Product Reviews

Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier

This 2-in-1 product has two accessories for raker and scarifier that are easily interchanged with 5 height adjustments. Powerful 1400w motor and 52L collection bag make this great for heavy-duty jobs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.873 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
48
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
12
90 of 110(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Review 1 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:11/09/2014
Reviewer: xxyyzz
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very pleased with my purchase"
Review 2 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:05/09/2014
Reviewer: Moggy44
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really pleased!
"Bought this based on B&Q reviews a few months ago. Didn't use the collection bag for the same reason. Finally put it together today. Very easy, didn't need my husband's help which says it all! Used the rake at its lowest setting and it was very impressive. Loads of moss raked out. Contrary to other reviews I don't think it's a cheap piece of kit. It's sturdy and does the job. Will use the scarifier in a few weeks but so far really pleased and happy to recommend."
Review 3 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:25/08/2014
Reviewer: ezcoach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says
"Overall very effective and did what I wanted.
As I recall (bought April I think) the collection box-which soon filled-was a bit tricky to put together-needed a certain amount of strength which older or less able people may not have
Used without box-much easier, hand/machine-raked afterwards
Destroyed garden but that's what I expected; now recovering and looking so much better
Will re-use every couple of years
Happy with purchase
"
Review 4 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:19/08/2014
Reviewer: Leigh99
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Average
"First off, the grasscatcher is wholly inadequate. I ended up leaving it off as it filled every few yards.
The machine worked okay, but would stop after a couple of hours of use. Then it broke. Happily it was within 45 days so I got a refund."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:10/08/2014
Reviewer: timmov
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4 stars for Mac Allister
"Does what it says at a very good price. Grass catcher does not work very well so use your mower or grass rake to clear up, otherwise very good value for money."
Review 6 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:16/07/2014
Reviewer: deescription
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK
"It has a motor with attitude and changing from rake to scarifier is easy.
BUT
1. The wheels stick out well beyond the barrel so you cant do the edges of the lawn.
2. It is very poor at collecting the grass.
"
Review 7 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:05/07/2014
Reviewer: tdye
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good but not quite good enough
"Bought this rake/scarifier because it is recommended by Which? The price was best from B&Q so I ordered it from them. Delivered on time with no problems.
Used the rake on my quite large lawn. Did the job quickly and certainly raked very well with an impressive volume of debris produced. However it's not very good at collecting the dead grass and moss and a lot was left on the lawn. A bit disapointing."
Review 8 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:04/07/2014
Reviewer: Lawnless1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product
"Reviewed a range of similar equipment before buying this based upon price and specification. Have not been disappointed, have used both the rake and scarifier attachments. Both do their job effectively and quickly. The collection bag is a bit fiddly to attach and is not very effective in collecting material. That does not detract significantly in use as I always run over the work area afterwards with a lawnmower which picks up adequately all residue. I would recommend this equipment."
Review 9 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:24/06/2014
Reviewer: LargeGarden
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great machine for the price
"Have just taken delivery of this machine and tried it for the first time.
Only used the scarifier attachment so far but did an excellent job (don't know where all the thatch came from), only downside was the size of the collection box, this filled up in less than 30 seconds, in the end I used the machine with out it."
Review 10 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:21/06/2014
Reviewer: JustGrassLawn
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Better than the 400W ones. However the large collector bin does not get filled as the outlet from the rake gets jammed with all the moss thatch etc from the lawn. I had to tie the flap up and then manually rake it up. I know I have a lot of moss but surely the product can cope.
Also, we're use the rake (flexible tines) instead of the scarifier (solid metal blades).
Unlike the cheaper one this does not have enough tines across the width so you have to got up and down and then across the lawn and even it gets it all out"
Review 11 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:08/06/2014
Reviewer: Deesdinkies
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On top of its job
"I have used the rake attachment twice and found it to be very effective. Rival machines are criticised for small collection bags, but this machine has a very generously sized bag which is very welcome given the amount of dead grass raked up by the Mac Allister. I have not yet had need to use the scarifier, so will reserve judgement here. My only reservation at this point is that the machine feels very flimsy, with cheap plastic and fittings all round. I am not sure if it will last too long. Overall, though, a very efficient and good-value machine."
Review 12 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:05/06/2014
Reviewer: barriejap
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
"Marvellous machine works a treat on my lawn which was heavily thatched with dead grass. Twice over w Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier.
and cleared the lot, Grass collection box fills very quick.
regards
barriejap
"
Review 13 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:04/06/2014
Reviewer: JPJPJPJP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy
"It was a best buy from Which, and it was a really good price from B&Q, and definitely better than using a lawn rake as I had done previously. I would agree that the collection bag is a hindrance when pulling so much thatch and moss out of the grass, but it would be ok when less to pick up. As it's only going to be used infrequently, it will last for years and years."
Review 14 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:02/06/2014
Reviewer: rubbish23
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using the Macallister lawn rake
"After a bit of a faff assembling this item, I hav only just used it for the first time. This is due to lots of rain.
I was amazed by the amount of debris that the rake recoverd from the lawn. Even on the lowest setting for a lawn rake the results were amazing!!"
Review 15 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:02/06/2014
Reviewer: ABN1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for the price
"Does the job if you don't expect it to collect all the moss in the flimsy collector box. Easier to work without the box attachment then go over with a suction lawnmower or suction collector. But a great piece of equipment for the price."
Review 16 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:30/05/2014
Reviewer: Rob01322
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product
"The scarifier attachment is very effective and removes a lot of moss and thatch. Easy to change the attachments (rake / scarifier) but won't really be able to try out the rake until the autumn.
Build feels a bit lightweight but that's not an issue given the price."
Review 17 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:24/05/2014
Reviewer: MikeC49
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scarifier
"Surprised by the quality of the machine for the price. Only used it once so far, but very effective. The bag doesn't collect all the grass & moss, but neither did my last machine. Controls are good to raise or lower raker and scarifier. It was also easy to remove the scarifier and replace with the raker."
Review 18 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:22/05/2014
Reviewer: chestera
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mac Allister Scarifier
"Only used once but poweful and effective.
Seems good value comapred with similar products.
Big collection big but only part fills and gets full very fast. A bigger bag would be great.
Overall happy with product so far."
Review 19 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:21/05/2014
Reviewer: SueMacMac
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy!
"Used it only as a Raker so far but its done an excellent job!! A lot easier than doing it by hand! Collection bag is poor design so used it without the bag and collected grass/moss/thatch afterwards.
Looking forward to using the Scarifier in the Autumn."
Review 20 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:21/05/2014
Reviewer: DIYNovice99
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fantastic piece of kit
"Bought this after reading the reviews and was very impressed. My lawns were filled with moss - that I'd managed to somewhat kill with some weed/feed, and now needed to get it out.
The rake worked wonders - I ended up with 11 black sacks full of moss and thatch.
I then used the Scarifer to get the deeper rooted thatch out and this was great too.
Agreed that the collection box is somewhat limited in use.
The lawn does now look absolutely awful - but I was told it was supposed to! It's now starting to grow back nicely - with grass rather than moss!
"
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>