Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower

The Mountfield hand propelled push rotary lawnmower comes with a powerful 100cc OHV engine. Equipped with a 39cm cutting width steel blade, the Mountfield HP414 will have your lawn cut in no time. It comes with 5 cutting heights ranging from 25-70mm which enables you to achieve your preferred grass height. Suitable for small to medium sized lawns.
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 of 27(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Review 1 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:26/08/2014
Reviewer: GasGuzzler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower
"Assembly took a few minutes. Filled with fuel & oil (I used a £1.99p household watering can bought in the store) - started and cut grass no problem. Quiet with good capacity. Light enough to lift over borders etc. Great piece of kit."
Review 2 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:30/07/2014
Reviewer: totalnexis
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant lawnmower
"With this being my first petrol lawnmower, I was really impressed on how quick and easy it was to set up, and how well it cuts even quite long and thick grass, and what a nice finish it leaves. It's really nice not to trail a cable anymore.
One thing I would suggest to prospective buyers, is to read through the other reviews here, to give you an idea what's involved in initial setup.
After reading the other reviews, I ensured that I had the right equipment, ie. oil funnel with bendable nozzle, etc, before I bought the lawnmower.
I had none of the problems that the other reviewers had. It was a doddle attaching the handle (attach parts of handle to each other first, then attach to mower), and filling with oil and fuel. Then pumped the fuel bobble a few times, and after a couple of pulls, the engine started without any issues.
Even after standing in the shed for a few days, the engine will start first time around.
Some people complained that the chassis of the mower is plastic. I personally think it looks like a very durable, slightly bendable plastic, so wont' break easily when bumping into obstacles. I also think this makes the mower lighter and therefore easier to manoeuvre; i had a go on an old metal mower, and that was really heavy!
Overall I am really pleased with the product, especially for the price. I would definitely recommend it!"
Review 3 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:03/07/2014
Reviewer: gardener11
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mountfiel hp414
"easy to put together .
filled with oil .
filled tank.
started first time.
cuts like a deam dont know why so many poor reviews on this mower
"
Review 4 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:24/05/2014
Reviewer: cardboardman
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower
"Easy to put together. 10 minutes. They had all items required by the mower in the shop ie oil, 5 litre petrol container and funnels plus a helpful chap. Reviews about oil filler point being to small. Just use a funnel no problems. Started first time no real force required for the pull chord. Its lighter than an equivalent electric with no cable to drag around so very easy to maneuver. I was going to put ear plugs in but its quieter than I thought. Spent years with electric and now kicking myself. Cuts any grass wet or dry long or short and gives a better finish with no hesitation at all unlike even a powerful electric. It really packs the cuttings into the collector so I only emptied it 3 times compared to my electric which was up to 8 to 10. If you are thinking about it, don't, just buy one, you wont regret it. 170 for the mower, 17 for the oil, petrol container and a funnel set, bargain. Stopped on way home and filled the container with petrol about £6, I imagine will last the summer."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:23/05/2014
Reviewer: Splash07
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
"I found this mower a nightmare to put together. The picture in the hand book is to small and some of the parts did not line up. Eventually between two of us it was assembled. Then I tried to put the oil in. I had bought a funnel as suggested on other reviews but it was still a problem filling it up. If you have dexterity problems like me you should have lots of fun putting the grass collector together!!! Once assembled it started first time and made a good job of the grass cutting. I would recommend it to a friend. I have given 3 stars but this is just for its ability to cut grass. Design and ease of assembly need to be addressed hence 2 star deduction.,"
Review 6 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:18/04/2014
Reviewer: Jimmywim
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First petrol mower - outstanding
"This is my first petrol mower, after owning an electric for a long time.
Given the effort required to cut very long grass (~8 inch) with the electric mower, and the effort requried to push it over, this is the best £170 I've ever spent with regards to effort saving. If I had a larger garden I'd probably have streteched to the SP414 model (self-propelled).
You do need to buy oil separately, but there's a large notice on the top of the box to say so, which oil to get and you can buy it from B&Q too.
Speaking of the box, it's really compact, and was able to squeeze into the back seats of my Toyota Aygo without too much effort. The box is 20KG so not too heavy but big enough to be awkward.
Assembly is straight forward, only the handle needs to be put together and bolted on, and the grass collected attached to its frame. The engine is otherwise ready to run once filled with oil and fuel.
I'd suggest you get some funnels with long spouts to make it easier to get the oil in though, the filler hole is quite well hidden.
To start it required a bit of effort to begin with to get enough fuel through the system, but once it's started once it's extremely easy to start again (keep the engine well maintained and I imagine it'll always remain easy to start).
In short - if you find cutting grass bit of a chore with an electric mower, get this and you will not be disappointed. Cutting the grass becomes quite satisfying once again."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:01/04/2014
Reviewer: Jazzeboo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says it does.
"Easy to put together! easy to use!
A little flimsy perhaps in a few places, but if you want something stronger then spend more. Cuts the grass as it should and collects the grass cuttings. easy to change cutting heights. For the price it does it's job.
"
Review 8 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:12/11/2013
Reviewer: donaldinio
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Mower
"this is a great mower i worked as a landscape gardener and always used industial mowers (Etisia) which were very good but also very expensive!! so when i moved job and my Etisia gave up i purchased the Mountfield HP414 and even at this time of the year i am very very impressed with it, assembly is very easy 2screws and 2 nuts and bolts, the only bad point is like everyone else says the oil filler is very akward but puchased a little funnel and it was easy, filled it with petril and it stared on first pull! GREAT"
Review 9 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:06/10/2013
Reviewer: smurf
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Had this nearly a year now and still starts first time every time would really happy with it"
Review 10 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:12/08/2013
Reviewer: DIYROY
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value Mower
"I was looking at larger petrol mowers costing much more. But having reviewed thi item online I was also going to opt for the SP self- propelled version. However, a friend had this HP model and a quick demo told me that the SP version was not required.
