Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower

The Rotak 43 Ergoflex electric lawnmower is lightweight, highly efficient and easy to operate. The Ergoflex system is ergonomically designed for effortless control, easy manoeuvrability and to relieve strain on critical groups of muscles and joints. The multi-position handle has a soft-grip surface which sits perfectly in the hand. It can be operated by one or two hands, with 8 different grip positions for comfort and easy operation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
22
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
78 of 82(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Review 1 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:13/03/2013
Reviewer: Kevin717
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great lawnmower
"Have only used this a few times so far, but an excellent product, sounds like a powerful motor, and feels like one too as had to give the lawn it's first cut after Winter and powered through the long stuff, no stalling."
Review 2 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:17/10/2012
Reviewer: refnac
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent mains lawnmower
"Having tried a smaller version I am delighted with the Rotak 43, not only is it easy to use and cuts well it's also an excellent leaf collector."
Review 3 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:14/10/2012
Reviewer: Twobelts
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Much Better
"Having tried a Flymo 360 something and been totally disappointed with it i paid the extra and got this beasty, what a difference, it does exactly what it's supposed to do! Went over the lawns again a day after doing them with the Flymo and had to empty the grass box one and a bit times!! The lawn now looks far better and i didn't even go over them on the lowest setting. Only 'fault' i can comment on is the mains lead isn't flexible enough, minor point but it makes a difference when you come to wind the lead up after use, which is why i can't give it the full five stars."
Review 4 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:02/10/2012
Reviewer: Sazboss
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy
"Excellent lawn mower. Previously had a flymo and very pleased we upgraded to this...good to have different cut heights."
Review 5 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:08/09/2012
Reviewer: BeeAndQueue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elderly Gent baffled again . . .
"This mower is seriously good. It chewed its way through some badly neglected grass which had got left because of the unseasonable weather this year. It shot the grass into the collecting box very well, but because of the rank growth needed emptying quite often. It was easy to assemble, though in general I do not get on very well with instructions which show arrows and the word “click”. It was quite hard work getting the self tapping screws to go in at the base of the handles, but this may be because I am not as young as once I was.
I thought the grass box was going to be very flimsy, but it seems to work in practice. It needs to be fitted together carefully, then given a good bang in all the right places. Owing to its shape – it has a deepish “sump” - it is slightly awkward to empty, but I can live with that.
The most embarrassing thing – but it might embarrass other people too – was that having got it all assembled I simply could not get it going. I tested the long extension lead supplied and that was serviceable, so eventually went next door to my electrician friend. I explained my trouble, and added that I found it very difficuly to turn the mower blade and perhaps there was something wrong internally. He pressed the switchery and the mower whirred into life. It all depends on the order in which you press the switches – so don't be put off – keep switching folks. And, said he, “I think modern mowers are fitted with a brake”. So that put me in my place.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:08/09/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bosch Rotak 43 Lawnmower
"It is only lightweight if you are fit and healthy not if you are elderly and have arthritis in your hands. I needed help from my wife to assemble it.
Instructions are self explanatory but could be clearer.
It took me 1 hour to assemble.
Once assembled a joy to use.
"
Review 7 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:31/08/2012
Reviewer: MrAndyT
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A decent lawnmower
"lightweight and manoeuvrable, just what you want to cut the grass in a short a time as possible.
I wish the battery version wasn't almost triple the price, if it was an extra £50, I would have went for it instead.
"
 
My Product Recommendations
Bosch PMF 180 E All Rounder Set
4.3 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 8 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:31/08/2012
Reviewer: cristabel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Initial Review
"Having purchased the product last week,I have used it twice only - once on the front lawn and once on the rear, Eacth lawn approx 350 sq,m,
The height adjustment was simple and the cut good.
The mower is manouevrable and simple to operate."
Review 9 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:31/08/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Super Mower
"The Rotak 43 Ergoflex electric lawnmower was purchased as a replacement for an aging flymo.
What a diofference
Large garden mown to perfection in half the time compared to Flymo.
The cut is far superior and the mower takes the cut right up to the lawn edge -superb!
Only down side is that I no longer have the ability to suck up loose grass and leaves as with Flymo.
Quick lawn rake is all that's necessary.
Light ,easy to use and a superb cutting machine-definitely recommend
"
Review 10 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:31/08/2012
Reviewer: Mantamad
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOSCH ERGOFLEX 43
"I bought this mower as I have medium sized gardens to the front and rear, and my smaller Flymo was not really up to the job. It was on it's way out to be fair after having a good innings, it's just that my new garden certainly finished it off. I have just moved into my new house and both front and back gardens were a little overgrown. Once assembled which took very little time at all, I found the mower to be quite light for it's size - a small lady may struggle, but the size of the blade and it's sharpness made light work for me as a medium built Gent. I have never owned a Bosch but the mainly positive reviews and good pricing of this mower made it attrractive to me. I am so pleased I bought this as the powerful motor makes light work of my semi jungle garden which is now looking much nicer and manageable! It has reduced the time it takes to mow and also with the height adjustment lever on the side it is certainly convenient to use. It also gets closer to the edges but not right up alongside the walls, so the trimmer is still required. Well recommend this mower to anyone."
Review 11 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:28/08/2012
Reviewer: MrIanB
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very happy with purchase
"Had my eye on a rotak for a few months now (eternal procrastinator!)
