Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres

Peat free multi purpose compost
Average Customer Rating:
1.727 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
9
2 of 11(18%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Review 1 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:09/08/2012
Reviewer: sampson
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
verve peat-free multipurpose compost
"incredibly heavy, contained large chunks of wood and brick, dessicates rapidly, chucked it out and bought elsewhere"
Review 2 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:06/06/2012
Reviewer: ash768
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY!!!
"its full of unrotted wood, it will not hold any water so it drys out 5 mins after watering. its absolute rubbish and i cant believe there selling it!!!"
Review 3 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:19/07/2012
Reviewer: lesheames
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very poor
"very very poor quality, it took me an age to get the bits of wood out of the compost the smell of it was horrendous, smelt like a sewer. do not buy this product"
Review 4 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:20/08/2012
Reviewer: Geronimo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A Right lot of Rubbish
"This contains mainly chunks of wood and is useless as a compost. It will not hold water and all the plants I have put in have died. It doesn't even rate one star"
Review 5 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:30/05/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy
"Smells like sewerage, black staining over hands and when watered stains the water black.
Absolute rubbish. Dries out and will not bring water to top by capillary action.
DO NOT BUY"
Review 6 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:19/05/2012
Reviewer: Ayemooth
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy
"Lots of large chunks of unrotted wood, and it's gone mouldy in a propagator within a week. It's simply not sufficiently well-rotted. Our local garden centre sells decent branded compost at 3 for £12, so this isn't even all that cheap!"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:09/06/2012
Reviewer: ashb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peat free multi purpose compost great stuff
"have bought this new stuff a few times now and my veg thrives on it even though there is a few bits of wood in it i think it is value for your money it does what it says on the bag, so all i can say if you thought it was rubbish why buy it. plus i reckon thousands who buy it cannot be wrong."
Review 8 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:15/05/2012
Reviewer: Endekay
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
"I have used compost from B&Q for many years but this product is useless for seeds and young plants. It made from wood chippings/bark which have not yet rotted, consequently the material is very course, becomes either waterlogged or, when it does dry, rock hard. It smells like sewage when wet and water passing through the compost comes out black - not too good for hanging baskets! I now have 7 trays of ruined plants."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:13/04/2012
Reviewer: davemw0mwl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Verve Multipurpose compost
"I have always used B&Q multipurpose compost simply because in the Which magazine it voted one of the top composts to use and I wasn't disappointed, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up the bag the compost is better again its nice and fine ideal for seed sowing and striking cuttings, I bought the three for £10 which is good and I'll be going back for another three next week.
For anyone who is looking for a good compost you can't go far wrong with Verve Multipurpose Compost. from B&Q"
Review 10 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:04/07/2012
Reviewer: KeenGardener23
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
"Every seedling I have planted in this product has died. every seed planted in this product has failed to germinate. My Father also bought 3 bags from a different store to me (40 miles away) and it has killed off all his seedlings too.
I'm guessing must be sourced from household waste recycling or something similar and the quality checks have failed to be put in place. The batch we have appears to be toxic to anything planted in it. Now faced with task of trying to remove it all from my garden.
After it killed off all the cucumber plants I grew from seed, I put one of tomato plants in it (also grown from seed) as a test. All the others are in good quality compost. It also died (see photo). All my other tomato plants are thriving.
I'd like to give it a 'no star' rating, but website won't allow it.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Verve Peat Free Compost 60 Litres
Date:28/03/2012
Reviewer: fairclaire
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
avoid!
"quite probably the worst compost I have ever purchased. very disappointing. I have used b&q compost for as long as I can remember and it was always top notch and truly multi purpose.
This on the other hand is only good for bulking out the bottom of pots. it is absolutely no use for seeds at all. It is rough with some very large pieces of shredded wood and twigs in it. It is extremely wet and heavy and has a pretty unpleasant smell (indicating to me it's not very wel rotted at all).
I personally will spend the extra money on a quality compost in future. This stuff truly is false economy.
Oh and a final word of warning if you do decide to get get your hands dirty with this stuff, have some swarfega at the ready! my bog standard soap would not shift this stuff!!
Please bring back the old compost B&Q ;-(
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.