Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower

Average Customer Rating:
3.478 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
11
31 of 46(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Review 1 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:24/09/2011
Reviewer: gary999
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lawnmower p[ertol
"used it only for 5 mins amd it decided it wasnmt going to work the pull sting didnt pull at all so no good"
Review 2 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:19/09/2011
Reviewer: BonBob
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase
"My husband put it together very quickly & off he went.
Our lawn looks great.
"
Review 3 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:07/09/2011
Reviewer: Tonkagirl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Petrol Mower. Best thing I have bought.
"Never started a Petrol Mower before never mind steered it. Followed the easy instructions to fill it with oil, and petrol and then start it(proves the instructions are clear even a woman can do it). Took the mower round to the front of the Bungalow and started it, put it in drive and away we went, it was great, all you do is steer and remember to empty the bag. Perfect for a woman."
Review 4 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:02/09/2011
Reviewer: albathebrave
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mine Leaked Petrol
"Leaked petrol from primer bubble and petrol was also coming out of air filter housing after using it for only 10 minutes,so returned it for a prompt refund rather than exchange it and now glad i did as few on here have had fuel leaks,so not worth the risk.
I will stay with electric models for now i think!"
Review 5 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:30/08/2011
Reviewer: mjw1030
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
"Excellent price. Well built machine. started first pull and cut the grass with ease."
Review 6 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:28/08/2011
Reviewer: viwinuca
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
"Excellent product even for my medium size garden, cuts the grass very well and collects at the same time brilliant product will definately recomended.
Cons: Wheel Traction not very good spins some times but apart from that is perfect and very light, Starts every time, first time and very economical with petrol too. Four stroke engine powerfull enough and no mixing petrol with oil save time and money.
"
Review 7 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:28/08/2011
Reviewer: Beaney
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
"Well i guess you get what you pay for! way too light for the drive to be totally effective, feels like your emptying the box every 5 seconds, gouges trough's in your lawn because of the gearbox being too low slung, and my god! what a pig to start it, I will be taking it back pronto and asking for a refund, asap..."
Review 8 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:23/08/2011
Reviewer: Vinnie70
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont Do It !!
"Mower was great for first 2 cuts then the problems began... it wouldnt start when hot, the self propelled drive was underpowered and had virtually no effect then to top it all it leaked a full tank of fuel into my shed overnight.
It may be cheap but it really isnt worth it.
Fortunately I took it back to B&Q in Banbury who didnt quibble they gave me a credit there and then having had previous experience of these mowers.
I have now bought a Mountfield and am much happier.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:13/08/2011
Reviewer: walt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
total surprice
"was going to buy the push one but was out of stock so purchased self propelled not a lot in it price wise fitted handle filled with oil and petrol started third pull engine first class cut my lawn infifteen minutes wished i had bought it sooner"
Review 10 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:12/08/2011
Reviewer: gardennewbie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super purchase
"I found this easy to assemble with clear instructions. Made very light work of overgrown garden , thoroughly impressed. The grass bag collects quite a lot before requiring emptying. Easy to put the oil and petrol in. Excellent value for money. I have a bad back but have found that I can use this no problem although did need assistance to get it to the car and to get it out of the box. Once set up, I have no problems at all. It is fantastic, wish I had bought one years ago."
Review 11 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:11/08/2011
Reviewer: MrGoatsmilk
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taking it back
"Read the reviews on the HP and SP model, purchased the SP. Easy to put together and well packaged.
Used it and found it struggled on on parts of the lawn that were around 2" long could hear and feel engine slow. The wheels also wheel spin easily could do with better grip, even on a flat lawn.
Came to use it a week later strong smell of petrol looked in tank most had evaporated, cap was on tight, there is a leak of petrol and oil from the carb, leak can be seen on the body.
Shame really as the plastic body of the mower is well made and starts easily.
Could do with a better height adjustment, only front wheels adjust so can't get as low as other petrol mowers."
Review 12 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:01/08/2011
Reviewer: MichelleT
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
"Its a powerful but lightweight lawnmower thats great for my large sloping lawn, the self propelling facility is brilliant."
Review 13 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:20/07/2011
Reviewer: William69
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
"I read the reviews and was concerned that it could be problematic. However, it was reduced so thought I'd take the risk and I'm happy I did.
Putting it together is simple, two screws to connect the handle bar to the frame, in slides the handle extension, a couple of hand turning locking nuts to lock the handle extension to the handle bar and that is it. It was actually more difficult to remove the mower from the box; however, rip down the front of the box and push the mower out on its front wheels.
