Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower

The Mountfield self-propelled push rotary lawnmower comes with a powerful 100cc recoil start engine. Equipped with a 39cm cutting width blade, the Mountfield HP414 will have your lawn cut in no time, and comes with 5 cutting heights ranging from 25-70mm which enables you to achieve your preferred grass height. Suitable for small to medium sized lawns.
Average Customer Rating:
4.41 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
36 of 39(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:16/06/2011
Reviewer: jackboy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower
"For the price this mower is great. Easily assembled and started first time (Once you get past all the bits like filling with oil etc). I can't believe I have been using an electric hover mower all these years, this mower makes mowing the lawn a pleasure and it takes a fraction of the time. Great buy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:23/06/2011
Reviewer: jmurray01
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield SP414 - Best Petrol Mower I've Owned!
"Where do I start... The SP414 is fantastic!
The mower is in red, with a strong polypropylene deck that will last forever without rusting, something the old fashioned steel decks couldn't do.
The most important part of a petrol mower, is the petrol engine!
This mower has an RS100 100CC 2.6HP engine, which works perfectly on any shape and size of lawn.
The only problem I can foresee with the engine, is mowing thick and heavy long grass.
As the engine only has 2.6 Horse Power, it would probably stall if you tried to mow really thick grass. For that kind of work you would need a mower with an engine of at least 4HP, if not 5HP!
The Self Propel makes mowing really easy, and is a near necessity for me with my bad back.
All in all, the mower is well built, from a well known and reputable brand, and works great!"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:07/09/2011
Reviewer: Tufty2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Mower
"Bought this mower as a replacement for a petrol mower with a steel deck which, after only a few years, had rusted to bits. Being plastic, this mower will not have that problem. The engine starts easily (usually on the first pull) and the mower is much lighter making it easier to manoeuvre."
Review 4 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:20/09/2011
Reviewer: sandyc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic
"absolutely fantastic. bought this one as was the best priced and with 5 *'s out of 5 it's proved to be the case. used it for the first time yesterday, lightweight and easy to start. brilliant."
Review 5 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:22/09/2011
Reviewer: happychappy1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mountfield 39cm sp
"What an absolute little beut.Powerful , easy start and fairly quiet and at this price what more could you ask for ?"
Review 6 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:24/09/2011
Reviewer: Terryb
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mountfield 39cm Self-Propelled Rotary Mower
"Really liked the mower. Ordered on the internet. The one I got from the store was the right number but seemed to be a bit different from picture. (I was put off by this) Still nice mower"
Review 7 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:03/10/2011
Reviewer: daisy67
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good price and works a treat
"good product bulky but as expected and cuts grass easily and not much effort."
Review 8 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:07/10/2011
Reviewer: azza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one of the best
"Easy to assemble, only took a few minutes, much better built than many other models in the same price range, lots of oomph, our garden is like the rocky road to Dublin but the self propelled function helps with big tufts & uphill bits, lumps & bumps in the lawn no problem at all. You don't have to use it self propelled you can just use it like a normal mower which means more control round fiddly bits. Every bit as good as much more expensive models. Don't forget the special lawnmower oil which you have to buy seperate. Spare parts readily available so no worries there unlike some cheaper or fashion brands, can't think of anything wrong with it at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:07/10/2011
Reviewer: Linbin
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rotary Mower
"Fantastic, easy to assemble and operate. A first class mower"
Review 10 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:07/11/2011
Reviewer: Sappers
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Purchase
"Does exactly what it was bought for. Started first time from out of box having first put oil in the sump."
Review 11 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:18/03/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
problems starting
"first time mower worked okish had mower now about six months had nothing but problems starting would gladly take my money back on this product wasted a few sundays trying to get it going now giving up on it please please do not buy one of these"
Review 12 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:20/03/2012
Reviewer: forestman
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blew my socks off
"purchased with the engine oil as recommended, taken home and assembled in 15 mins with the aid of a cross head screwdriver, filled \to the prescribed level on the dipstick with oil, added petrol to the tank, three presses of the priming bulb and BINGO I was away with the first tug of the starting chord. It pulled me along at a nice strolling pace and cut the grass perfect first time without any adjustment to the cut height . Yes you can adjust that by shifting the levers on the wheels, much better than unbolting them on lesser spec mowers. You will be pleased to know that the grass box is of good quality and volume and actually stays connected to the mower in use, unlike other models reviewed elsewhere on the net. So am I pleased? yes, very much so, It is of very good quality, well designed for longevity, comes with excellent instructions, feels good for the job, looks good, and it starts first time-every time. Oh its British made as well, dont dither-buy it."
Review 13 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:20/03/2012
Reviewer: Brianchislehurst
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT PURCHASE
"The Mountfield SP414 came complete with easy to follow assembly instructions. Oil & unleaded petrol added and away it went on the first attempt. Good grass cutting height adjustment and enough umph!! to cut two large lawns....."
