Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc

Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc
Review 1 for Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc
Date:02/08/2012
Reviewer: dmax
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
petrol strimmer
"delighted with performance and at such a reasonable price. peviously had more expensive strimmers but this one does the job just as well"
Review 2 for Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc
Date:21/07/2012
Reviewer: pjblade1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value
"I have to be honest, i was not expecting alot from this strimmer. i trawled the internet for hours looking at different shops, makes & stock availability . I couldn't wait any more as garden was a mess, so i went for the cheapest option to get me buy. This product is unbelievable for the price. If your on a budget, go for this one, i`m pretty sure you wont be dissapionted. easy to assemble, and just as easy to use. but buy a 2 stroke starter kit, so you can mix the fuel properly."
Review 3 for Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc
Date:13/07/2012
Reviewer: HappieChappie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Samurai Sword amongst strimmers.
"This is excellent and great value for money. Not a single starting problem, as mentioned in another of these reviews the primer can be pumped thousands of times without flooding the carb and a couple of pulls on the starting cord and you are away. Perhaps the modern generation are too used to simply operating a push-button start on their gadgets but these rip-cords work very well. The strimmer is strong and copes with even thick bramble stems as long as you introduce it to them gradually. I have also had cause now to replace the cord and can report it is simple easy and straightforward to do.. B+Q sell a large value pack of 2.5mm guage which fits although only cut a 5m length as the recommended 6m in the booklet will not fit due to the slightly increased thickness. A great product and worth every penny."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc
Date:22/06/2012
Reviewer: ILuvBandQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beast of a trimmer
"Bought this trimmer on the recommendation of the nice man in the Hamworthy branch. Required for clearing some waste land (grass and weeds) at he side of my new property. Cuts through them like a knife through butter, even chops down some of the bigger weeds and brambles. Surprising powerful at the price point and frugal fuel consumption. Easy to start if you use common sense and follow the instructions. Recommend the measuring bottle from B+Q to ensure accurate petroil mix."
Review 5 for Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc
Date:05/06/2012
Reviewer: sue53
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
petrol strimmer
"this product is very good and easy to use."
Review 6 for Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc
Date:25/03/2012
Reviewer: Sam77
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Difficult to Start
"Just bought it today, easy to put together but the engine is really difficult to start.
I think the starting instructions are wrong. The engine is starved for air with the lever at half-choke or choke. The hole in the fuel butterfly valve inside the carburettor is not big enoughto allow enough air or the throttle lock doesn't set the acceletrator open wide - common problem in 2-stroke engines. You need to set it in run mode to get it to start. Also the engine doesn't have a fuel pump, it's gravity-fed. If the device is used in a near flat angle the engine will die."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc
Date:10/02/2012
Reviewer: thefuzz
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good buy
"I bought this strimmer and was slightly apprehensive even as someone with knowledge in the small engine field, but there was little need to be. First of all I'll say it's worth the money, I don't have a problem with spark and it doesn't fall apart as a couple of other reviews mentioned. Also it starts very easily if you follow the instructions given and is powerful aswell and can cut through thick grass with ease. I do have some knowledge on small engines, however, and here are a couple of tips with these little strimmers: First of all you must push the primer bulb until the lines are filled with fuel - this won't flood the engine even if you push it 800 times it merely draws fuel through the carb and pumps it back into the tank. When cold it needs the choke, open the throttle to about half and pull up to 4 or five times, then move it to half choke and pull it again a couple of times and that should get the engine going nicely. When warm it's much the same, just keep it to 1 or 2 pulls with the choke on. These engines are a lot simpler than a mower engine and so don't usually start first pull, though it's not impossible for them to. The bump feed head: first of all I took the line out and rewound it a bit more neatly and it works just fine. Where the strimmer shaft joins together it is very important that the nurled bolt is done up tight, not excessively so, but tight so that it won't come undone - if not you risk placing excessive stress on the driving cable inside. I also recommend when you store the strimmer to drain the fuel to prevent it from going bad and clogging up the carb, and on the subject of fuel follow the manual, mine says it's 40:1 and follow that, the occasional mishap with 30:1 will be fine but it should not be run on anything other than the mix it is designed for regularly or excessive carbon build up could damage the engine. Also never use to little oil - it's a death sentance for these little engines. As a final note to end my waffling which I hope is of some use, remember this is a small strimmer, it is not an industrial strength stihl or husqvarna, so don't ask too much of it and it'll be a happy little machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc
Date:03/09/2011
Reviewer: georgesdad
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poorly made
"bought this TRY26PGTA on friday , assembled it according to the manual on saturday morning and got it working, used it for no longer than 20mins and the main shaft that goes inside the engine housing came out.i checked every nut bolt and screw for tightness again and it's still so loose that you could'nt even carry it without it all falling apart....very poor build quality :("
Review 9 for Petrol Grass Trimmer 26cc
Date:10/08/2011
Reviewer: Geo2die
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible
"Returned it to store. I wouldn't start. No spark at all. Obviously hadn't been tested at the factory.
Have used strimmers for many years so know how to use them.
Had to travel over 60 miles to return it.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.