Product Reviews

Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower

The Mountfield Self-Propelled Rotary lawnmower has a 55 litre capacity grass collector and 5 cutting heights making it perfect for cutting your lawn the way you want to. Suitable for large sized lawn up to 750m2 (27x27m)
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
28 of 37(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:15/06/2014
Reviewer: jollyh
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The poorest Mountfield I have owned
"We purchased this from B&Q in early May.
This is the third Mountfield we have had, and the poorest. The mouldings used in this model seem barely strong enough to support the weight of the unit and the blade has a tendency to catch the side of the frame. And don't ever hit a stone as it'll take a chunk out of the under-housing.
If you compare this to older Mountfields, there is no comparison, the material quality is poor. Heck even the old cheap Performance Power mowers were tougher.
And what's good? It's a good starter.
I recommend: Buy something else. Anything else."
Review 2 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:10/06/2014
Reviewer: daw3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a good deal
"Mower has only been used 3 times so far but is good. Only problem is that my wife struggles to use it. She is just under 5ft tall and tends to be pulling downwards on the mower handles, resulting in the front wheels of the mower being in the air!! She also cannot restart the mower after emptying the grass-bag. The pull-cord is too long and she, again, is too short!! a good mower, but not for little people!"
Review 3 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:28/05/2014
Reviewer: ChristchurchBill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good machine for the task
"Bought this machine early April, have used it twice, first time with damp med length grass, high setting & it cut well, but restriction of grass going into rear of grass box.
2nd usage, dry and med height of grass, made a good cut, powerful machine, moves and cuts well - agree with other review, turnable front wheels would be good.
One annoying thing I found on assembly, putting the grass box together was awkward, but found that when I snipped a small length from each end of the joining rubber seal - it helped to make the task easier. Otherwise a good mower which i do recommend for a med-large garden.
"
Review 4 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:02/05/2014
Reviewer: Slowhand0801
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trust a Mountfield
"So Mountfields are no longer made in GB, but out of Eastern Europe and not evn sure it's the same company BUT quality seems good and I'm glad I replaced my old Mounty with another. This is my first self propelled lawnmower and I like it but it's taking me a bit of time to get used to the turnarounds. Maybe a potential lawnmower innovation is turnable wheels? Although you must have straight lines in the straights."
Review 5 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:28/04/2014
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good service from this mower
"Just went to use this mower again only to find it missing from my shed, stolen. So I have to buy another mower and I will get this model again.
Over the years I have had many Briggs & Stratton powered mowers but this Mountfield is the best yet.
I have used this mower for the past 4 year and it has served me well. Always started on the first or second pull even if it was the first start of the season. Grass box is good because it is plastic not a net.
2 small problems were...
The clutch cable stretched a little so I put a thick washer behind the outer cable and all worked OK.
Engine HT lead cut out did not engage to stop the engine but a little fiddling soon had that working again.
Both of these faults were in the last season after 4 years of hard work.
All in all a good mower that had stood me well and will buy again."
Review 6 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:16/04/2014
Reviewer: lovelyles
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Efficiency of the Mountfield petrol lawnmower
"The Mountfield Lawnmower did exactly what it said on the box. It cut the grass to the setting I chose and made it look extremely attractive. The mower was easy to operate and needed very little effort from me as it was self propelled. Overall I was more than pleased with the product purchased from B & Q"
Review 7 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:22/03/2014
Reviewer: J321
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to assemble and great value for money"
Review 8 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:27/09/2013
Reviewer: BenzDad
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cut well.....but not for long
"I bought this two years ago so this is its 3rd summer of cutting grass. It cut well - but not low enough to be fair - its always eaten through oil until this weekend when it wouldn't start - I already had to change the starter handle housing...- Turns out the engine block had a crack in it probably from new - and oil was just pouring out - Engine has now seized - it was always smokier than I expected - but as this is my first petrol mower I had no frame of reference..I will NEVER buy this or any other Mountfield mower again. I also looked after this very well and my 30ft garden never really taxed it hard.
Ate Oil, poor blade cut height (Not low enough even on lowest setting) build quality is quite poor and in my case the engine block even cracked..buy something else."
Review 9 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:23/08/2012
Reviewer: golfmerlin
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Longer grass
"Where the blade spins there is a bar that goes front to back. All the bar does is stop grass from entering the collection box as it catches there. After a few moment the blade jams on this grass and stalls the engine. Why design something that does this. It makes it pointless to have a high to low grass cutting. In the end I had to mow the lawn four times in one day. I.e. once on each setting"
Review 10 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:15/08/2012
Reviewer: Lorna22
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"When this product was delivered it was without the oil, which clearly should have been in the corner of the box. On the second time of using, a spring broke on the lawnmower.
Apart from these things, the lawnmower works well. It was the fault of B&Q for the oil not being in the box"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:14/08/2012
Reviewer: RichKyd
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mountfield feedback...
"B&Q: No issues. Easy service. Nice staff. Good stock. Easy website.
Mountfield: Don't buy cheap! I have made a big mistake here. ONLY buy rear roller mowers, this is a perfect example of cheap & cheerful. Really mad with myself for wasting £200, instead of properly investing £400. Cannot wait to stuff it on eBay. Utter waste of money."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:07/08/2012
Reviewer: Compaqrat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Early days but good so far!
