Product Reviews

Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large

This narrow joint finishing sand is perfect for patios and block paving.
Average Customer Rating:
3.071 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
8 of 14(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Review 1 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:14/06/2014
Reviewer: westham
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kiln dried sand
"Ordered 4 bags. Only one was genuinely dry. 3 had to be spread out in the sun and dried before use to fill block paving. Very disappointing"
Review 2 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:13/06/2014
Reviewer: krazyg13
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kiln dried
"Now thats more like the price i expect from B&Q my local BM was charging me £3.10 a bag and was going theer for all my kiln dried i always use B&q for most of my materials but the kiln dried was just a bit much b4 Keep it up B&q and i will and sure many more will keep taking kiln dried from you at this price thank you a very regular happy trade point customer"
Review 3 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:06/10/2013
Reviewer: jokey
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
***Don't Buy***
"Unless you want pink dust and grit.
Absolute rubbish
"
Review 4 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:12/09/2013
Reviewer: theretiscentone
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real Heavy, Man
"Get someone to 'reserve and collect'; this beast is excellent stuff but mighty heavy for its size."
Review 5 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:07/05/2013
Reviewer: CJW1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NO ISSUES-NICE PRODUCT
"I really dont understand some of the issue others have talked about this product. I found it very easy to use, fine and a nice colour. I only used one bag on a dry still day (as instructed on pack) and had no probs."
Review 6 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:17/03/2013
Reviewer: Bluewhale
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Had my drive block paved 2 years ago and the contractor recommended this product to replace the sand after high pressure hosing. Excellent product but make sure you re-sand on a dry day with little wind. Very easy to spread."
Review 7 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:06/10/2012
Reviewer: Paulprolandscaper
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Block paving sand unsuitable for purpose
"DO NOT BUY this product it is totally unsuitable for use as a block paving sand. It consists of a powdery sand mixed with large grit. The powder stains paving even when totally dry & is a nightmare to remove. THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THIS SAND. I am a professional landscaper & have never seen a product as bad as this for use as a block paving infill. You may aswell smear your paving in cement because that is pretty much the effect you will end up with! AVOID"
Review 8 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:30/09/2012
Reviewer: manana
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for the job
"I pressure washed our very tired looking driveway and put this on. I didn't experience problems the earlier reviewers reported but I have to note that colour of the sand is completely different from bag to bag. One was bright yellow, the other a bright reddy pink and the other a grey. No staining but if the colour is going to be a concern I suggest mixing several bags before applying. Also make sue the drive is completely dry before you put the sand on as any moisture causes clumping and makes it much harder to brush in. Avoid very windy conditons as the sand is extremely fine and a bit dusty and will be easily blown around.
I thought I would need a lot more than I actually used. 4 bags will easily cover 30 sq m of drive but I expect you will require more on new paving."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:02/09/2012
Reviewer: DIYSoS3449
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sorry-Don't see the problem!
"I was a bit worried about using this as I read reviews after purchase.Decided to try it anyway and must say that I am very pleased with the results.
The negative reviews must have been for a different product! (There is another product available at B&Q which is grey and contains crushed stone - perhaps the "cement" smell).This however is very fine, bone dry reddish sand with absolutely no lumps and certainly no staining - it is just sand after all ! Just don't use it on a windy day.
The reddish colour makes it a bit different from the norm and looks really good with my multi-coloured driveway blocks,so I guess would look good with any colour.Swept into cleaned joints very easily-did a double width driveway in about an hour.
Would have given the product 5 stars but deducted 1 because I had to take all the bags off the trolley
and put them on the scales when using the self-checkout ! Would have deducted just a half if I could!
"
Review 10 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:20/05/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product for me
"I have previously used playpit sand for my block paving gaps, this is a very similar product but £1 a bag cheaper. I covered about 5sq meters per bag and had no problems at all."
Review 11 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:21/04/2012
Reviewer: Jooseph
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
"Worked fine. Used over Easter and did exactly what it said"
Review 12 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:14/04/2012
Reviewer: BLOCKER
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't use this on blocking
"Was told by B&Q this replaced own brand . Used it on power-washed blocking which is now stained grey and won't wash off. Sand is also too fine and blows away while spreading and doesn't povide good drainage. Complaint made to B&Q."
Review 13 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:01/04/2012
Reviewer: jgugenheim
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
grey, dusty, pebbly. avoid.
"This is filtered BELOW a specific size, which is too big, rather than filtered between two sizes. The result is it is full of pebbles that block the gaps and dust that stains the paving. Absolute rubbish, and it was too late to take it back after it had wrecked the terrace. I also thought I could smell cement which really worries me that the stain won't come out. I'm really angry and disappointed. Please go back to the previous product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lafarge Kiln Dried Paving Joint Sand Large
Date:07/03/2012
Reviewer: JoeM
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kiln Dried Paving Sand Appalling Product
"I have used the B&Q kiln dried sand for a number of years. The replacement product is appalling. It does not sweep easily and is really hard work. It is full of grit and stains the block paving. Avoid it like the plague Very disappointing. I will be making a formal complaint. Go elsewhere."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.