Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Ross Satellite Kit

The Ross SD Satellite Kit gives you everything you need to receive free-to-air Satellite Digital TV.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
30 of 33(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ross Satellite Kit
Review 1 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:10/11/2011
Reviewer: dominic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a cracking price
"It's only SD but at circa £25 this is a bargain even just for the box. I didn't need the included dish but covered with adhesive aluminium foil it made a superb solar oven!*
*experimental project. I haven't decided to take my kitchen fully off-grid quite yet. :)"
Review 2 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:31/10/2011
Reviewer: artym
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a bargain!
"Took a chance on this kit, as it seemed a bargain for half price and it was !. Set it up at my caravan in the northern lakes, where tv reception is very poor, and within 10 minutes i had dozens of channels,
Tha best £24.98 i've spent in a while !
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:17/10/2011
Reviewer: jimsec
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"bought one of these,and a signal finder followed the instructions and still can't get it working."
Review 4 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:17/10/2011
Reviewer: Craig330
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap Satellite TV
"Bought this for £25 for dish and receiver cant complain about it. Not fitted it as yet but have tried it by fixing it to a stand. Works fine."
Review 5 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:12/10/2011
Reviewer: camperman
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FANTASTIC PURCHASE
"I bought this item last week from my local B&Q and I am absolutely pleased with it, it does exactly what it says it does on the tin! Dead easy to set up and fantastic picture quality! I originally went to buy the standard set up kit but when I got to B&Q I spotted the HD version which has the capacity to record programmes by using a USB stick so I bought this one instead for a few pounds more! So pleased I did, I would strongly recommend either of these systems to anybody - fantastic item and fantastic price! Thank you B&Q!"
Review 6 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:08/10/2011
Reviewer: Geoffo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value!
"Bought this as many have to get RTL for Formula One for next year.
It had every thing I wanted to do the job. A tip when scanning Astra 1c (19.2) is to remove transponders 47 & 67 when scanning, if you don't the box will lock up.
The dish is a tad ugly, but wasn't worried as I didn't need it I just mounted the supplied LNB along side my existing Sky LNB. Even without the dish, its still excellent value."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:04/10/2011
Reviewer: MrFish99
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap as chips!
"Easy set up - everything that you need included - can't go wrong at this price!
Super buy."
Review 8 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:03/10/2011
Reviewer: higgy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic value for money
"we bought this kit for £24.98 which is a fantastic price, was easy to install, had all the bits we needed and gives us loads of tv channels plus radio stations - perfect!"
Review 9 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:02/10/2011
Reviewer: Cyclome
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A bargain at £25 but problems with Astra 19E
"Got this working eventually but Astra 19E (needed for German, French, Polish etc broadcasts) is not programmed into the box. The only way to get the dish aligned was to manually program in a couple of transponders and then align the dish. You then have to scan for all the transponders; stop the scan before the programme search and delete a couple of transponders which crash the box on the programme search (this means you can not get ORF 1 and 2 the main Austrian channels); finally scan the programmes in.
The box is programmed for Astra 28.2 (the main UK satellite) and numerous other satellites including arabic, asian and Turkish broadcasts. It is difficult to understand why it is not programmed for Astra 19E as this is a popular satellite.
There is no need for a satellite finder. This only tells you you have picked up a satellite - not which one - so I did not find it useful. It is better to monitor the signal quality on a TV with the box tuned into the right satellite. It takes time and patience to get the set up right."
