Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter

Uplighting is the most flattering form of lighting as it gives the illusion of more space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Review 1 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:25/03/2014
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Work well, look great, and didn't break the bank!
"Bought two of these to replace a pair of old candlestick-type wall lights.
Pros: Work well, look great, give a lovely diffused light.
Cons: Fitting the wires to the lampholder, and then having to fit the lampholder to the body, was unnecessarily fiddly. If wiring was supplied ready fitted, as with most other wall lights I've purchased, the light could be supplied ready assembled and fitting would be a breeze.
Overall: Recommended - as long as you're comfortable with the fiddly pre-wiring required.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:03/07/2013
Reviewer: Norfolkboi
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shrunk
"I've used these in various houses over the years but find that this time, although the picture looks the same, the item has shrunk from 30cm to 24cm and will no longer accept a standard bulb let alone a low energy type."
Review 3 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:02/07/2013
Reviewer: Sunshineygirl
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovely glow / hard to fit.
"This up-lighter is brilliant for the price. Can be emulsioned to match your decor, very cheap, but the designer gave no thought to how the poor electrician was ever going to wire it up - very difficult! Fix above your eye level as the bulb sticks out above the up-lighter itself. Need to have a perfect wall and ceiling above it as it shows up all imperfections.This picture is before we had finished decorating the room. We fitted ours with dimmer switches for added ambiance."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:14/02/2013
Reviewer: jj3rdmay
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great item bargin for the money, look really nice"
Review 5 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:01/02/2013
Reviewer: Pennyb1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value
"What great value for money. I bougth five of these to go around my lounge/kitchen and they look great. Being an uplight they have really lit up the room and when i'm fed up looking at them I'll paint them another colour - 5 new lights!!!"
Review 6 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:17/07/2012
Reviewer: digitbill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ideal
"found these lights to be perfect for the job, replaced 70`s brass monstosities. Now we have great lighting!!"
Review 7 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:05/03/2012
Reviewer: goodatdiyaroundthehouse
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice when they're up but a nightmare to fit
"First things first, when they are fitted and a bulb is in they look great and can be painted (remember they are made from plaster)
Now comes the tricky part, they are a nightmare to fit because of the little holes in the plaster and in the plastic bracket that fits inside, also because the whole thing fits flush to the wall you have to cut a lot of cable away (because the hole at the back of the uplighter is offset to the left not centered and because inside the uplighter there isn't enough space for excess cable)... now i'm no electrician but i know how to fit lights and sockets and basic household electrics and i can tell you, it's an electricians nightmare to cut cable away because there might come a time when you need the excess cable. Also working in the uplighter is hard because of the lack of space. Another thing i want to note is that the holes that you use to secure the light to the wall are angled so you have to drill at an angle into the wall.
Sure they look great when they are up and yes they are well made and feel solid and the price is perfect but for the practical point of fitting them they are the worst light fittings I've ever put up"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:10/12/2011
Reviewer: MaidstoneCruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lighting up my life
"These are good value light fittings which fit in any type of setting.
Th electrician complained that they didn't have flat backs but they look fine on the wall for the price.
The fact that you can also paint them to suit your decor adds to their appeal.
"
Review 9 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:07/08/2011
Reviewer: Sheepjustliketherest
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good quality and cost effective
"well made - cost effective wall uplighter - has a nice mediteranean style"
Review 10 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:18/07/2011
Reviewer: pjames
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
uplighters
"Easy to fit work well on dimmer"
Review 11 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:24/05/2011
Reviewer: janlass
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
uplighters
"simple and basic but have a lovely light effect and are easy to install and paint. good value."
Review 12 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:28/04/2011
Reviewer: Megofleicester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money
"These are brilliant uplighters, great value for money and can be painted to blend in with the decor. Very pleased with them and would buy them again."
Review 13 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:08/12/2010
Reviewer: joneseylady
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great
"great value for money , look more expensive than they are. Can be painted room colour or left natural."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Date:26/09/2010
Reviewer: newcottage
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent bargain
"cant go wrong with these, simple, stylish, look great on the wall. leaving mine white but you can paint to match decor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Aura 1/4 Sphere White Uplighter
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2