Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L

A stain sealer and primer that adheres to all surfaces and is fast drying.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L
Review 1 for Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L
Date:26/11/2012
Reviewer: ballyjagpal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very good product it did exactly what it said on the tin.used this after using 2 different base coat products which still allowed staining to bleed through."
Review 2 for Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L
Date:07/11/2012
Reviewer: John44
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Zinsser BIN is fast drying alright!
"Needed a product to seal an old well smoked pine ceiling. It probably has done but it wasn't easy to put on by brush and I couldn't get an initial finish other than by roller . I used another product by brush for the joins in the pine planks. Too good for my painting ability and not cheap."
Review 3 for Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L
Date:13/10/2012
Reviewer: Weegieavlover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for blocking out coloured paint
"Used this ony cornice which previous owners had decided that red was a great colour to paint (seriously!).
It has taken two coats to properly block it out and I agree with previous comments that this not proper white as it had a creamy tinge to it so not a finishing coat.
Highly recommend this product."
Review 4 for Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L
Date:13/10/2012
Reviewer: dee91
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best I've tried
"This is the best I have tried. I used it to cover large areas of stained wood throughout the house. The first coat was patchy, but the second coat made a huge improvement. It dries very quickly so is ready for a second coat in an hour. Great product and already using my second tin."
Review 5 for Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L
Date:24/08/2012
Reviewer: thecat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solved a huge problem
"I had used some old paint, which smelt like sour milk once it had dried. It did not go for months, so I realised I had to seal the odour in before painting again. As the room was white, I picked this white sealer in the hope I might be able to get away with not adding another colour on top. The sealer seemed very watery when opening the tin, but actually went on a bit stiff/glue like, so no chance to work the sealer around and you tend to use quite a lot to make sure you get a decent coverage as it looked a tad streaky when it went on. The result - completely got rid of the smell.
I haven't given it 5 stars because:
- the actual colour is more like antique white, than a purer white.
- It doesn't go very far - I almost used this whole tin in a cloakroom.
- I couldn't use a roller because it kept pulling off any loose fluff and sticking it straight to the walls (no idea if a very expensive roller would solve this problem).
BUT it solved my 'sour smell' problem and no top coat needed, so very happy
"
Review 6 for Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L
Date:25/06/2012
Reviewer: baker921
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin
"We took out a chimney and a nasty brown stain came through the new plasterboard and a layer of skim.
I tried another water based stain block (3 coats!) and the stain still came through!
Tried Zinsser Bin and much improved a second coat finally did the job. Expensive but much cheaper than stripping out new plasterboard and installing a physical barrier.
TIP Make sure you have some Methylated Spirits for clean up. Its much cheaper than Vodka.
"
Review 7 for Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L
Date:24/05/2012
Reviewer: cja35
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zinsser bin shellac base primer sealer white 1L
"Whilst preparing our bedroom for decorating we noticeda mark/stain that had appeared many times during the years of living here, we wanted something that would be able to cover he stain/mark and for it not appear again, so far so good and my partner is hopeful that this product will work."
Review 8 for Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L
Date:19/05/2012
Reviewer: schmatts
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zinsser BIN
"Prompt Service. Excellent product. Only problem was when I got home found that the store had provided Tintable white instead of pure white. Slightly cream in colour instead of white. Couldnt be bothered to drive back to change."
Review 9 for Zinsser Bin Shellac Base Primer Sealer White 1L
Date:19/12/2011
Reviewer: Magnum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Painters best friend.
"This product covers well and dries really fast. The fast drying time can be a challenge in the summer, but it is excellent stuff. It will seal all types of stains, smoke damage and also stop wood knots coming through. I first used it on a smoke damaged property (Part of the spec.) and we have use it ever since. 15 minutes and you are ready for a top coat. Saves time and money everyday. Don't try to over coat with BIN too soon, or it will "drag". Best practice on some board, if it is your first time with this product. Also, B&Q sell it at an excellent price."