Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower

The Mountfield Push Rotary lawnmower is hand propelled with strong steel blades. It features a 55 litre capacity grass collector and 5 cutting heights making it perfect for cutting your lawn the way you want to. Suitable for medium sized lawns.
Average Customer Rating:
4.178 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
39 of 45(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Review 1 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:12/07/2014
Reviewer: Popsical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good old mountfield got even better
"Very good mower, easy to assemble and started first pull excellent cut very impressed"
Review 2 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:20/06/2014
Reviewer: Hazmatt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased
"The entire process was very straight forward and the delivery arrived on time driver put it round the back for my wife.
The mower is excellent easy to start and makes a beautiful job of the grass.
Would highly recommend the product and the B&Q delivery process.
A more than satified customer well done B&Q
"
Review 3 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:22/05/2014
Reviewer: FatRob
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Powerfull mower
"This mower is good quality and does the job. Cuts through long grass very well. Easy to start.
Take your time to get the oil level right and re check regularly during first use as oil level drops as it gets spread round the new engine.
"
Review 4 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:09/05/2014
Reviewer: Queenie7
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So Far, So Good.
"Only used this a couple of times yet. Amazed that it started on the first pull, agree with some of the other people that putting the grass box together was the worst part!! Easy to use, good range of cutting heights."
Review 5 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:17/04/2014
Reviewer: Colliprint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good value for true quality
"Mountfield mower has exceeded all my expectations. Build quality is solid and I am looking forward to many years of good service from this mower. B&Q price was very competitive and delivery was next day as promised."
Review 6 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:10/04/2014
Reviewer: daviden
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value model.
"first one failed to work.(petrol leaks etc.)
second one came and worked first time and see no reason why it will not continue to work. the grass box is a bit of a nightmare fitting the two parts together. needs a look at post producction.
"
Review 7 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:08/04/2014
Reviewer: MAZONKA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BRILLIANT MOWER
"Easy to assemble and starts first pull every time. Its very powerful and picks up the grass even when wet, the grass bag is a good size so you spend less time emptying cuttings, all in all much better than I though after reading some or the other revues I am very impressed. I have recommended it to other friends who are looking for a push lawn mower."
Review 8 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:27/03/2014
Reviewer: Tangerinehugo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin
"Easy to assemble."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:25/03/2014
Reviewer: Enviroman
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does What it says
"Nice machine that could only be improved with from wheel height adjustment and a rigid grass box."
Review 10 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:20/03/2014
Reviewer: CelticWarrior
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mount field HP454
"Bought with my 'Senior Discount' for about £179. Very easy to assemble and started on the first pull.
Have used it three times so far and it seems quite rugged and has a large grass box. My first impressions are that this has been an excellent purchase.
I reserved it online for collection from the Bridgend store and it was ready for collection when I arrived.
"
Review 11 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:31/08/2013
Reviewer: alexthemuso
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy!
"I bought this yesterday to replace my very old (about 50!) Atco cylinder which weighs a ton and is a pig to start. Built it from the box in about 15 minutes, filled with oil and petrol and away it went on the second pull. It's really quiet! The grass hadn't been cut for 6 weeks during our holiday so you can imagine what it was like! This mower cut it with ease! I expected the engine to slow down a bit when cutting that depth but no, it was a dream! Only trouble here is that the engine stops as soon as you let go which is a pain when you have to empty the bag. A spring clamp sorted that, just don't put your hand in the outlet! I suppose it's good practice to stop the machine so fair play! Make sure you remove the large yellow plastic thing in the outlet before you start or the cut grass will go everywhere but the collection bag! I believe that was the mulching device but it's not that clear in the instructions. The intrsuctions could be clearer but they are good enough. I went for this model as it's a steel body rather than plastic and as it is light and easy to push I didn't go for the self propelled one.
All in all so far a great mower, let's hope it lasts half as long as the old Atco!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:11/05/2013
Reviewer: girt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Starts up very easy, light and compact, cuts great, would highly recommend"
Review 13 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:04/05/2013
Reviewer: mjsmke
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Mower.
"Excellent product! I reserved this online to collect at the dartford store. Is was already on a trolly waiting for me at the tills when i got to the store. Very easy to set up and start the engine. Just cut the grass after 2 weeks of warm/rainy weather so the grass was long. Even with the speed on a medium setting it was effortless to use. The height adjustment is one lever that adjusts the height of all 4 wheels. Mine came with a 140cc OHV45 engine which i think is newer than the 150cc SV35."
Review 14 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:08/04/2013
Reviewer: BJG2243
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does as you'd expect
"Easy enough to put together. Started first time. Has now been used five time and not had any problems with it."
Review 15 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:21/10/2012
Reviewer: sniffy7
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wise buy
"works well, starts 1st time, easy to adjust, collector
fills properly but best of all is the back-up. helpline
number printed on mower, i broke the handle cos i
dint tighten the fixing nuts enough. called the no.,
(on a sat pm) a brit answered, was familiar with the
mower, it was out of warranty but he offered to send
out replacement spares foc, dint even have to ask.
first class, wouldn't buy anything else now
"
Review 16 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:27/08/2012
Reviewer: barlin
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase ever
"This mower has turned out to be the worst one I have ever had.It went wrong in the first 2 months and has kept breaking down constantly ever since. Some of the cables have no adjustment and keep stretching so have had to drill holes in the handles to accommodate.The height lever jumps out of its socket so it is now tied up with string.Nuts and bolts keep vibrating loose.Service centre in Exeter quotes 2 weeks to repair.Struggles to cut grass with 2 weeks growth and clogs up because of a bar running underneath.Engine cuts out on a hot day."
Review 17 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:21/08/2012
Reviewer: Getlost
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My most recent Mountfield
"As with previous Mountfields this one starts on 1st or 2nd pull, from hot or cold, the motor runs smoothly and is powerfull enough to cope with quite long grass. The cut is good and I would recommend it as general purpose mower for a medium sized garden."
Review 18 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:18/08/2012
Reviewer: Florida1
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HP454
"Good mower, however there were no assembly instructions although being Ok at DIY I worked it out from the picture. Also I couldn't find how much oil to put in, trial and error on dipstck"
Review 19 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:03/06/2012
Reviewer: Mktdeeping
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mountfield
"It took about 30 mins to put together (handle needed assembling and fixing to base) my previous mount field was 37 years old and started having overheating problems and would cut out. The new mower is easy to start and picked up the grass cuttings very well. Have only used it once and seems ok but is very cheaply made. I doubt that it will last as long as my previous mountfield. Lots of plastic bits."
Review 20 for Mountfield HP454 Petrol Rotary Lawnmower
Date:01/06/2012
Reviewer: brenden321
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Mower
"Started no trouble after the engine had been primed. Easy to use,very powerful.Great value for money, If you want a no fuss,powerful petrol mower,thats easy to use then i would highly recommend this.
DOES EXACTLY WHAT ITS SAYS ON THE TIN,no bother
"
1 2 3 next>>