Product Reviews

Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film

Use secondary glazing film to create a double glazing effect to keep heat in, saving you energy and money. 6 sq.metres covers 4 windows approx 4'6" x 3'0" 13.7cm x 9.14mm.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
Review 1 for Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
Date:11/10/2013
Reviewer: Edmund13
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shabby state
"Sounds like a good product but no recommendations for the state I collected the preordered product. I took it because I needed it urgently.
But has since been unable to use it because the contents were incomplete.
The product was delivered in a state and when opened it had no tape which was meant to be included.
Very disappointing B&Q."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
Date:11/03/2013
Reviewer: websternik
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use
"Straightforward and easy to use, it made a tangible difference to the warmth in my rooms - would recommend to all"
Review 3 for Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
Date:07/01/2013
Reviewer: trelly
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful
"I was sceptical that this product would work but for the price its great as a temporary double glazing film for the winter months. I have used it over the glazed panels of a door. On the first attempt I must have shrunk it too much with the hairdrier as it pulled off as the room got warmer during the day. ie when the central heating was warmest. Tried again and its perfect, Its now been on for a week and its still OK so fingers crossed its doing its job and cutting down on condensation and I no longer have a 'cold spot'"
Review 4 for Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
Date:13/10/2012
Reviewer: mrpassword
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its great and cheap
"A fabulous product.
Anyone can do this... even me. I used Exitex not Stormguard. Slipping flim is perhaps because surfaces not cleaned properly (!)
-Used in Canada for 40 years
-Try it on the outside! I've put film on both sides of some windows.
-Put top tape on first uncover it and then put both sides and bottom tapes on but keep them covered. Check your 'cut to size' film is big enough, THEN slowly start sticking it, uncovering tape as you go.
-Try a small window first, Your 3rd window will be perfect.
-I've not used the hairdryer as my windows are not overlooked.
-Do read all web videos and advice... good to learn.
-Stick tape to your thumb and then its easier to remove an inch of backing before sticking to window frame.
"
Review 5 for Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
Date:01/10/2012
Reviewer: Dave1231
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product
"I have a window of single glass with two panes. I fitted the secondary glazing film over the bottom pane and immediately it was obvious that the top pane was colder. It stands to reason that if you add an extra barrier and can trap an air layer, your room will lose heat more slowly. It's best to use the hairdryer again 24 hours later as the film won't shrink fully on the first go and fit the film in the coolest part of the day to reduce the chance of condensation. The film is easy to waste however, as it is folded in two so if your window is bigger than 150cm you need to cut along and if it is less than 150cm again you have to cut bits off the film. I reckon this film will save me a lot of money in gas bills though. It is good as it is cheaper than real double glazing or you may be renting and stays on for longer than just one season."
Review 6 for Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
Date:27/02/2012
Reviewer: Thismakessense
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
"An easy-to-apply product at a very good price.
If you want to save money on fuel bills but you are on a very tight budget then this is one measure you should not ignore.
"
Review 7 for Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
Date:30/11/2011
Reviewer: smilingsanta1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
amazing to stop window draughts!
"This is an excellent product at a great price.Easy to use ,blowing a hairdryer over the plastic once in position takes ay creases out.We could immediately feel less draught coming through the window.Excellent solution if you cant afford new double glazing at present."
Review 8 for Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
Date:01/12/2010
Reviewer: mystere
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
"double sided sticky tape fiddly to use
tape tends to come unstuck in places after a few days
need to be careful how much shrinckage is given to the film
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Stormguard Secondary Glazing Film
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 4