Product Reviews

Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L

Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain offers a rich semi-transparent colour with a tough durable finish. It has a unique double action formulation which has invisible anti-slip microbeads to make decks safer than untreated wood and an algaecide to help protect the film surface from green algae and mould growth.
Average Customer Rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L
Review 1 for Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L
Date:06/05/2014
Reviewer: wnlg
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very happy
"very happy with this product, i actually covered 46 sq m even though the tin says up to 40 sq m. the finish is lovely, the colour is lovely, anti slip works a treat. you do need do a minimum of two coats (i did two)."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L
Date:02/05/2014
Reviewer: gbebz
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cuprinol ultra Tough decking stain
"Excellent product. Have been using for a few years now. Applies easily and gives an even colour. Recommend two coats at least."
Review 3 for Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L
Date:15/04/2014
Reviewer: Jinksey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good Product
"We chose this decking stain because it was anti slip and the colour we wanted. So far the 5 litre can has covered 55 decking tiles (600 x 600) with about a quarter of the can left. Coated the tops and edges very easily but as stated by another review you must stir well before use, I also stirred during use. Covered in one coat with an even colour which darkens on drying and has proved to be extremely good at preventing slipping. Would buy again if we extend the decking area."
Review 4 for Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L
Date:12/05/2013
Reviewer: botanical
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not very good
"I have used many products over the years and this one does not impress me. It tends to gather and produce dark patches. It is not to bad on smooth planed timber but on rough timber, if your trying to match a fence in, it foams up and creeps down to create big dark areas that need to be taken off with a wire brush or angle grinder. As a landscaper I am not impressed with this product as it does not apply easily. their earlier products were much better."
Review 5 for Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L
Date:15/04/2013
Reviewer: Russ77
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great if you mix it properly
"Started to paint my decking with this stuff thinking I'd mixed/stirred it as directed by the instructions.
Luckily I'd only covered about a 1/3 of my decking before my brother turned up and spotted that it still wasn't mixed properly.
After a few mins of vigorously shaking the tin, the colour/texture of the product changed completely and was a lot easier to apply.
Only managed to get one coat out of the 5l tin (20sqm decking) but so far it seems to be good and the anti-slip feature works a treat (you can hear your trainers squeaking when you walk on it).
Will be buying a second tin as some areas will need another coat but overall seems to be a decent enough product"
Review 6 for Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L
Date:01/07/2012
Reviewer: PTPB
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain
"Superb Product! Great coverage and it does have anti-slip properties. I tried my hardest to slip on it during a thunderstorm and couldn't.
Can't recommend this product highly enough."
Review 7 for Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L
Date:21/03/2012
Reviewer: Badbacknknees
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase ever
"Do not buy this product,read the reviews,they are all over the web.I bought this product because it looked the best for what I needed,& it is Cuprinol.What a plonker ! Ended up buying 4 tins,cost a bomb,dried in two distinctly different shades & ruined my deck.I contacted Cuprinol to ask for advice,no help at all.That was last year.After one winter,its peeling off all over,so now I have to strip it all off & start again,you should try sanding decking boards ! When done,I will be using oil.Save your money & back,go with something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L
Date:31/07/2011
Reviewer: angry99
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid Rubbish !!!!!!!!!!!
"Rubbish ! Bought two tins £88 !!!! With a full days prep one tin dryed two colours and one another complete waste of money the finish looks cheap and ruined decking thanks cuprinol i look forward to hearing what they say !"
Review 9 for Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain Natural Oak 5L
Date:12/04/2011
Reviewer: Jaffa23
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gutted
"This has got to be the worst paint I have ever purchased - looks about 3 different colours when applied - this has spoilt the look of my decking - if you buy goodluck!"