Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander

Ideal for: the fast and efficient removal of materials ranging from wood to metal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Review 1 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:10/09/2014
Reviewer: wpho
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ok sander for price
"perfectly serviceable and does the job
BUT
could do with a greater variation in speed and the dust bag only retains some dust - loads comes through the bag material - which is a serious design flaw"
Review 2 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:09/09/2014
Reviewer: harryhomediy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Quality Tool
"I bought this sander to sand down a table and chairs, as well as a finishing sander for other projects, and i'm very pleased with it. It certainly saved me a lot of manual sanding! Before and after pictures attached. Now to the review:
Size & Power: I think it's an ideal size, it's got enough power to sand larger surfaces (i.e. table top) very quickly, and small enough to do intricate areas. Unlike a mouse shaped sander it's quite hard to get into corners though, and as a result you will use the end area of the sander more and tear the paper quickly -- this is because it's not made for that. On flat surfaces it is aweseome!
For heavy material removal (i.e. paint stripping) I would get a belt sander, but with coarse paper, then fine paper, a really good finish can be achieved with this. If you're using a really high grit number you can even use it for a really fine finish without removing loads of material. I may even dare to do this between paint applications.
Holepunch: The hole punch works great on all papers I have tried (including the tough wet & dry type), just position it over the sander, lay on a flat surface, and push down. I think it's a real bonus that you can use any sand paper and fit it within a minute. You're not limited to expensive shapes or sticky-backed stuff. I had absolutely no problems fitting normal sheets cut in thirds, then hole punching them and fitting them. It's really a job done within a minute.
Dustbox: I'd also like to correct a different review, the dust collection box is oval when you clip it to the sander itself, but the dust collector itself can be un-locked to leave a round opening a vacuum cleaner could be connected to. I haven't tried this however. Having said that, don't expect there to be no dust just because there is a dust collector. No sander will collect everything as it won't all go up the holes underneath, and sanding is a dusty job! Before applying paint or varnish you will always need to clean the surface thoroughly.
My only criticism of the sander would be that the power "on-lock" releases quite easily, or releases slightly and as a consequence runs at a reduced power. However it's a very practical feature when sanding for a longer time. It's also got a variable speed option, but I generally just used it at the highest power level.
I bought the sander for £43 in store, which included the hole punch and some sanding sheets (which weren't of great quality), but the sander itself is really solidly built, has a nice feel, and at 5 years warranty I think it's a great buy! There are cheaper options out there, but I'm glad I paid the money for a quality product. I'm impressed JCB!"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:24/06/2014
Reviewer: culy30
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made, very efficient
"Replaced a Black & Decker 1/3 sheet sander after 20 years service. This JCB sander is heaveir dury and more powerful. I paid £50 in store. The sandpaper provided is pretty hopeless. Get some decent Oakley Liberty Green on a roll."
Review 4 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:09/06/2014
Reviewer: RHP01
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just the job
"Bought this sander to replace a smaller palm sander. Easy to fix sanding paper, easy to use and good consistent finish. Did what i needed well. Also had the option to reserve and buy which could have saved a wasted trip."
Review 5 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:01/05/2014
Reviewer: SANDYBOY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended
"Used today for first time. Does job very well and not too heavy. Variable speed is useful and dust collector a must! If it continues to work and has no mechanical problems, it is a brilliant sander! They might have given you sheets a cm longer to make them easier to fit!"
Review 6 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:07/04/2014
Reviewer: SteveTheSailor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid kit
"Purchased early March 2014 for a woodworking project. So far it has performed well and appears to be solidly built. The dust bag collects most of the fine sawdust, keeping the work area clean. Unlike many other 1/3rd sheet sanders this one needs the full cross sheet length to get under the clips, don't trim the end of a 1/3rd sheet when cutting up a whole sheet or it will be too short. The hole punch works well, but needs a good hard push to penetrate coarse sanding sheets."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:25/03/2014
Reviewer: Noah472
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid Sander
"Got one of these to replace an old black and decker after smoking it sanding a coffee table. Its great, has a good weight to it and sands quickly. The hole punch is pretty hard work when using hook and loop sandpaper but a bit of perseverance and it gets there! For the price its hard to beat, has a 5 year guarantee too!"
Review 8 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:20/01/2014
Reviewer: ChrisP601
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product, good value
"Great value product, very powerful and made quick work of sanding down a wooden kitchen work surface that needs re-oiling. Not too noisy. The bag fits onto an oval shape though, so couldn't get my vacuum cleaner to attach as some reviews have suggested"
Review 9 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:25/10/2013
Reviewer: Paula99
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty Good
"Whilst I am pleased with its performance, I had to exchange my first one after one use. The switch lock kept sticking in the ON position so I had to switch on and off by the wall switch."
Review 10 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:15/10/2013
Reviewer: APayingCustomer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
"I was wary about buying what to me was a strange brand. OK, JCB if I wanted a digger but ...
It ticks all the boxes and more.
An undocumented feature:
Remove the dust bag from the frame and you will most likely find that you can attach a vacuum hose to the now circular outlet.
