Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing

A unique Greenhouse with clear as glass, unbreakable Polycarbonate panels. Includes frame, base and glazing in one box.
Average Customer Rating:
3.989 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
4
79 of 93(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Review 1 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:05/07/2012
Reviewer: ADAMtheGARDENER
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product
"Read the reviews about how long it takes to put together? Believe them - it took us hours and you end up with really sore fingers from putting the plastic strips in that hold the sheets. However, don't be put off - it's a real bargain and you do end up with a very serviceable greenhouse for a small plot. Got my tomatos in already and they're racing up the canes. Very pleased."
Review 2 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:29/06/2012
Reviewer: kwackers
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Can be improved
"There are two design faults in the greenhouse
Part No A256 is drawn as a brace. A brace stiffens a vertical or horizontal frame member to prevent it from moving. A brace has to be rigid to perform correctly. You will see from the photo that the braces are not stiff enough. Theoretically you should be able to reverse the slope of the member and use it as a tie to stiffen the structure but I tried this and it did not work using the A256 part.
The door wheels as supplied cannot work. A revolving item should not revolve around a threaded spindle because the threads wear the bore. The spindle should be rigidly fixed to a frame so that it does not revolve with the wheel. If you tighten the spindle to the door the wheel cannot revolve. If you leave the spindle loose enough for the wheel to revolve the spindle will also turn in the fixing hole and the revolving threads will enlarge the hole causing the spindle to wobble excessively. I had some 6 mm aluminium tubing so I drilled the wheel for the tubing and it became the spindle and it was locked securely to the door. This gave a smoothly sliding door.
The instructions say that the greenhouse should not be erected in an area exposed to excessive wind. A website says that the greenhouse is suitable only for sheltered sites which I think is more accurate although what is sheltered is a matter of opinion rather than a provable fact.
I assembled my steel base so that I could construct my concrete base to the correct size. I then sorted the parts into bundles so that I only had to sort through a small number of parts when erecting any section of the greenhouse.
I was able to assemble and glaze the greenhouse in 6 hours by myself. The greenhouse is positioned against a wall and the only time that I needed help was when my wife and I lifted it into position on the concrete base.
The problem with the glazing appears to be in the positioning of the glazing panels in the framework. The edges of the panels are moulded to fit into channels in the framework. If these do not fit correctly it would be very difficult to fit the glazing beads (p prefixed parts). I found that the edges of the three section polycarbonate panels were slightly different and if I had trouble with a panel turning it the other way up usually solved the problem.
Whilst the greenhouse was erected quickly it took me another two days to fasten the greenhouse down and brace it to my satisfaction. This time was also spent shopping for aluminium sections to brace the structure. It is now as rigid as it can be made.
The greenhouse was fixed down to concrete kerbs with clips and 6 mm concrete bolts. You drill a 6 mm diameter hole and the bolt threads cut into the concrete like a self tapping screw. There is no risk of a plug being pulled out of the concrete with this method of fixing and the smaller diameter holes are quicker to drill than plug holes."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:28/06/2012
Reviewer: redpepper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant
"easy to put up but door abit complicated has withstood very high winds in an exsposed position never moved an inch well pleased"
Review 4 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:15/06/2012
Reviewer: RichieV
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value
"This is an excellent greenhouse easy to assemble when following instructions step by step. I would recommend an electric screw driver to fix and tighten all the bolts after assembly has been completed as your hands the next day are very tired. I also purchased a tube of silicone sealant as a few drips of rain managed to find their way into the greenhouse through the window aperture. It was also good for sealing round the base of each panel to prevent drafts coming in during windy and very cold spells. The acrylic is very strong and would not easily be damaged. I found it better to build this off its final sight as access around all sides was needed. Its very light and easily carried into its final resting place by two people. This greenhouse is an all round excellent piece of kit and looks like it will be with me for quite a few years to come. If you place this greenhouse in an open area then I would recommend it be fixed to the ground as I believe very strong winds could move it. Ground fixings supplied too! (For pushing into soil only)"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:08/06/2012
Reviewer: Clarkia
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous for small garden
"I never thought I would fit a greenhouse in my small garden until I found this one. There is an older model knocking around which is not as good and a customer in B&Q even told me not to waste my money! I am happy to report that this remodelled version is perfect, has withstood some very high winds and nasty weather in Northumberland already with no damage.
It took around 6 hours to construct and the panels are a tight fit but they need to be.
Love it!
"
Review 6 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:07/06/2012
Reviewer: xSoAoDoIoEx
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little greenhouse
"You need patience to put this up.
Even though we followed the instructions and ensured everything was square we did have to tweak bits. You need gloves as the panels are quite sharp and will easily cut your fingers.
You get everything you need in one box and we had it planted up the same day and everything is growing lovely (it's nice and warm!)
If you're not patient and methodical person, I suggest you get a friend to put it up for you as frustration could be a factor.
