Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Mountfield Scarifier

This Mountfield SE 350 scarifyer will remove thatch and cut cross-growth allowing air and nutrients to reach root level and encourage a vigorous lawn which inturn retards the growth of weeds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
16 of 22(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield Scarifier
Review 1 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:05/10/2011
Reviewer: Beverleychap
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy one
"Having struggled with a smaller electric scarifier with forward discharge system, I bought this.
What a difference! Powerful, fast, thorough, easy to set up.
Like other reviewers I left the collection box off, fixed a suction cup to the flap and used that to attach a string to the handle to keep the flap half open. After that I flew round the lawn in a fraction of the time, using a lawn rake to collect - so much quicker than constantly bending down and emptying a bin full of fluff!!
At its current offer price you cant go wrong and like me, you will no longer dread having to do the scarifying. It's a breeze.
"
Review 2 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:24/09/2011
Reviewer: Unlucky1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Scarifier
"I purchased this machine at B&Q on sale at £80 and am very pleased. I have a 200 square meter lawn that has never been scarified, and is not totally level. I ran the machine on setting 3 as the lowest setting seemed a bit aggressive. It has certainly scarified and aerated my lawn extremely well. I ran it without the dirt catcher on, but it kicked up a stone and it shattered one of my conservatory windows. My wife is not happy, but the grass should look great soon. The wheels are a bit flimsy, although mine have not shown any signs of coming off so far. I hope the problem has been sorted."
Review 3 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:23/09/2011
Reviewer: Dweckie
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It really is a 3 wheeler
"I bought one of these after seeing it on offer in store. Had not read any of the online reviews. Got it home and it worked for a full 5 minutes before the wheel came off......no way to secure it back on again. Returned it to the store and got a full refund, but a waste of time and petrol. Do not buy this product..there are enough online complaints to realise it has an inherent design fault."
Review 4 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:21/09/2011
Reviewer: Devonboy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Positive feedback
"I was initially concerned from reviews about wheel problems. No need to worry yet. This product does exactly what it says on the box, however I do agree with others that this machine is much easier to operate with the collector box removed and the flap tied open."
Review 5 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:16/09/2011
Reviewer: KingPugwash
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The "Bugatti Veyron"
"Used for the first time yesterday. Did not attach the grass collection because I knew it would fill up in seconds so propped the "tail gate" very slightly open with a bamboo cane and used. Then raked up the grass afterwoods with a leaf rake, which didn't take long at all. Height adjustment was very easy. Cable is a little short for medium sized gardens....but overall it looks like a Bugatti Veyron so be prepared for the neighbours to stare in wonder at your new purchase! Would definately recommend but not lend!"
Review 6 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:26/07/2011
Reviewer: BobTheFish
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hard work!
"I bought this product last year in March. £119 is a cheap price for this type of product and it's not unusual to pay £400+ for a petrol one. I have used it 3 times. Before I bought this, I used a scarifying rake. I find this piece of kit hard work, you have to keep stopping and emptying the grass-box every couple of minutes and sometimes you get a build-up in front of the grass-box. It also won't go to the edge of a patio or stepping stones. I'm not a lover of electrical garden tools - don't like the trailing lead and also the safety aspect. I was vindicated in this opinion as I just chopped through the lead. It's going down the tip next week and I've gone back to using a hand rake and the strange thing is, I actually find it easier!!!"
Review 7 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:25/06/2011
Reviewer: daybreak
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Three wheel scarifier - very frustrating!
"Bought this 3 months ago but due to the weather only used it for the 1st time yesterday! Spent half the time scarifying the remainder fixing the front wheel back on - (approx 1 hour in total) Used it for about 20 mins right front wheel fell off - nightmare trying to remove hub cap (always concern not to invalidate guarantee by damging it) to reach the retaining clip - eventually after much frustration in working about the best way to release hub retaining lugs we fitted the wheel back on. Another 15/20 mins repeat procedure! At the end of hour rain was threatening so we decided to curtail activites - just started to move scarier off lawn to take back to shed - wheel fell off again. Enough is enough taking back today for refund or replace with different make. It is a real shame that an obvious design fault spoils what would otherwise be an excellent product - we were really please with the way it actually scarified - it did what is said on the tin! If we could have retained four wheels in operation we would have highly praised this product!"
Review 8 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:30/05/2011
Reviewer: Piccman
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mountfield Scarifier
"I first read a number of reviews, the majority of which were very positive. However, there were three reviews which mentioned a wheel falling off but I discounted these as being isolated incidents of bad luck. I now wish I had taken more notice of these reviewers comments. When I first used the machine, one of the front wheels dropped off and did so again after refixing and would not stay on. The machine has been returned."
Review 9 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:08/05/2011
Reviewer: Gnidrah
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Powerfule but quiet, the blades get deep into the roots remopving dead grass and moss. An excellent purchase."
