Product Reviews

Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier

This 2-in-1 product has two accessories for raker and scarifier that are easily interchanged with 5 height adjustments. Powerful 1400w motor and 52L collection bag make this great for heavy-duty jobs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.876 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
45
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
12
86 of 105(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Review 1 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:16/07/2014
Reviewer: deescription
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK
"It has a motor with attitude and changing from rake to scarifier is easy.
BUT
1. The wheels stick out well beyond the barrel so you cant do the edges of the lawn.
2. It is very poor at collecting the grass.
"
Review 2 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:05/07/2014
Reviewer: tdye
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good but not quite good enough
"Bought this rake/scarifier because it is recommended by Which? The price was best from B&Q so I ordered it from them. Delivered on time with no problems.
Used the rake on my quite large lawn. Did the job quickly and certainly raked very well with an impressive volume of debris produced. However it's not very good at collecting the dead grass and moss and a lot was left on the lawn. A bit disapointing."
Review 3 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:04/07/2014
Reviewer: Lawnless1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product
"Reviewed a range of similar equipment before buying this based upon price and specification. Have not been disappointed, have used both the rake and scarifier attachments. Both do their job effectively and quickly. The collection bag is a bit fiddly to attach and is not very effective in collecting material. That does not detract significantly in use as I always run over the work area afterwards with a lawnmower which picks up adequately all residue. I would recommend this equipment."
Review 4 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:24/06/2014
Reviewer: LargeGarden
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great machine for the price
"Have just taken delivery of this machine and tried it for the first time.
Only used the scarifier attachment so far but did an excellent job (don't know where all the thatch came from), only downside was the size of the collection box, this filled up in less than 30 seconds, in the end I used the machine with out it."
Review 5 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:21/06/2014
Reviewer: JustGrassLawn
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Better than the 400W ones. However the large collector bin does not get filled as the outlet from the rake gets jammed with all the moss thatch etc from the lawn. I had to tie the flap up and then manually rake it up. I know I have a lot of moss but surely the product can cope.
Also, we're use the rake (flexible tines) instead of the scarifier (solid metal blades).
Unlike the cheaper one this does not have enough tines across the width so you have to got up and down and then across the lawn and even it gets it all out"
Review 6 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:08/06/2014
Reviewer: Deesdinkies
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On top of its job
"I have used the rake attachment twice and found it to be very effective. Rival machines are criticised for small collection bags, but this machine has a very generously sized bag which is very welcome given the amount of dead grass raked up by the Mac Allister. I have not yet had need to use the scarifier, so will reserve judgement here. My only reservation at this point is that the machine feels very flimsy, with cheap plastic and fittings all round. I am not sure if it will last too long. Overall, though, a very efficient and good-value machine."
Review 7 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:05/06/2014
Reviewer: barriejap
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
"Marvellous machine works a treat on my lawn which was heavily thatched with dead grass. Twice over w Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier.
and cleared the lot, Grass collection box fills very quick.
regards
barriejap
"
Review 8 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:04/06/2014
Reviewer: JPJPJPJP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy
"It was a best buy from Which, and it was a really good price from B&Q, and definitely better than using a lawn rake as I had done previously. I would agree that the collection bag is a hindrance when pulling so much thatch and moss out of the grass, but it would be ok when less to pick up. As it's only going to be used infrequently, it will last for years and years."
Review 9 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:02/06/2014
Reviewer: rubbish23
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using the Macallister lawn rake
"After a bit of a faff assembling this item, I hav only just used it for the first time. This is due to lots of rain.
I was amazed by the amount of debris that the rake recoverd from the lawn. Even on the lowest setting for a lawn rake the results were amazing!!"
Review 10 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:02/06/2014
Reviewer: ABN1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for the price
"Does the job if you don't expect it to collect all the moss in the flimsy collector box. Easier to work without the box attachment then go over with a suction lawnmower or suction collector. But a great piece of equipment for the price."
Review 11 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:30/05/2014
Reviewer: Rob01322
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product
"The scarifier attachment is very effective and removes a lot of moss and thatch. Easy to change the attachments (rake / scarifier) but won't really be able to try out the rake until the autumn.
Build feels a bit lightweight but that's not an issue given the price."
Review 12 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:24/05/2014
Reviewer: MikeC49
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scarifier
"Surprised by the quality of the machine for the price. Only used it once so far, but very effective. The bag doesn't collect all the grass & moss, but neither did my last machine. Controls are good to raise or lower raker and scarifier. It was also easy to remove the scarifier and replace with the raker."
Review 13 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:22/05/2014
Reviewer: chestera
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mac Allister Scarifier
"Only used once but poweful and effective.
Seems good value comapred with similar products.
Big collection big but only part fills and gets full very fast. A bigger bag would be great.