Having just sanded down filler on a plaster wall (to a very good smooth finish), I can honestly say that there was virtually no dust in the room thanks to attaching a vacuum by the method above.
"
Review 11 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:11/10/2013
Reviewer: Anniiee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little workhorse
"I've been very impressed with this sander.
I have a whole house to sand the walls of. Our old sander gave up the ghost after 3 hours. I needed a sander for the next day and the one we had decided on from Screwfix was out of stock. So we searched the internet again and came across this one. For the price I wasn't expecting an awful lot, but for the warranty and the price I thought we'd give it a go and if it wasn't any good we could return it. Well it has not disappointed. So far I've sanded 3 bedrooms and the hall stairs and landing and it hasn't batted an eyelid.
No over-heating when I've worked for hours a day. I'm a woman and don't find this too heavy to work with. A sturdy built unit. Good hand holds. It seems to glide over the surface when switched on. The instructions to get it set up were very clear.
I've read loads of reviews and they all complain about dust extraction whatever the brand, so for the work I'm doing I can't imagine that any other sander would be better or worse on this. It's a dusty job!
I like the fact that you can use both types of sanding sheet (clamp and Velcro) and make holes on unpunched sheets. The sanding sheets provided with the unit last very well. But please could it use more standard holed sheets, my only gripe, but I've bought whole sheets to use with this and I'll make the holes with the hole punch provided.
Now JCB I then decided to buy a detail sander to get into some tight spaces, and I would have automatically bought your one if it had had a little bag to collect the dust instead of having to be attached to a vacuum cleaner. Instead I bought another make. Please please please JCB add a little bag to the detail sander to give us a choice how we use it, as I think your products are fab."
Review 12 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:02/10/2013
Reviewer: easytime
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great machine.........
"Wish I had bought one of these years ago and this JCB model is so light and easy to use, it's a breeze.
Used it to sand wallboards that had been filled in preparation for lining paper and painting and it worked beautifully.
Nice easy to use clamp system for sandpaper and come with a stamp to cut out holes in ordinary sandpaper for use with this machine.... great.
Now finishing off sanded floorboards and skirting.
Can't praise it enough."
Review 13 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:24/09/2013
Reviewer: fortysomething
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid construction, great performance
"I bought this JCB sander after trying to buy a Ryobi / Makita, and finding it difficult to source from several B&Q's, also bearing in mind that the Ryobi sanding sheets seem difficult to find.
I plumped for this sander because it has a 5year warranty, which is hard to find these days, and the base is aluminium, plus it has variable speed, and the cord is very long.
Sanding performance is extremely impressive, the variable speed is extremely useful for lightly sanding plaster after it has been filled on walls prior to hanging lining paper. It also made short work of adding a key for a solid pine door prior to priming. It's quiet, and not too heavy either, my wife is able to use it on the walls as well, and it is comfortable to use. The dust extraction works well too, as long as you don't hold it vertical with the bag facing down, as the motor will suck out the dust and make a nice fog in your room. Will definitely buy JCB again.
"
Review 14 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:31/07/2013
Reviewer: Smudger444
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Orbital Sander
"This 230v 260watt JCB Sander was a lovely surprise to use, No where near the vibration my older sander suffered.
The variable speed set means you can reduce the Orbital rotations according to the job your doing.
Its high 13,000rpm gives a better finish when required.
Supplied in the box is a variation of grits, and a useful HolePunch, and Vacuum Bag.
With an easy sandpaper install mechanism and the 5yr warante its a brilliant product to use.
"
Review 15 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:17/05/2013
Reviewer: Poorbuthappy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good choice
"Easy to use and fit with sandpaper. Light but adept at its job."
Review 16 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:27/03/2013
Reviewer: pennypincher
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OUTSTANDING PRODUCT
"Build quality is a more than a match for the other sanders on display in B&Q and the 5 year guarantee really clinched it for me
I have used this extensively for sanding wood and removing old tile adhesive off walls and can thoroughly recommend it
Easy to fit sand paper and a dream to use!
"
Review 17 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:09/01/2013
Reviewer: happyladyDIYer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
"I used this sander to sand walls, skirting and doors and found it eay to use and very lightweight. The best bit was that you do not have to buy the more expensive ready holed sandpaper. You can use ordianary sandpaper that clamps on to the machine - there is a plastic part that fits over this that makes holes in the sandpaper to match the machine's dust extaction holes, where the dust is taken through to the dust extraction bag."
Review 18 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:03/01/2013
Reviewer: neilv
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Excellent Buy
"The reserve and collect service takes all the doubt out of shopping and I will use it again.
I like the sander and the solid yet compact design. It is very easy to load the paper and the dust extraction bag fits my vacuum extractor like a glove.
A very well deserved 5 Start rating.
"
Review 19 for JCB 260W 1/3 Sheet Sander
Date:16/02/2012
Reviewer: dealornodeal123
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JCB 1/3 sheet sander 260W
"Brought this power sander to replace one brought previously. Excellent product, very lightweight and does the job that its supposed to do. Used to sand walls.and skirting boards. I am glad I purchased this product ."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.