Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit

Easy to use garden tap kit with brass fittings.
Average Customer Rating:
2.927 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
15
20 of 41(49%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Review 1 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:18/08/2014
Reviewer: George0903
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
B&Q
"I bought 2 x Garden Tap Kits, I am sure that if this merchandise is of the the same quality and durability as previous items I have bought from B&Q then I will be more than satisfied with my purchase."
Review 2 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:26/06/2014
Reviewer: Tezza25
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Better off doing it properly
"Put one in for my son last year, insulated it and over the period of 10 months it developed a leak, at first we thought it was the connection to the mains water, but after removing the pipe insulation a fine pin hole was the cause of our problems, so using a hose repair joint another hole appeared 10 inches away from the repair, the hose must be like a colander of pin holes, pipe has got to be replaced."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:08/06/2014
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
outside tap
"very pleased with the purchase easy to install and a great price"
Review 4 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:20/05/2014
Reviewer: 12sixc
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Better off doing it properly
"I saw this in store and thought it would be a simple solution to fitting an outdoor tap.
You'll need a 16 mm drill bit long enough to get through your wall and a drill with the power to do so but once you have a hole - I found the hose wanted to deviate into the cavity in the wall - to prevent this I made it rigid by sticking some scrap 2.5 mm twin and earth in the end and using it to guide the hose through the cavity.
Connecting up and attaching the outside bits is quick and easy and with some PTFE tape I had no leaks on any of the external connections.
Fitting the self cutting tap however was pathetic - the clamp is simple to fit but the washer and screw threads mean a serious amount of strength was needed to turn the cutter and when it eventually got to the pipe it just dented it and made a pin hole rather than cutting a neat circle as it should. I had to remove the assemble and try to weaken the dent with a drill / stanley knife to allow the self cutting tap a chance on another attempt. After doing this and eating a can of spinach for strength - the tap did cut a bit more into the pipe to get a bit of a flow (but not the maximum you would expect through a hole that size).
Using PTFE tape to attach the hose to the tap - formed a seal sufficient for use with the outdoor tap open but unable to cope with the closed in pressure - since the washer is so thick only allowing a couple of threads screwing and the plastic elbow so cheap feeling - I have no confidence to leave the tap open when not needed.
Overall the kit does work but if you have any basic plumbing skills / tools I would do the job properly and not try to short cut with this kit. I will likely be replacing the self cutting tap with compression fitted tee, double check valve and washing machine valve and replacing the hose for a better quality washing machine one in the near future.
"
Review 5 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:07/05/2014
Reviewer: TheAirman1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of installation
"I purchased this following advice from a family friend. Unsure of working with plumbing I made enquiries on the cost of a plumber to install an outside tap. Due the excessive cost and following a recommendation from the friend I found this item online and with the assistance of a younger family member, I found it so simple to install. So, after years of putting a hosepipe through a window, I now have an outside tap. I could not find another DIY retailer selling these. Together with other products I have purchased from B & Q, I would totally recommend B & Q for DIY and Gardening and household appliances. Another nice aspect of B & Q, is the willingness of Staff to talk about any product that B & Q sell. Very pleased with my purchase."
Review 6 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:01/09/2013
Reviewer: Seragon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have fit several of these now (Mothers, Brothers, 2 friends & 3 for myself(each time I moved)
First one fitted 11 years ago & still sealed & in perfect working order.
Definitely recommend to everyone
"
Review 7 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:04/08/2013
Reviewer: HandymanDad
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap tap kit
"not surprised this was reduced. The crimp fitting just wouldnt stop leaking. so I had to replace it with something else."
Review 8 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:03/08/2013
Reviewer: Rihard19852
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product quality item
"I was a bit wary about buying this outside tap kit because of the negative reviews. All I can say is that following the advice of other reviewers of this product to be patient, not to over tighten and use PTFE tape on every joint. It gives a good water pressure (I live in a new build house) to the hose I use. The only negative thing I would say is that the jubilee clip provided in the kit is of poor quality so I had to buy a couple more sturdier clips to secure the connecting pipe and one to connect the hose pipe to the tap."
Review 9 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:29/07/2013
Reviewer: Diomino
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase
"I tried using the kit, the self sealing unit didn't work, the kitchen was almost flooded due to the unit leaking.
Had to purchase extra fittings to eliminate the useless self sealing unit. Lots of extra cost, time, patience wearing thin.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:21/07/2013
Reviewer: Marco54
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy to fit but......