Overall happy with product so far."
Review 14 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:21/05/2014
Reviewer: SueMacMac
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy!
"Used it only as a Raker so far but its done an excellent job!! A lot easier than doing it by hand! Collection bag is poor design so used it without the bag and collected grass/moss/thatch afterwards.
Looking forward to using the Scarifier in the Autumn."
Review 15 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:21/05/2014
Reviewer: DIYNovice99
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fantastic piece of kit
"Bought this after reading the reviews and was very impressed. My lawns were filled with moss - that I'd managed to somewhat kill with some weed/feed, and now needed to get it out.
The rake worked wonders - I ended up with 11 black sacks full of moss and thatch.
I then used the Scarifer to get the deeper rooted thatch out and this was great too.
Agreed that the collection box is somewhat limited in use.
The lawn does now look absolutely awful - but I was told it was supposed to! It's now starting to grow back nicely - with grass rather than moss!
"
Review 16 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:12/05/2014
Reviewer: CaptainT
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Job!
"At this price point, the choice appears to be this one or the Flymo. I chose Mac Allister mainly because the box needs to be fitted to the Flymo because if it is not, the grass, etc. is thrown forwards, which probably is impractical. The Flymo does not have a scarifier. A few reviews here suggested removing the box due to its limited capacity. I get the feeling that many reviewers, having no experience of a lawn raker/scarifier, are surprised at the amount of rubbish these machines produce. I watched the "professionals" use a large petrol machine on the manicured lawns next door. The machine did not have a collection box at all and it was obvious why not. The lawns were covered in a pile of "hay" two feet thick. To collect the amount produced would need some contraption similar to that following a combined harvester. So, do not buy one of these and then complain the collection box is too small - it is the nature of the beast.
The machine is easy to fit together - yes, the box was a bit of a pain but once together was OK with the exception that the fitting of the box to the machine (and hence the removal) could do with a re-design. The bare front lawn (100 sq.m.) was raked first, mowed and then scarified prior to re-seeding. The rake produced a fair amount and the scarifier a lot of dust! A good result. The back lawn (250 sq.m.) was in better condition despite being used as a football pitch. Again, raked with a good result and then mowed. Now to the interesting bit! Used the scarifier and my goodness what a revelation! The amount of moss and "hay" produced/removed was amazing (I thought the rake would do all that). By this time the wheelie bin was full from the front lawn. Yes, the collection box fills up very quickly and by "plowing on" spills it onto the lawn for later raking. I decided this was a little labour intensive so settled on the following: when the bag is full, take off and empty it on the bit just done (save the walk to "somewhere" for later), replace and repeat. At the end, the lawn was covered with mini haystacks but at least I had limited raking to do. All in all, it filled eleven black bin bags.
Summary: a fantastic machine for the money. The changeover from rake to scarifier is quick and simple. Follow the instructions for depth of rake/scarifier (it appears some did not). One star deducted for the bag fitting to the machine - not because it fills up too quickly - they all do...."
Review 17 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:10/05/2014
Reviewer: Daedalus5
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't collect the grass!
"Oh dear. Despite Which? magazine recommending this, it doesn't collect the thatch/weeds etc. Instead, the bag gets half full and the rest gets deposited on your lawn. The bag gets half full in about 2meters, so is a pain to keep swapping. I gave up and removed teh bag all together. This meant I had to manually use a shovel to make heaps and then bag it all up in black bags. This took me ~2hours for an 80m^2 lawn. I then had to use my lawn mower on the lowest settign to collect the remaining bits that were otherwise too small. I recommend cutting your grass first on teh lowest lawn mower setting.
Sadly, I was nable to take it back as it had been used. My lawn after a week looks like a ploughed field. The rake and scarfier also didn't dislodge all teh moss.
Overall, I wish I had saved £70 and just did it manually with a lawn rake now. The machine was supposed to make life easier, but didn't
Attached is a photo after I started to use the scarifier."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:10/05/2014
Reviewer: LondonRoss
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good job, good value
"Excellent value
Easy and quick to assemble
Basket fills up pretty quickly though so you'll need to stop very often"
Review 19 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:09/05/2014
Reviewer: Buywhenonoffer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used as power rake
"Used on a very mossy lawn. Bag filled after 2m. Used without a bag and gathered a massive amount of moss. No jamming no issues."
Review 20 for Mac Allister 1400W 2-in-1 Raker And Scarifier
Date:08/05/2014
Reviewer: Oldfella
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well
"Certainly did the job on a large lawn, though as suggested by an earlier reviewer it was easier to take off the collecting bag and rake up later - due to the sheer volumes of material raked out (about 20 years as the lawn had never been properly raked before I think). Not tried the scarifier yet, waiting for autumn."
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>