Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Flymo Sabrecut Cordless Hedge Trimmer

Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flymo Sabrecut Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for Flymo Sabrecut Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:24/07/2012
Reviewer: Cassander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good buy
"This hedge trimmer is ideal for people with tall and / or wide hedgerow type boundaries. The battery is quite heavy, but sits comfortably round your waist and leaves your hands free to wield the pole of the trimmer at all kinds of heights and angles.
It's easy to operate once you get the hang of it, and the blades can tackle a range of hedgerow plants including thick brambles.
"
Review 2 for Flymo Sabrecut Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:15/02/2012
Reviewer: labrat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this product because it is battery operated and very portable. Battery is heavy but not too much of a problem for me. Am very pleased with overall performance. However, a bit alarmed at the way it bends when using extended to its fullest extent (only about 12"/14" extra) when using sweeping motion to trim hedge, can see a problem latter if not used very slowly in extended mode. Despite this I am very pleased with my purchase. Furthermore,I was unaware there are attachments that can be purchased for this item and will certainly be adding one or two latter."
Review 3 for Flymo Sabrecut Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:08/08/2011
Reviewer: Vijay
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin...
"I used it to trim some bushes and hedges. We were at it for approx 2 hours (my Wife was directing traffic so it did take a while!) and the battery was just fine.
It wasn't that heavy but then I had gone into my local B&Q to get a feel for it so knew what to expect.
I'd say it's a trimmer, not a 'cutter' so be realistic and don't expect it to replace your old chain-saw...
The only reason I didn't rate this as 'Excellent' is that for £100 (although I paid £85 as I found a 15% off voucher!) I would have liked the extending pole to be slightly longer."
Review 4 for Flymo Sabrecut Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:18/07/2011
Reviewer: Robeus1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sabrecut
"Found the sabrecut verstile and adequate enough for fairly large branches and difficult to reach areas"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flymo Sabrecut Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:12/07/2011
Reviewer: RedAcer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it said on the box
"Worked well. Battery pack on included waist band takes the weight of the machine making it much lighter to wield around. Getting cutter unit to stay in its holder on the wall can be a challenge."
Review 6 for Flymo Sabrecut Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:26/06/2011
Reviewer: ggownerx2
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disapointing garden tool
"Had the Sabre Cut Hedge Trimmer bought for me. Didn't use it straight away got it out recently and charged as per instructions everything worked fine.
the 1st time.
placed it back on charge. was charging for 2 days but when I went to cut the conifer hedge again it died on me. Have charged and recharged several times but doesn't work so now having to contact Flymo regarding this product.
whether it is the connection to the battery pack I don't know . It does seem a little loose but product doesn't work when held in place either.
cord from hedge cutter to the charger is also too tightly curl and may be the reason the connection is not tight as it seems to move the plug out as soon as you try and hold the hedge trimmer up to turn on and use. So I have rated this a poor but will see if flymo can change my mind after contacting them. perhaps this is just a faulty one.Battery pack is also extremely heavy for one person to carry and cut at the same time.
"
Review 7 for Flymo Sabrecut Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:08/06/2011
Reviewer: standoff
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my new hedge cutter
"I can now cut my hedge in the time it took me to get out my cable and ladders. I can reach the top of my hedge without ladders and the permanent charge means I dont have to wait for the battery to charge up. A great acquisition to my range of Flymo products."
Review 8 for Flymo Sabrecut Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Date:02/05/2011
Reviewer: Pondman
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than petrol
"Having used a powerful petrol hegetrimmer for years, I was sceptical of the power and cutting ability of a rechargeable electric machine. I needn't have worried. The charge lasts longer than I needed to cut, and the blades make short work of old wood (I've tried up to 1cm). The ability to lengthen the shaft and then angle the blade makes getting a level trim on the top of a 2.5m hedge simple. Make sure that the two pieces are joined up to the line on the shaft, or it is difficult to disengage the two sections after use. The battery pack compares to the weight of a petrol engine, but as it is strapped securely to the waist of the user, the whole trimmer is much easier to use than a petrol machine, and safer than using an electric cord."