"I purchased to kit just over 6 months ago as we needed an outside tap for the garden. I am a confident DIYer having fitted bathrooms, kitchens, conservatories etc. The contains everything you need to fit the tap and the instructions are clear and easy to follow. I completed the job inside half an hour and initially was satisfied with the kit apart from the very poor water pressure. Over the 6 months I noticed that the hose pipe had started to swell in parts and the part that clips on to your existing pipe had developed a small drip from the cut in area. I'd rectified the drip and continued to use the tap. This morning I woke to find 2" of water in the utility room as the plastic screw on connector had blown off and water had been steadily been running out over night. I have now replaced the kit using plastic push fit pipe and have instantly noticed a difference in pressure. I wish I had paid the little bit extra and done a proper job in the first place! My advice would be not to waste your money and to use push fittings and plastic pipes, it may be about £5 dearer but will be a lot longer lasting"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:14/07/2013
Reviewer: triman
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install
"A simple to install design with easy to follow instructions. I would suggest the use if ptfe tape on the conection from the cutting unit to the pipe connector as it did leak a little."
Review 12 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:05/06/2013
Reviewer: Rich666
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor quality fittings
"My builder fitted this when he was doing some other work on our house and I made the mistake of not checking closely the inspection. A few days later we noticed that the top shelf under the sink was completely wet and the plastic covering had come away from the chipboard! The fitting on the pipe was dripping although it was on securely. So I took it apart, used some PTFE tape and tightened it. Monitored it for 2 days and all seemed fine. Came home 1 week later to find that the fitting had worked its way loose and I had a flooded kitchen! After a clean up I tried to refit but cross threaded the poor quality plastic hose connector. The problems that I had had seem to be repeated by many reviews on this site. Conclusion - very poor hose connector - very weak and leaks. There is very little difference between fitted and not fitted (1\2 turn). Please don't buy this - spend a few extra ££ and get it done properly else it may cost you more than you think long term."
Review 13 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:30/05/2013
Reviewer: Smitty1
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good for a novice i suppose but i expected more from this.
Self-cutting tap is poor and i think I'll be ditching that and buying a separate connector myself.
Poor water pressure maybe due to the small hole it cuts.
Wish i'd got something better...
"
Review 14 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:29/04/2013
Reviewer: StaffordhsireNeil
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK if you are resiliant
"The tap is fine. The jubilee clip works. Other than this! The self tapping valve is of poor quality - it works but is much more fidgity than others I have purchased that sell seperatly. The hose is the worst part - the connector leaked and in the end I just went and bought a washing machine hose and cut the end off - problem solved and no leaks. This works if you are fairly handy and resiliant. However probably better off spending a bit more to begin with since you will need to purchase other items!!"
Review 15 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:12/04/2013
Reviewer: lirjo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR
not the best engineered quality ,but handle carefully, use ptfe tape and thread everything gently to stop cross threading and its great
it works fine with no leaks or complaints and i would certainly buy another
"
Review 16 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:25/02/2013
Reviewer: DIYmatt1984
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible quality
"First issue was that I couldn't get the self tapping tap to cut into the pipe as it wouldn't catch on the threads of the clamp; space was very tight, even so, tried for ages and gave up.
Second idea was to shut off water supply, T off the cold water supply and fit an isolating washing machine tap fitting to a short pipe.... Worked a treat, screwed the flexible green hose to this fitting then turned the water back on and water started spraying from the hose fitting!!!!
All in all, terrible quality, I'm going to go down the route of copper pipe through the wall and up to an outside tap with an isolation valve... This was supposed to be a quick fix but turned out a long annoying process.
Don't bother with this product, the quality of the fittings are rubbish."
Review 17 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:25/11/2012
Reviewer: Tudd
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cheap and nasty
"bought one of these for a quick job oh no
everything fitted ok and worked ok but a few days later got rusty water coming out of tap as the cutting piece is metal thus contaminating drinking water supply
so had to remove it and fit a new piece of pipe
guess what no rusty water now but no outside tap
wish I had done a proper job first as last"
Review 18 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:21/10/2012
Reviewer: pach1962
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great item
"All i can say is that is a great outside tap set, also at a brilliant price, much cheaper than elsewhere."
Review 19 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:14/09/2012
Reviewer: macca19690
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty Good
"After reading all the negative reviews i very nearly didn't buy this but i went ahead and got it and to my surprise i fitted it without any problems, no leaks and good pressure so all in all im well pleased...did use lots
of PTFE tape..
"
Review 20 for PlumbSure Garden Tap Kit
Date:16/08/2012
Reviewer: Vesperado
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AVOID
"Save your money and buy something else, at best this is a very poor quality product, had to take it back twice to be swapped. The plastic nut does not tighten properly and the clamp we had, the hole for the fixing screw was 2 different sizes. All in all a very cheap product that isn't worth the money or stress this has caused. Take your £9.99 and spend it on a couple of pints in your local, they need the money more than B&Q"
1 2 next>>