rubbish
"I took this product back twice before finally giving up. Carefully read the instructions over and over as I thought I was going mad until I read the reviews.
Please do not buy this product it is terrible, poor quality and you will be wasting time. Choose something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:22/02/2013
Reviewer: nineteen62
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't be tempted, steer clear!!
"Awful, absolutely awful !!!
I'm exhausted trying to start the thing, when it eventually fires you reach for the throttle and once pressed it then promptly dies. The instructions were a little on the confusing side also.
It's going back to B&Q tomorrow.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:13/01/2013
Reviewer: themaster6267
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chainsaw worries
"after reading some off the rewiews that this chainsaw had i was a little worried about the purchase. however, i was more than impressed with this piece off kit, it started straight away, easy to assemble and cut all day without dramas. brilliant for the money. top tip keep checking oil levels though. hope this helps."
Review 6 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:29/09/2012
Reviewer: Bilbo8777
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless
"On the face of it good value - the reality is the oposite. A total waste of time and effort to get this working. Had to take it back twice and then gave up. Simply wouldn't start despite careful assembly and reassembly, several changes of fuel and oil. Shocking product and the staff at the store knew as much - no arguments at all getting money back. It gets 1 star....only because you can't give it zero."
Review 7 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:27/09/2012
Reviewer: jeffandgrandkids
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great once you figure it out great value
"this chainsaw as done 8 90 foot conifers and a large sycamore and its still going well.
the problem with this is if you fill the fuel tank up to what it states in instructions it wont start put just over half a tank in dont rev on firing push choke in then fire again let tick over then pull throttle that resets to off the air filter cover vibrates loose the carb mount screws come loose check regular use thick oil for chain loob it swallows thin oil b&q chains replacement dont fit not enough teeth.mac allister is good for about 4 resharpens
easy to maintain..
dont give in a play with it if you cant get it run remove spark plug pore a thimble full of 40to1 mixed fuel in to chamber replace plug some times fuel pipe comes off if you over preasureise primer bubble...
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:01/09/2012
Reviewer: handyman100
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst chainsaw ever had
"this is the worst chainsaw i ever had, it takes ages to start from cold, then when it gets hot (after 20mins use) have to wait till engine cools down before it will start again"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:29/08/2012
Reviewer: kingcnut
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pathetic, absolutely pathetic!
"This not a product I would even recommend to my worst enemy. I purchased this product, took it home, assembled it and thus began my saga. I followed the starting instruction to the letter all to no avail, checked that everything was as it should be and tried twice more. At this point it became obvious that something was amiss, so i began to taking my recently purchased faux chainsaw apart. Two problems affected the "chainsaw" I had owned for about an hour; actually it probably had more than two problems, but after identifying these two I stopped looking:
1) the ignition cable was broken. This i fixed, as it was a simple enough. However I should not have had to, and still deeply resent having done so.
2) the spark plug was coated in a think layer of carbon fouling. For this reason i suspect that my wannabe chainsaw has had more than one owner.
clearly the ability to start this product was not a priority in the design brief, I only wonder why B & Q actually bother to stock this pile of spare parts. The Staff in the Brighton store were absolutely lovely and happily gave me back my money, I suspect they are used to giving refunds on this item."
Review 10 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:24/06/2012
Reviewer: dan123456789
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not good
"i purchased this item 4 week ago and the pump on the out side which you use to push the petrol round the chainsaw came off and i have never experienced this with any item i have had with petrol equipment. I took the item back to the store and exchanged it for a new one with no problem. Took it home put the mixed petrol with 2 stroke in the compartmant and the oil in the other compartmant started it up and it would not rev there is no power to the chain saw i am not happy with the item i purchased it is not worth the money its cheap and naf quality for the asking price."
Review 11 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:20/06/2012
Reviewer: joeb
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not bad
"Needed a cheapish chainsaw, this one looked fine, got it home and it would not start. After 45 mins on the phone, they suggested 20, yes 20 pumps on the primer bulb and no choke. It started first time and has done so ever since!"
Review 12 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:25/05/2012
Reviewer: narz
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stay far far away
"I have had in total 3 of these. The first one was ok for a while and then started playing up. It started from cold then once it was warm it cut out and would not start again until it was cold again.
the second one fell apart when trying to start for the first time.
The third again started but kept cutting out when it was warm and would not start up
"
Review 13 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:29/04/2012
Reviewer: twinzilla
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor - Do Not Buy
"I purchased this to chop some trees for our log burner and although it was easy enough to build it did take some starting. For 2 days it worked fine but still taking about 10 to 15 times to start. On the 3rd day it would not start at all so I decided to look at the spark plug, I pulled the HT lead off and it fell apart in my hand, there was a tiny strand of wire which was all the HT lead was made from inside. Really poor quality. Spend a bit extra and buy a decent one that will last."
Review 14 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:02/04/2012
Reviewer: MBK1
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this product
"After working fine for one day the chainsaw failed to start. Despite following the instructions to the letter, checking the petrol/oil mix, spark plug etc it failed to start.
Having exchanged it for another one and, again, following the instructions to the letter it failed to start. Clearly a big design fault with this product."
Review 15 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:24/03/2012
Reviewer: Jaykay6
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A total disaster!
"I needed a chainsaw to cut some small tree branches and opted for this saw. I am very familiar with two-stroke petrol engined saws over a long period of time and thought that this would be a good purchase for the task.
Even with careful measuring of the oil/petrol mixture the engine was very difficult to start and keep running. After using it only a few times the chain became blunt and required re-sharpened. Then the motor stopped on its own during a cut and could not be re-started.
I had to return the faulty unit which has now been replaced by an electric chainsaw which was cheaper and has been MUCH more effective.
"
Review 16 for Mac Allister 40cc Petrol Chainsaw
Date:04/03/2012
Reviewer: Southferry
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor quality
"Dont recommend you purchase this product. Instructions are not easy to read and unnecessarily complex, but managed to get it all working fine ( second chain saw I have owned). After cutting a few logs, it stalled. Re started, but stalled again. Went through all steps carefully and thoroughly to check everything, but would not start. Last step is to remove engine cover and check spark plug. Shouldn't have to be doing this on a new item, but. Upon removing the electrical connector to the spark plug, the whole assembly fell apart in my hand leaving the connections still attached to the spark plug and no longer able to connect back to the rubber housing. Shocking quality. So, armed with my call centre reference off to take it back but now severely inconvenienced, wasted a couple of hours setting it up to have to do it over again for the sake of a slightly better quality spark plug connector, if that's what the problem actually is, which I'll probably never know."