I would buy another."
Review 7 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:17/05/2012
Reviewer: Andy68
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Building the greenhouse - tips
"First of all read the instruction manual and make sure you have all the parts listed and if you have any spares, (especially the really long glazing seals as you may have to trim some down in order to fit).
Secondly, I would advise against building this in situ unless you have plenty of space all around because you may need a stepladder to access the eaves. As this is so light it can easily be moved into situ by 2 people after completion.
I used the following tools: a tight fitting pair of gardening gloves (these help when handling the metal frame and with the glazing seals. N.B. Your thumbs will ache after doing the glazing seals but the gloves help a bit.), a ratchet socket wrench with a small extension, a 7mm socket for the door and a 10mm socket for everything else, WD40 to lubricate the door, and a pair of 4-rung steps (for when doing the glazing in the eaves), as well as all the other tools the manual recommends.
The tightening tool thats supplied is a good idea but not always practical, hence the socket wrench.
When the manual shows the picture of the tightening tool at the top of the page, then do the bolts up tight. Otherwise leave all the bolts just finger tight until the greenhouse has been completed, then do them up tight.
When clipping in the glazing seals it's a good idea to have someone putting equal pressure on the frame but from behind as you're clipping to prevent the frame from bowing or coming apart, otherwise approx. 80% of this can be built by 1 person in a day.
Anyone who's ever played with Meccano will enjoy this and although the instructions are relatively clear to understand, it would be better if the photos in the manual were in colour and not black, white and shades of grey.
Since building this greenhouse it has endured heavy thunderstorms, torrential hail and high winds without leaking and remaining in place.
I would recommend buying this greenhouse and I would give it a 4 out of 5.
Enjoy!
"
Review 8 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:14/05/2012
Reviewer: Stephano
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good design
"They had this greenhouse in store so I got it immediately. The instructions were reasonable but could have done with some written information. Greenhouse looks good and was up in about 5 hours. Had a bit of fun getting the roof window to sit correctly. I made an additional lock as it's get very windy where I live. I was a little sceptical about the acrylic panels but so far so good. I got this greenhouse on a 20% off day so I am very happy with the purchase."
Review 9 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:14/05/2012
Reviewer: Holmeszee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant little greenhouse
"Just a big Mechano (for those who remember Mechano).
Had a little trouble with the window and had to trim1/4 inch off the polycarbonate fixed pane.
Put it up single handed though - it took about 8 hours
including the base.
I really like it
"
Review 10 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:13/05/2012
Reviewer: aka4
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good little greenhouse
"Reasonably easy to put together and a very sturdy little greenhouse. Already taking a battering from highland winds and not problems at all. The glazing isn't the easiest thing to get in and fixed, but feels sturdier for needing a bit of oomph to get snapped in.
Took me about 6 hours on my own to put together and found the instructions pretty easy to follow with a reasonable numbering system."
Review 11 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:11/05/2012
Reviewer: newtoveg
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value
"Great little greenhouse, well thought out design with clear detailed instructions. I would allow a day to build as it does take some time and would recomend some glazing silicone here and there to make the greenhouse a little more water tight. overall very pleased with my purchase and would certainly recomend to anyone."
Review 12 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:25/04/2012
Reviewer: opalfalcon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Greenhouse
"If you read the more positive reviews & don't tighten up all the nuts till glazed & in place on a level base, takes some time to build but if done properly this is an excellent little greenhouse for tight spaces. Another hint is to rub the door slides with a candle &/or with wd40 or similar then wipe off the excess, this will allow the door to be opened & closed smoothly, re do when needed."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:20/04/2012
Reviewer: A14JU7ST
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice piece of kit
"I read the reviews of this product between buying it and assembling it. The worst ones worried me, and I expected to find that the greenhouse was flimsy and badly designed. Nothing could have been further from the truth. A lot of careful thought has gone into the design. Likewise, the assembly instructions have been very carefully and painstakingly assembled with excellent drawings that contain all the detail needed. I made one mistake during assembly - I got the vertical bars on the door facing the wrong way. In hindsight it was entirely my fault: had I looked carefully enough at the relevant picture I would have seen that the channel was to the inside. I bought my greenhouse in modular form: the base in one package, the frame in another and then three separate glazing packs of glass, not polycarbonate. I laid down a concrete floor on top of hard-core and sank the base about 5 mm into the concrete while it was still wet (and also pinned it down with the long metal hooks supplied which I sunk fully into the concrete). By the time the frame was attached to the base it was already very stable: glazing it made it rock-steady. I can only suppose that the folk who have had bad experiences with their greenhouse blowing away did not go to the same lengths with the base. I would guess that choosing glass instead of plastic also adds significantly to rigidity. Constructing the frame took me about 2 hours, including my one mistake. Glazing was easy, once I figured out how to hold the rubber strip at the top of the rail with one finger and run the finger of another hand down the rail to seat the strip. Then leave 3mm extra rubber at the bottom before cutting. The excess can easily be teased back to the right length. Likewise, the "W" shaped glazing clips can be applied one-handed once you get the knack. There were exactly the right number of "W" clips, but I was short of "Z" shaped glass-overlap clips. Also two panes of glass were broken in the thinnest of the glazing packs which had evidently been rough-handled (open the packs between paying and leaving the shop!). I got spare glass and clips from my local glazier. A tip on tightening the nuts and bolts supplied: they have to be aluminium like the frame to prevent corrosion. However this means that, if overtightened, they strip. It's a good move to start assembly by deliberately overtightening one nut/bolt to see how much torque they will take; then go easy on all the others. (The kit supplied a few extra nuts and bolts, probably with this in mind). Just nipping them tight proved fine for the stability of the frame. Water leaks: there's a 1" long vertical gap in the frame right by the end of each gutter and the water from the gutter finds its way through these 4 holes. 4 dabs of silicone sealant sort this out. Overall a really nice product. I highly recommend it. But it really is worth taking extra care in preparing the base and making sure the frame is correctly assembled since some people have clearly had stability problems."