Being a typical guy my initial thought was to chuck in some petrol, a bit of oil and then pull the cord. I don't need to read the instructions; I'm a bloke and that thing has an engine so I have this evolutional ability to comprehend all things mechanical. Also, the instruction books were cheap photocopies so they couldn't be that important.
Then came the rain. With nothing to do I then thought I'd read the instructions; assembly, using the mower, and the separate one on the engine. Interesting.
A lot of the reviews complain about the engine cutting out. Check the STOP cable is retained properly with the supplied retainers.
Restarting; petrol cap too tight or perhaps it needs one prime.
Not starting initially; 3 hard primes, slowly and firmly.
This goes on.
I did exactly what was required and decided to try the mower. Brilliant, even on wet grass. It is quarter the time than my old electric one. It starts first time, restarts fine, and is a pleasure to use.
Conclusion...RFI. Read the flipping instructions."
Review 14 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:14/07/2011
Reviewer: MarkyBhoy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Mower
"Bought this mower may last year and i've had no problems with it, even after the harsh winter we had it started first time, the only thing i found was the 2 screws that secure the handle to the base aren't any good (too small), which i had to replace with larger self tappers and thats why i give 4 stars, also like to point out for the novice petrol mower users dont tighten the fuel cap to tight or the fuel wont flow to the carb and the mower will cut out.
The collection basket is large enough for most gardens and unlike some of the solid plastic boxes it doesn't leak grass everywhere............. Excellent mower for the money.
"
Review 15 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:11/07/2011
Reviewer: Furby
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first petrol lawnmower
"A very good and cheaply priced lawnmower, starts first time if you follow the instructions, and I've got use to the self propelled function now. What more could you ask for at this price?"
Review 16 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:29/06/2011
Reviewer: dolphintreefrog
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mower or Plough?
"Height adjuster on this mower digs in on setting 2 & rips up your lawn - DO NOT BUY IT - I'm looking for my receipt to take mine back"
Review 17 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:21/06/2011
Reviewer: Matthewb
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please Avoid ,and remember Buy cheap buy twice
"I purchased this last year, even after reading the review on poor starting, but I thought It must be people not pulling the cord hard enough lol.
How wrong was I , this was a total pig to start from day one and once you get it running DO NOT turn it off to empty the grass box as it will not start ( I taped up the on lever once running it was that bad )
They have no choke or throttle so you cant do a thing ho help it start , on a few occasions I gave up and borrowed my next doors mower
Also if you like short grass ,( It easy to adjust as just one lever ) but on the lowest setting the bar that links the height adjusters to the wheels drags on the floor and it actually pulls the grass up and leaves patches of mud , So I used setting 2
The mower did collect grass well and on setting 2 cut the grass quite well.
But this year on the 3dr cut of the year (after much sweat getting it started) it started to backfire and went BANG
That was game over for the motor. Only just made the warranty 11 months old and a few day.
Just took it back got a full refund and mow buying a JCB mower with a 3yr warranty but after putting the credit not from the broken mower its £140 , but feel lucky as if it had gone bang next month it would have been out of warranty
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:20/06/2011
Reviewer: PollysDad
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
"Bought this mower 3 weeks ago, and it hasn't missed a beat yet. Starts first time from cold and hot. Gives our lawns a good cut each time. Very happy with our purchase and would recommend to all."
Review 19 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:10/05/2011
Reviewer: captainpeacock
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst mower ever
"Thought this would be value for money, boy was i wrong!
Unlike other reviewers, mine was prefilled with oil...good start. Assembled no problem and started on third pull. Mowed three strips of my garden and it died. Everytime i tried to start after that it would go for 10-15 secs and die again. Pull cord cut through the plastic housing and jammed. Am on my way now back to store to request refund...should have spent more on a quality product...mountfield perhaps?
"
Review 20 for 40cm SP Petrol Rotary Mower
Date:25/04/2011
Reviewer: NOMISYOUNG
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ideal.
"This lawnmower is brilliant.
I use it for work, hasn't gone wrong yet. (after 1 yr)
Starts on the first pull every time, only thing I would say is you can't get blades, cables etc readily.
I found that universal Bike cable fits perfectly as a replacement Drive cable, and the throttle cable is similar to alot of others.
Blades are from an independant supplier for b&q.
Just change the oil every 48 hours of use, keep it clean, and this lawnmower won't go wrong!
Not sure what engine it is, but it runs lovely..not too loud either.
Enjoy this bargain."
1 2 3 next>>