Review 10 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:16/09/2011
Reviewer: Lipstick
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pleased with result
"The dish was relatively easy to put up take guidance from where neighbours dishes are pointing to receive a picture we were very pleased with the result"
Review 11 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:16/09/2011
Reviewer: djls
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing product
"i purchased this on behalf of my mum and dad who have a small tv in their bedroom. Their tv has no aerial apart from one of those mobile ones. We bought the satelite kit and assembled it all. After assembling the dish i had a brain wave and plugged the satelite box into an existing (well known) satelite dish which mum and dad have already attached to the side of the house. HEY BINGO it worked. Afriend of mine also purchased this kit and used the dish which came with it and also had amazing results. For a purchase price of £25 you really cant go wrong. Dad can now watch what he wants when he wants :)"
Review 12 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:10/09/2011
Reviewer: mariegriffiths
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Free F1 for £25
"This can pick up RTL CH, who are currently showing F1 free to air. Just point your dish at 14 degrees and tune into Hotbird. It is currently the 58th channel that tunes in. I managed to tune it in by hand, no compass, no satellite finder. I pointed the dish to match my sky dish direction then turned it by eye 10% to the right, same attiude. ONce I got signal a wiggled it around to get it to 70% by a friend saying better worser. Whether RTL CH will be around next year I dont know. Worth a £25 punt."
Review 13 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:02/09/2011
Reviewer: gus8147
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ross
"This is a great piece of kit
Everything is included right down to sleeve anchors to fix the mounting bracket to the wall.Also 10 mtrs of cable and fixing clips. I mounted my dish in line with the astra satelite using the dishfinder web address in the instructions,i done this without a compass.
I then borrowed a satelite finder off my pal and got it spot-on.
I could not get any menu with the audio cables,Red-Yellow-White,but when i put it in scart 1 I was in bussiness. 246 chanells.
The paperwork you get with this kit is overrun with information
I have property abroad and i am going to buy one to take there,as it will pick up a host of satelites
This is not Freesat, possibly better
"
Review 14 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:31/08/2011
Reviewer: Falankuk
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Definetely not raccomended
"I have bought the above Ross Satellite Kit and the following items were missing in the box:
h) mounting pole clamp
o) composite cable
p) scart adaptor
q) x2 long 8mm bolts
s) u shape bolts
t) x3 long 6mm bolts
w) x2 m6 bolts
y) x11 small locking nuts
I live far away from the B&Q, and kits they should be checked before to be sold, I had to bring it back (4 miles to go and 4 miles to comeback I have done it twice), I have tried to exchange it and the other kits were in the same conditions, with many parts of it missing. It has been a waste of time, I definetely would not raccomend it."
Review 15 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:29/08/2011
Reviewer: lizzielew
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bargain
"This kit is great value at full price, let alone the discounted price of £25 I paid. It has the full kit of dish, receiver and remote and is easy to set up. I currently have the standard Sky package, but this Freeview package has more or less the same range of channels free. Were it not for being tied into my contract with Sky as I also have Sky Broadband and Sky Talk I would seriously consider cancelling Sky. The kit is of equal quality to what Sky provides. Great purchase"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:29/08/2011
Reviewer: easy1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple
"easy to setup, remember to take a compass,and check on the internet angle and direction before you go"
Review 17 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:20/08/2011
Reviewer: pij46
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ross SD Kit
"bought this a while ago set it up ok i can get the astra2 - 28.2e satellite the freesat channels etc are on there ok and i can adjust it for other foreign satellites too for sport etc.you cant go wrong for the price.if you have problems setting your dish up use the dishpointer site to get an idea where to point your dish and dont forget the dish doesn't need to be up high it can go on a wall/shed/fence etc if you have a clear line of sight to the sky/satellite"
Review 18 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:13/07/2011
Reviewer: chel2020
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"still trying to get it to work we bought a satelite finder which is useless and a compass as i say still trying without any sucsess would not recomend any of it"
Review 19 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:08/07/2011
Reviewer: Deck
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spur of the moment purchase
"Saw this was on offer at £24.98 couldn't resist.
Set up in my garden works well. My only crtiticism
is there is no subtitle capability.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ross Satellite Kit
Date:25/06/2011
Reviewer: popladdy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic value for money
"This is a free to air system that does an excellent job,note it is not Freesat so you do not get the programme EPG,but to me that was neither here nor there.Dish is on the big side but if you have a sky dish just use that.very easy to operate and setup.for the £23 odd I paid you cant go wrong."
1 2 next>>