Review 14 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:16/04/2012
Reviewer: JB01
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Duplicate parts fail
"Bought this bit of kit a few months ago. Yes, it takes an eternity to build. Yes, while constructing, it's as wobbly as a goose on ice skates. Yes, understanding the process of nuclear fusion is easier than installing the window glazing. However, my main bug bear with this product was that I got two of the same part (A204) and sadly no part A203 (think two left feet with no right foot supplied). Thankfully these parts were for the door and I could drill holes and carry on, but considering the price paid for this, I would have expected some sort of product control from B&Q before sending the shipment off. Let’s hope my ‘Jim’ll fix it’ approach will last come winter winds."
Review 15 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:14/04/2012
Reviewer: allypally
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would buy it again
"Although the instructions said this was a two person assembly project, I managed perfectly to put it together by myself and I am female! It was actually extremely straight forward but as I followed the instructions to the letter, I couldn't go far wrong. My advice is to make sure everything is level and square as advised and you shouldn't have any problems at all.
The greenhouse went up in half a day and is now full and I need another one! Unfortunately, I don't have the space as if I did I would go straight to B & Q and buy another.
"
Review 16 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:13/02/2012
Reviewer: Gardenbuddy
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
New Model
"Beware of the new model. It looks better but is a pain to build. Last year with the old model it took 3 days working on my own at my own pace. The new model needed two of us to build it and it had to be done within the day otherwise it would have been vulnerable to windy conditions. Despite extensive redesigning I do not like it. They have solved the problem with panels blowing away - but that was only a problem if not fitted correctly. In order to solve the problem the frame is dependent on the panels being fitted for stability. You have to complete the green house before the frame is stable. The base is made from ultra thin galvanised steel (cut myself twice) and is not as high as the previous model. Two B&Q stores had the new model on display with an automatic vent opener. This is misleading, a plain old manual vent opener is supplied in the box. However, the vent and opener have been totally redesigned and is much better. It now has a hinged door and can be locked using a padlock. I suggest you assemble the door first. It has a lot of parts and it isn't a job you want to be doing near the end of the build when you are tired. I wish had purchased the old model, a few are still about."
Review 17 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:20/01/2012
Reviewer: DavidO41
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
green house had me hot
"A very nice green house which took about half a day to erect instructions were quite easy to follow if not a bit long winded and the plastic clips for holding the windows in were a little tough to clip in, but overall a well done job done by me and the missus"
Review 18 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:21/12/2011
Reviewer: panda5
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disgusting
"My mum bought this greenhouse and it is absolutely useless, condensation pours from the roof causing the plants to rot as they are all wet,holes where the frame does not meet properly,she has had a polycarbonate greenhouse before and had no trouble with it and it is still going strong,this latest model is totally useless and a complete waste of money."
Review 19 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:20/12/2011
Reviewer: Hambo1973
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very flimsy
"I purchased this and built it with a friend in an afternoon, all fine. That night it was a quite windy and I woke up the next morning to find the panes blown all over the garden. Goodness knows what will happen when the winter hits and we get really windy days. This greenhouse as been designed for Spain I think, definitely not the British isles. It is so flimsy and currently I have nails drilled into it just to hold the panes in place. I regsistered here to complain specifically about this product, it is of very poor quality."
Review 20 for Model 4x6 - Aluminium Greenhouse Frame + Base + Polycarbonate Glazing
Date:17/12/2011
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
blowing in the wind
"bought this green house was very pleased at the beginning my first greenhouse after a few months it began to become very noisey and then the window blew off then it became very unstable resulting in it moving off its securing screws and then folding like a pack of cards resulting in a pile of twisted aluminium and debris. must say the plastic remained unbroken."
1 2 3 4 5 next>>