Review 14 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:21/03/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Little Mower
"I purchased this mower this morning after a great deal of online research. I have previously had both an electric 'Flymo Hover' and more recently, a self propelled petrol cylinder ‘Suffolk Punch’ which I purchased second hand. My friend had bought an expensive petrol self propelled ‘Honda Rotary’ mower (over £600) about 4 years ago, which I have used regularly to mower her lawns. This ‘Mountfield SP414 Rotary’ can’t be compared to the Honda, as the Honda enjoys greater control over the engines speed and single lever height adjustment. Quite frankly the ‘Honda’ is absolutely fantastic.
I give you this background so that you will understand the type and standard of mowers I have been used to using.
The ‘Suffolk Punch’ almost 30 years old was rusting away with drive problems and had become extremely difficult to start. I decided to buy a replacement petrol, self propelled mower and hoped to spend less than £200. During my research for a new mower I quickly discovered that there were few new mowers under £200 which matched my requirements. As my research had taken a while my lawn grass had grown considerably, not having been cut since last year and deliberately left a long length to discourage weed infestation during the winter.
I was very concerned that the Mountfield SP414 engine, 100 cc developing just 2 HP or 1.55 Kw might not be up to the job of taking on my now, unruly lawns. After all, my friends ‘Honda’ developed 5.5 HP. I considered increasing my budget to £250 but eventually took the plunge for the Mountfield SP414. Having a chronic ‘back’ problem I was very concerned that the mower I bought must start easily and needed to be self propelled. I couldn’t move the ‘Honda’ or the ‘Suffolk Punch’ on grass without the engine running to provide power, so this aspect seemed essential to me. However, I needn’t have worried, the 2 HP engine starts first pull every time and made light work of my lawns, gliding effortlessly over them dealing with the long grass easily. In fact, it is so light and easy to use, I don’t need the self propelled aspect and could have saved myself £50 by buying the Mountfield HP414, hand pushed version of this mower.
I’m delighted with my purchase."
Review 15 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:26/03/2012
Reviewer: greengrass22
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"this is the second mount field i have owned. the first one is still in excellent condition but got to heavy for me. so i bought my present mount field which is self propelled. its much lighter than the old one. gives an excellent cut but the only fault i find that the forward drive is a little to fast for me. as i suffer from chest troubles.
overall i am really pleased with it.
"
Review 16 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:03/04/2012
Reviewer: geoffc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BUY A BOSCH INSTEAD
"Could not return it fast enough. Far too heavy and weght distribution awful (front end lifts too easily). Starting by pull cord is a nightmare-well nigh impossible for a lady.Height adjustment is stiff and is by three levers on three wheels. Modern competitors products use one lever only. A clumsy old fashioned design with an inferior difficult to start petrol motor unit. (Other models of motor units from mountfield are much easier to start )
Try a Bosch Ergoflex Rotak 43 to see how it should be done- excellent and cheaper !!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:11/04/2012
Reviewer: Helen45Newport
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mowers suitable for novices
"Hi I brought this mower beause I have a medium to large lawn and didnt want to have a wire trailing behind me as I cut the lawn. I was a little nervous buying a petrol mower because I thought it would be complicated but its not. I did get my dad to assemble it and it took him about 1 hour and the grass cutting bag was a real pain to put together he struggle to put the bag over the frame but got there in the end. The mower is really easy to handle and the self propelling motion really helps on the inclines. Good purchase really happy with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:30/04/2012
Reviewer: Richjay
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lawnmower
"Excellent piece of machinery, once you've know how to handle it.Its best to make sure the grass bin is emptied frequentley otherwise it can be difficult to start, easy to handle.
Good value for money.
"
Review 19 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:13/05/2012
Reviewer: BigSkyeFaeGourock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So Satisfying
"After much research on petrol mowers and whether self propelled or push, I opted for this model. Just right size for my medium sized and slightly un-even garden. I got it on a 20% off weekend, so the price was amazing, just a few pounds more than I paid for my last electric Flymo.
What a difference, no cable to worry about and so easy to manouever, either with or without the self propelled feature, which you don't have to engage if you don't want to. Assembled in no time at all, the grass box just takes a little common sense. Filled with oil which I got at the same time and saved 20% on that as well, poured in petrol, primed the engine, pulled the cord and away it went first time,
The grass collection is better than my old Flymo, and the steady beat of a petrol engine is more re-assuring and satisfying than the whine of an electric motor. Wish I had taken the plunge years ago.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mountfield SP414 Rotary Lawnmower
Date:14/05/2012
Reviewer: Stuartp
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great lawn mower
"This is a great lawnmower; I bought this at the start of this season and have used it 5 times now. It's easy to assemble, starts first time every time, has a lightweight collection basket and is a joy to use. Simple to change cutting height and very manoeuvrable. Would recommend."
1 2 next>>