At 25% off, it was too good to refuse - and then I realised my B&Q Club discount would apply so got a further 20% off. (A few others had the same idea as the reserve and collect 'cage' was full of these the morning I collected! Mind you, at £111 instead of £189 it;s understandable!)
Only a few parts to put together so you'll be up and running in no time. The grass box goes together quickly and putting the handle on is a breeze. As another reviewer noted, the screws holding the lower part of the handle to the mower body are self tapping so require a bit of pressure to get them fully in, but at least you know they're secure.
The height adjustment is a simple lever and easy to adjust.
The motor is nice and quiet and the roller leaves a noticeable stripe. Grass collection was first rate, with no raking required afterwards.
The quick release for folding the handle is a nice touch.
One downside is the lack of anywhere on the mower to store the cable, but that's the only negative I can think of."
Review 12 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:22/08/2012
Reviewer: Bobby0109
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bosch mower Rotak 43
"An excellent mower, don't set too low or it will dig the lawn for you! It is much more substantially made than the Rotak 32 which we recently bought for our church but the grass box still seems a little flimsy."
Review 13 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:22/08/2012
Reviewer: granp
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best mower i've had
"what a great mower.so easy to use,works a treat.much much better than the hover it replaced.and the price i got it for makes it all the more an exceptional product.i would recommend it 100%"
Review 14 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:20/08/2012
Reviewer: Leflic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bosch Rotak 43 rotary lawnmower
"Very light, with carrying handle built in. First time I mowed my lawn with this I got stripes! Cut height is adjustable by pulling a lever. Flymo you need a spanner and lots of effort to change this.
Much easier to handle and carry than my old flymo. I have lower back problems so having a mower with wheels makes it easy to get out and put away. One little niggle, no built in cable storage, flymo scores on this point. But for ease of use and light weight this wins hands down! I actually want to mow the lawn, it's not just another chore.
"
Review 15 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:16/08/2012
Reviewer: Waverley
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Notch Bosch
"The mower parts had to be assembled, grass box and the fixings to the mower . In my experience it was easier to have the mower at table height, easier to see where everything fitted. Used the mower a couple of times now and I am pleased with the excellent results. The lawn has never looked so well groomed."
Review 16 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:14/08/2012
Reviewer: Quotidian
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grass guzzler
"After much research and consideration bought this mower to replace an existing self-propelled petrol mower which was making very heavy weather of the wet and soggy ground we have this 'summer'. We have a large rough and bumpy patch of grass and I was concerned that this machine would not cope with it. However some of the reviews led me to believe it worth a go.
Easy to assemble, light and manoeuvrable and attacked the overlong wet grass with gusto. It fairly packs the grass into the grass box - could do with some mechanism to warn when the box is full other than the motor protesting.
The plastic is light and flexible, but has proved to be robust in use.
Overall well designed and constructed, does the job well and without fuss."
Review 17 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:12/08/2012
Reviewer: greensleeve1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy mower
"Easy to assemble, light to lift compared with it's predecessor and efficient in operation with one touch adjustment and a voluminous grass box. So far so good - it makes my mowing a lot easier. Quality seems fine and handle folds easily. A little suspicious that it could be more robust but that's just my cautious nature for the most part> the edge cutting view and tool works well. Very manoeuvrable too. Price very good at B&Q especially with oldie discount card."
Review 18 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:11/08/2012
Reviewer: MrsFussypot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bosch Rotak 43
"I have decking & flowerbeds as well as wooden trellises around the garden.This lawnmower is the bees knees.Simple to use & the special feature of the side cutter is sensational, cuts right up to the edges.No need for a strimmer or shears anymore.My garden is large & it took me less than 35 minutes to mow with only4 grassboxes to empty. Go grab yourself 1 now whilst you can. Brilliant product I cannot praise it highly enough.You will not be disappointed."
Review 19 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:11/08/2012
Reviewer: Purplegran
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best choice this year
"The mower is light and easy to use. I find the two/ four switches so much easier as I have very little use in my right hand, this mower with its four different handholds is brilliant. If you are about to buy a new mower I recommend this one."
Review 20 for Bosch Rotak 43 Ergoflex Electric Rotary Lawnmower
Date:11/08/2012
Reviewer: Pozzofondo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great lawn cutter - light and easy to use
"I bought the 43cm to replace an old model 40cm which gave me good service and which I rated highly. The motor burnt out because I failed to keep the airways clear of cuttings so I blame myself not the Bosch.
The new model is easier to manoeuvre with the improved design of the handle bars and the safety switch is also of improved design being much more positive in action and easier to hold on as there are two switches, one for each hand in place of the single switch of the old model.
The grass box does not have the red flap indicator to show the box is full which seems a backward move. However otherwise the box is identical to the old one so I still have my indicator. If you don't check then eventually the machine trails the cuttings on the lawn for you to see which doesn't suggest positive design thought.
You have to remember that it will only cut well if the cutter blade is sharp then you get an even cut with neat stripes. So don't go over hard sharp objects, keep the blade sharp or replace if damaged. Lastly keep the airways clear or accept the consequences! Overall this is a great machine with ample power. It nearly makes cutting the grass a pleasure.
"
1 2 3 4 next>>