"I bought this machine to replace an 11-year old Mountfield SP470 which had given very good service. From a personal perspective, the OPC and drive bars are the wrong way round; I prefer my fingers to control the drive mechanism, not the thumb. I also prefer the original 2 side levers to control drive and OPC but this design appears to be no longer available. The engine is quieter that its predecessor and the fuel filler neck is more easily accessible. So far, so good. If this machine lasts as long as the SP470 and continues to do the job it was designed for, then I'll be happy. I recommend Mountfield petrol lawnmowers."
Review 13 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:24/07/2012
Reviewer: RayD
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't Buy
"Bought this machine only 3 years ago. It cut the grass well and was easy to handle when the grass was relatively short. Struggled big time when grass was anyway long and continually cut out. It cut out on me a few weeks ago and the repair shop has said it is unrepairable due to engine damage - engine has split. Not a happy chappy and wont be buying a Mountfield again."
Review 14 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:23/07/2012
Reviewer: M4SK13
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned it for a couple of years
"Pro's.
Starts 1st time every time. Doesnt use alot of petrol, good pulling speed on the self propelled. I have never had it serviced, I have never had to put oil in it since new (yes i check it!). Never had an issue with the collecting basket other than my lawn is that big i have to empty it 5 times per cut. Which also shows its gets used alot. I have never had the blade sharpened/replaced and its still cuts excellent. I can even say that I get stripes when cutting. Mower pulls up slopes with ease.
Con's
I have made a clip to hold the dead mans lever (enables you to start, let go and the engine cuts out). As holding the lever and pulling the starter cord was tricky and akward. I guess this is why they charge extra for key/push button start. Cleaning it, as its petrol getting under the bugger is diffcult dont want to tilt too much as you'll leak petrol on the carb etc. that said i have only cleaned it twice in 2 years. On the funny side forgetting that its self propelled and you push it around.
Overall.
I originally was drawn in to the petrol scene by a £90 offer for a unbranded plastic mower from B&Q. it lasted a day and i bought this one in stead. Best decision I did, saved me a fortune as i was going to buy a sit down mower instead as the plastic one was so much hard work and failed so quickly. I will gladly recommend this mower to any one.
"
Review 15 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:21/07/2012
Reviewer: arva
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good buy
"easy to assemble and use. seems to be a very effective lawn mower. happy with my purchase so far."
Review 16 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:31/05/2012
Reviewer: TonyEY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money
"I've used the mower a few times now and it seems fine - it certainly cuts ok and not too heavy to push when the drive is not required.
I did have an assembly problem initially with alignment of one of the handle to body mounting bolt/screws - it frustratingly took some time in getting it aligned correctly without it cross-threading and stripping the thread but I eventually found that by inserting the lowest bolt on the handle first rather than the upper one, it went in ok.
The grass collection box was also a bit of an assembly challenge but in use seems more than adequate for it's intended purpose.
When you first start the mower, there will be lots of smoke flying around but this is just the paint burning off the engine block and is gone within a few minutes so just make sure you start it out in the open and not in your garage or shed.
DON'T forget to put the oil in before using it first time and maybe use a measure as it's quite tricky to see the clean oil on the dip-stick and I would think it would be quite easy to over-fill.
My mower has got better at starting the more I've used it so that's good, - just ensure you have the safety lever held or it won't start.
The self-propelled drive is a bit fierce and maybe a bit quick for those less nimble on their feet but I'm sure most will get used to it and it's certainly been very welcome on my sloping front garden.
My conclusion:... All in all, a decent quality and reliable mower at a reasonable price. I could have purchased one of the more obscure and cheaper brand push-alongs but, for the modest extra cost, you get self propulsion, a two-year guarantee and the backup of plenty of available spare parts from a long-established manufacturer should it ever go wrong which makes it a good deal in the long term."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:16/05/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good new - not so sure about years to come
"The collection box not that easy to assemble and not sure it will outlast the mower. Seems flimsy and I’m pretty sure I’ll have to tape it up sometime. Mower good on flat however I have a bank and I had to revert back to brush cutter to do that, this doesn’t collect grass, which is the reason I bought mower. Overall, good and pleased with the cut it did not sure it will be cutting grass for me several years on."
Review 18 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:15/05/2012
Reviewer: willywass
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bad
"got new lawnmover to replace old one when filled with oil it leaked i had to take back to b@q 1 hour drive away i got a refund"
Review 19 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:15/05/2012
Reviewer: Bestreview
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke down within 6days
"I purchased this lawnmower for my husbands birthday last week and after being used once it broke down after 6 days. Apparently a small spring which is thinner than a paper clip had broken which is a common fault.
Also if the grass box looks like it does not fit the lid, it does, a call to mountfield confirmed that you make it fit. And to be fair it does.
This lawnmower was great the first time it worked. A week later mountfield have replaced the part and it is working again now but how long for is anyone's guess. Fingers crossed as the breakdown of the lawnmower ruined my birthday with a man with a sore head because his brand new mower was out of action.
"
Review 20 for Mountfield SP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:13/05/2012
Reviewer: RAMONDO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfild Mower
"This Is My Second Mountfield Mower,The First One Was A Very Good Mower but It Had A Plastic Covering Which Cracked Very Badly But I Was So Happy With The Performance That I Purchased Another One But With A Metal Frame,I Have Only Used It Twice So Far But It Is Just As good.Its Very Quiet For A Petrol Mower And Cuts Very Good.Starts Very Easily And Petrol Filler Is A Lot Better Than Previous Models."
1 2 next>>