Review 10 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:02/05/2011
Reviewer: Antimoss
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value Scarifier
"Had an electric lawnraker some years ago but the motor burned out after 3 seasons. More recently I've hired petrol scarifiers (expensive) so was a bit apprehensive buying another electric. Needn't have worried as the 1500w motor on this one coped with my moss-ridden lawn with no problem at all.
Found it best to do 3 complete runs over the lawn at decreasing height settings. Didn't bother with the box - too time consuming with so much moss to deal with. Easier to rake up and use blower. Indebted to other reviewers for suggestion of propping open the rear flap an inch or so with a stick - effective in preventing the moss clogging the blades. Agree the wheels do seem a little fragile, but no problem if you take care.
Overall, a great machine for the price - very effective and convenient.
"
Review 11 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:18/04/2011
Reviewer: KATEMOSS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SCARIFIER MOUNTFIELD
"I USED THIS MACHINE FOR THE FIRST TIME & WAS
IMPRESSED WITH THE AMOUNT OF MOSS IT REMOVED.
HOWEVER, ONE OF THE BACK WHEELS CAME OFF
AND COULD NOT BE FIXED.
GIVEN THAT THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME OF USING
I AM NOT IMPRESSED IF THIS IS THE QUALITY OF THE PRODUCT, AND NOT SURE IF A REPLACEMENT IS A GOOD IDEA......
"
Review 12 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:10/04/2011
Reviewer: oily
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SERIOUS
"this is a serious piece of equipment!
Gets the job done...and fast
if you want to shift moss and fast this is a fantastic machine"
Review 13 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:10/04/2011
Reviewer: BlackEye
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product but the wheel fell off!
"The first Scarifyer I received lasted for 2 minutes before one of the wheels fell off. I took the wheel apart and refitted it but it still fell off. I was given a replacement machine which so far has kept its wheels on. In terms of scarifying the grass it does an excellent job"
Review 14 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:09/04/2011
Reviewer: tommyr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
glad i bought it
"Where do i start, i read some reviews but after inspecting the machine in B&Q i decided to buy it and glad i did,
I bought my house last year and don't think lawn has ever been scarified. Filled 20 plus bags full of moss. This machine not only scarifies it aerates the lawn as the blades are thick metal that also breaks up the soil so you can spread grass seed and it will go in the grooves that are made.
The lawn looked really bad after scarifying but after a week it is starting to recover and looking forward to a beautiful lawn in the near future.
Buy this machine and you wont be disappointed."
Review 15 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:07/04/2011
Reviewer: darren9092
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of machinery
"I had a lawn that was really overgrown with moss when I got this scarifyer home i got to work on the lawn having already put some lawn sand down a lot of the moss was dead and this machine pulled it out with ease, although there are 4 settings being a srew ajuster you can set at any depth. Quiet, light and easy to use and does really pull a lot of thatch out took all the next day to clear thatch. did a 4 way scarify overseeded top dressed and luted in and the new seed has just started to come through. sounds a bit like an advert for B&Q but this really is a great bit of kit. Only word of advise start at highest setting and ajust down until just touching the ground do first diagional ajust down again about 1 1/2 turns for next diagonal and repeat for horizontal and vertical you will need to overseed and brush some top dress in"
Review 16 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:05/04/2011
Reviewer: nellyx
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did the job much cheaper than a gardner
"Quoted between £120 and £250 to scarify the lawn but this did the job for much less and a little time. The lawn had not been touched in 2 years so when I had finished it was mostly soil. Grass seed soon fixed that and now I am looking forward to a healthy, happy new lawn that will be scarified twice a year from now on!
No great effort and left the bag off as recommended on other reviews. Filled 15 bin bags but so worth it!
"
Review 17 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:31/03/2011
Reviewer: girly12
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield Scarifier
"Overall good product, but the cutting depth needs very careful height setting. The collector box is awkward to fit because the flap gets in the way, but getting used to it. Does the job of scarifying very quickly and with ease"
Review 18 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:30/03/2011
Reviewer: NeilExe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value, so much better than a lawn rake
"Excellent value, can be used at a lawn rake or more importantly for scarifying.
Using the bag is OK at higher levels but remove and hold the flap open with a stick when scarifying.
"
Review 19 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:28/03/2011
Reviewer: orangex2
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst purchase ever
"got it home went up and down the garden wheel fell of.Got a exchange got home unpacked the item the flap was snapped of.Went back again got another did half the garden went to empty the basket and the handle stuck would'nt stop."
Review 20 for Mountfield Scarifier
Date:22/03/2011
Reviewer: bobnrob
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
best price bargin
"I got this at a bargin price of 89.00 .and its pretty good if you take the collection bin off and whizz round your garden . rake up the grass into piles and remove.
If you try and use the collection bin it will take you a very long time. . This is the only downside Otherwise very pleased
"
1 2 next>>