It is easy to push and started first time and collected the grass unlike my old hover mower that collects very little and deposits most of the grass on the path, patio and flower boarders.
Downsides the manual and how to put the item together is in very small print and needs to be larger - took a little while to fathom out the diagram and the parts. Putting the grass box together with the clip on material collector was to be honest a real pain. The oil filler is in an awkward place and one really needs a flexible funnel to pour the oil.
Be careful with the oil fill cap and the petrol cap they are easy to cross thread take your time and feel them on into the correct position.
The extended 3 or 5 year guarantee warranty seems to exclude more than it covers so am undecided whether it is worth the money - if one is handy with the tools then I suspect it is not worth it and at this price you would consider buying a new one. Overall a good buy for the small to largish lawn."
Review 11 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:05/07/2013
Reviewer: HappyAngler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really Chuffed
"I’ve always used an electric mower until it broke down and I had to use my daughter’s petrol mower I was so impressed because it was so effortless, and not having to worry about where the electric cable was. I decided to get one of my own I went on line and see the Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower advertised on the B& Q web site that I thought might be what I was looking for. It turned out to be exactly that, so excuse the pun it’s a cut above my old electric mower."
Review 12 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:16/06/2013
Reviewer: SpudfromBham
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really pleased
"Bought this to replace my 11 year old Mountfield and its great ! Easy to assemble, starts on 1st attempt, quieter than the old one and really packs the grass into the grass box. Only down side is filling with oil is a bit fiddly but then, you only need to do that once."
Review 13 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:02/06/2013
Reviewer: Ozzy1
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase
"We bought this petrol mower after much thought.......got it home put it together, found it difficult to fill with oil thanks to a inappropriately placed oil components, found it difficult to screw and unscrew oil cap, difficult to see oil cap, the lawnmower started in 30 seconds, ran for 10 seconds and now pull cord keeps getting jammed, plenty oil in mower, plenty of petrol, we unlocked pull cord as per customer line advice, but exactly the same problem occurred. I will be seeking a refund and will not purchase this brand of mower again..........Glad others have had success with this mower, but sadly we cannot say the same."
Review 14 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:28/05/2013
Reviewer: Gasmandh
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Functional Lawnmower
"We have a 20m x 10m lawn. I needed a cheap functional mower. This does the job. Engine started easily with 6 month old fuel, easy to operate."
Review 15 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:19/05/2013
Reviewer: footballer60
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
supermower
"when l purchased this product l knew it would be a great buy as having a Mountfield mower in the past.
l was pleasantly surprised how better its become.the 4 stroke engine makes cutting the grass so easy and quiet.l am very pleased with my purchase.
"
Review 16 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:07/05/2013
Reviewer: glo123
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good little mower
"does all i wanted it to do!
could have the oil filler in a different place cos not easy to fill from the side!!
"
Review 17 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:30/04/2013
Reviewer: Lawn1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have to say this is a really great lawn mower. I have had it about a year now, it has never let me down, I have a large lawn, but this mower keeps on going. It leaves a lovely finish which looks really nice. It starts first time, every time, even after a 6 month period of not being used. Would recommend it to anyone, great value, great mower, great quality."
Review 18 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:15/04/2013
Reviewer: Pepperty
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reasonable Budget Petrol Mower
"I have had a Mountfield Emblem lawnmower for the last fifteen years and it has served me well, but has become temperamental in starting. I wanted another Mountfield and was delighted to find this budget model in my price range. It certainly isn't built as well as my old Emblem. The height of the mower is adjusted at each individual wheel instead of one lever to adjust the chassis. Its fairly easy to do, but it means stopping the mower every time, when you need variable heights. There is no choke, could be interesting in the cold weather.
Assembly was fairly straightforward but I have a few comments that may help future buyers.
When putting the handles into the body of the mower you do need to push them in quite hard to get the screw holes to line up. I am always loathe to force things for fear of breakage, so this took me a while to achieve.
Attaching the rest of the handle is quite difficult if you are assembling this alone. Ideally a second person is needed to support the handle while tightening up the bolts. I had to lay the handle forwards across the engine, attach the bolts and just start tightening the nuts, then straighten up the handle to tighten the nuts fully.
Filling the mower with oil is a complete nightmare. The opening to the reservoir is almost at a 90° angle and tucked under the engine. A funnel would not fit. I found some silicone tubing to attach to the funnel, but this still wasn't very satisfactory. You really do need a funnel with a long, flexible, outlet. I managed to get as much oil on the outside of the mower as I got into it!
The mower started first time and I proceeded to cut my lawn. I have a very uneven, lumpy lawn and I found the mower cut the lawn okay, but the wheels are quite flimsy and kept getting stuck in the ruts. This made the job hard going and I wish I'd paid a little more for the self propelled model.
Compared to my Emblem (which whizzed around the lawn with little effort), this mower if far inferior, but at the price I don't suppose I should expect anything more.
"
Review 19 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:09/04/2013
Reviewer: doobs67
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
allotment carer
"i have rather a large allotment with grass paths. this does a perfect job"
Review 20 for Mountfield HP414 Push Rotary Lawnmower
Date:19/07/2012
Reviewer: weemanfishing
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower for the money.
"I just bought this mower yesterday from my local B&Q. Built it up within 20 minutes this morning.Filled the oil tank,filled the petrol tank,pulled the cord,and hey presto,started first pull.No coughing,no spluttering,and fairly quiet!! The deck is plastic, but very tough,AND it gives a perfect finish."
1 2 next>>