Product Reviews

Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea

Traditional cast iron and steel chimenea finished in an attractive matt black will look great in any garden. With its mesh door your guests can enjoy the glow of the flame safely.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Review 1 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:30/07/2013
Reviewer: Arsonist
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
warms the cockles........
"Found this a doddle to assemble. Took advice and prior to use gave it a coat of matt black heatproof spray paint. Been sat outside now with no cover thru the best of the British summer thunderstoms/lightening and monsoon. Only sign of rust is where the spray didn't reach on the underside of the bottom bowl. Gave out plenty of heat the first night we used it and a great focal point for the birthday BBQ on the patio. Would have liked a taller chimney but that's maybe just me.........use dry wood only as you'll be smelling of a bonfire for ages after if you don't
Best bit of this purchase has to be the attitude of the staff at Burnage B&Q - Calvin has to be the best store assistant I have encountered in years and should have some recognition from the suits at the head office. The computer said there was 4 in stock. None on the shop floor, one pallet hidden on the top of a rack some 30' up and at back of store. He apologised he could neither access it or sell it but promised me it would be available 24 hrs later. Good to his word and service, a phone call day after and we picked it up"
Review 2 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:13/07/2013
Reviewer: Wortletboy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zero to heat in 30 minutes
"After determining that the "traditional" pot chimineas weren't likely to survive the journey home, let alone regular use, I decided on one of the cast-iron variety. Easy to put together (30 mins for a 50 year old versus 1 hour 30 for a 70 year old - see earlier review). It works a treat, I just pick up a couple of handfuls of dry sticks from the woods and that gives us an evening's heat. Worth paying for this cast-iron and steel model."
Review 3 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:04/07/2013
Reviewer: fieryginger66
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what we wanted.
"so pleased with this Chimenea. Perfect for our small patio. Easy to assemble.. Used twigs from garden at first and fill garden with smoke, then used DRY Logs and heat and look was fantastic. Small bits of rust showing after a few days of being outside in the rain, but this adds to the character. Love it.."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:05/05/2013
Reviewer: toaster
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cuba cast Iron chimenea
"A Good looking medium sized chimenea. Chimney not cast iron like the bowl so there are issues with the description. Burns well and can throw out plenty of heat if loaded up. (Even sat around it and toasted teacakes) This product will discolour and rust in use. instructions recommend wiping down with oil to prevent this. Alternatively a wire brush and can of heat resistant stove paint will renew finish. Did this recently and looks like new again."
Review 5 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:04/05/2013
Reviewer: Vampira136
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top quality
"Have only used it once so far, but have already recommended it to friends. It is solid and sturdyand the door means I don't have to worry about sparks flying around and setting my decking alight!"
Review 6 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:20/05/2012
Reviewer: BenB2k
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good addition to the garden
"I am pleased with this, looks great when in use. Only issues i had was some of the spot welds on the bottom part of the chimney part had broken so i had to return and swap for another in store which wasnt too much of a problem."
Review 7 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:17/04/2012
Reviewer: Dizzie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic
"This is lovely and it only took me 1HR &20 MINUTES to build it,.One 77YRS OLD PENSIONER..HOW ABOUT THAT."
Review 8 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:17/04/2012
Reviewer: Evertonian
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beware,this item is not as advertised !
"Had a clay chimnea which the frost managed to kill,so decided to go for a cast iron one.
Yes this is attractive,a reasonable price,average size.
However,the description is a Cast Iron Chimnea and it is actually a mix of Cast Iron bowl and Steel Chimney.
Had I known I would not have bought it.
"
Review 9 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:04/09/2011
Reviewer: lloydm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cuba Medium Cast Iron Chimenea
"Very good Chimnea for the price, according to my friend it is hotter (more efficient) than the slightly larger 125cm Chimnea, it would have got 5 stars except for the facts that the Chimney bit goes a different colour (small point) and that some smoke comes out of the gaps in the chimney stack ( my young Son put it together and lost a screw, so this may be the reason) otherwise very useful and well worth the money and i would recommend it it to anyone, it can easily warm 10+ people sitting around it."
Review 10 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:08/08/2011
Reviewer: Misty64
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chimeneas Looking Good
"It didnt take my husband long to put this together with the help of a good woman :) Once it was finished it looked really nice and was just the right size for the patio. It has a nice rain coat !! which it will need for our British weather and having purchased the kindling for it we are just waiting for the window of opportunity to arise to light it :)"
Review 11 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:08/07/2011
Reviewer: el100268
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
outdoor central heating
"Product was relatively easy to assemble. Slightly rustic finish to all parts adds to the overall 'outdoor' effect. Seems solid and durable although have only used it a few times. Throws out a decent amount of heat. Overall pretty good."
Review 12 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:24/06/2011
Reviewer: steview
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not good
"I have had this item approx 1 month and considering how dry its been after 3 uses is very rusty. Not good quality finish and poorly made for the cost"
Review 13 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:12/06/2011
Reviewer: NickR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
La Hacienda Cuba Chiminea
"Excellent value. Gives off great heat. Easy to put together."
Review 14 for Cuba Cast Iron Chimenea
Date:11/06/2011
Reviewer: homegirl24
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ok
"ok for the price, sat right in front of it for the heat and room for 2 to keep warm. maybe we lit it on a night that was too cold! will try again. looks good in the garden though."