Product Reviews

Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange

The KS890ECN 400w Scorpion® powered handsaw from Black & Decker® cuts time and cuts effort. The multifunctional Scorpion® has both powered handsaw and jigsaw modes making it perfect for straight line or curved cuts. Fingertip variable speed control for safe and accurate cutting and tool-free push button blade change system for hassle free DIY. Capable of cutting wood, metal and plastic, the Scorpion is incredibly versatile. 3 saw blades included.
Average Customer Rating:
3.939 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
27 of 33(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Review 1 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:11/04/2014
Reviewer: diyagain
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good product at good price, cheapest around. Had one before and needed new one for large area of decking I wanted to put down, so much cutting of deck boards, worked very well reduced the time to do the job by half."
Review 2 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:09/04/2014
Reviewer: brum59
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value for money.
"This is a very useful addition For anyone who does a lot of d.i.y. Simple to use and many extra functions ie cutting wood ,metal and plastic in both saw mode and jigsaw mode.
Easy to use and well made, It is used to cut up larger wood for use on a wood burning stove.
I am very very pleased with this purchase as it saves a lot of hard work. Its a hacksaw,chainsaw, and a combination of wood saws and so so much more
Brilliant item highly recommended.
"
Review 3 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:07/04/2014
Reviewer: Gimlet
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
"Excellent product.
Instructions are a little long-winded, but the saw itself is a fantastic tool."
Review 4 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:31/03/2014
Reviewer: jaceyar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inexpensive useful power tool
"Saw this onthe B&Q website, read other reviews and decided to buy it. Bought it to hard prune several trees in the garden. It worked very well on most branches, just taking a bit longer on much thicker trunks/branches. Recommended."
Review 5 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:06/03/2014
Reviewer: dunshirab
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"best purchase ever, easy to use. I have cut the top off the posts of my fence which are 3ins by 3ins, I marked out the cuts and followed the lines, simple, perfect cut."
Review 6 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:04/03/2014
Reviewer: steading
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"bought for wrong reason thinking it would be good crosscut but did not come up to my expectation's
needs a blade with bite.
"
Review 7 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:01/12/2013
Reviewer: DIYMinx
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish I'd had one years and years ago!!!
"This is a fantastic bit of kit. I've had it for about 2 years now after buying it to top some conifers which until then I'd been doing with a hand-saw which wasn't easy. When I got this I couldn't believe how good it was - I was able to cut 4" branches and trunks with it - yes it took a bit of time to go through, probably about 60-120 seconds in total, but it really made it much easier and I could do it 1 handed, rather than have to use both to put sufficient pressure on a standard saw. Since then I've used it for all sorts of gardening work including cutting some thick branches off a large willow when I was 30ft in the air! It is a great tool and if my bust I'd go out and buy another straight away. The only thing that beats it is a chainsaw but no way am I dangling 30ft up a tree with one!!!"
Review 8 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:07/09/2013
Reviewer: spec1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Superb tool.Does everything you need in one piece of kit. .I used it to cut a hedge down and it made it so easy. and I am over 70 ,! Not yet used metal blade but if it is as good as the wood one then no problem. The price I paid was discounted to £35 but even the full price is good value Definately recommend this as "THE SAW" to have."
Review 9 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:28/08/2013
Reviewer: jomoz
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw Point!
"I bought this when on offer at £34.95 which was a big saving over the £59.99 list price and was a replacement for my 7 year old green bodied model which had bitten the dust. I can't think of a more versatile tool to have as it cuts through metal, plastic or wood with its 3 blades. It does vibrate a bit so care must be taken to use for no more than a few minutes at a time and it has a design flaw where the blade holder snaps off on its holding pins, but this shouldn't happen for a few years out of warranty!"
Review 10 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:23/08/2013
Reviewer: tandq
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cheap and OK
"at £35 very reasonable. Cuts big branches OK, but vibrates extremely heavily - almost painful. But does the job."
Review 11 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:11/08/2013
Reviewer: Daddy1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
versa-tool...!
"great product...really versatile, I can not believe I have gone so many years without one. If you are in the trade, sure you might not want to be seen with a Black & Decker but this is great. Blade comes off real easy, and so folds up half the size."
Review 12 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:09/08/2013
Reviewer: Dazapps
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handy DIY Tool
"This is a fairly good tool to aid in cutting various materials with the blades provided. Saving time cutting by hand"
Review 13 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:31/07/2013
Reviewer: malcy991
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK, but instructions a bit basic
"Instructions are mostly pictures. BEWARE that the mount spindle for the blade needs to be in correct rotary position depending on which mode is used for the saw is used. Regular saw mode V scroll saw mode. Mount spindle is rotated using a screwdriver. If this is incorrect, blade mounting is impossible. Otherwise, does what it says on the box."
Review 14 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:28/05/2013
Reviewer: me2000
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant
"I bought this to cut down parts of a willow tree and cut wood to re-roof my shed, I am over 60 and this is the most brilliant DIY tool I have ever owned, it has three cutting blades, one for timber (like a manual saw), jigsaw and a blade for metal. This is easy to use with simple instructions and was man enough for everything I had to do"
Review 15 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:02/05/2013
Reviewer: TiGeR66
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product
"it did what it said on the box, excellent quality made a hard job so much easier. Was on offer when i purchased it but would have happily paid the full price."
Review 16 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:24/04/2013
Reviewer: AD1569
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good saw for the sale price
"Seen these saws for a while but held off buying one until it was on sale. It is a good saw for light work, especially in the garden where the short blades make for easy use in a confined space. It's quick and easy to change blades but dreading when one breaks as the replacements tend to be pricey. I wouldn't use it for anything you were worried about the finish but for general sawing its great. The power lead is a little short for my tastes but maybe that is a health and safety thing. So if you don't want to saw everything manually its a good saw to have in your tool shed."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:17/03/2013
Reviewer: Veejay
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makes cutting easier
"It made cutting our tree branches much easier than using a non electric saw"
Review 18 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:30/08/2012
Reviewer: DarthVader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
frustrating
"from new the saw blade fitting did not feel positive. after some use I find that the blade drops out in use. Very frustrating on a long job. I'm getting something else from another mfr."
Review 19 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:22/03/2012
Reviewer: Humun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good Saw
"Purchased a Scorpian some yyears ago and liked it very much. Unfortunately it was stolen last year. When I went to replace it late last year I saw what I thought was an equivalevt--THE mac ALISTER. what a mistake! The blades are difficuly to fit and ae very thick in comparison to the scorpian. the blades are not stable and wander about making cutting a staight line very difficult. The Scorpian is a much better tool."
Review 20 for Black & Decker Scorpion Saw Orange
Date:11/02/2012
Reviewer: Braethedug
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed
"bought a Black and Decker as I thought it would be of good quality. Was very disappointed when I realised that the blade would not fit. Not sure if it was the blade or the actual saw but although the blade slipped into where it should go there was no way it would let me turn the safety catch to ensure it would stay on. Returned it today and bought a different make."
1 2 next>>