Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries

DeWalt 18 Volt 13mm Cordless Combi Drill/Driver with hammer function complete with 2 batteries, 1 hour charger and kitbox.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (122 reviews)
5 stars
102
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
117 of 122(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Review 1 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:31/01/2012
Reviewer: HandyMac
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good Purchase 31/1/12
"Would have had this drill 2years In February.
I'm a Window & Door Technician and It's Been used Every-Single day since I purchased It! (7days a week!!!)
Not so Good In masonry but thats why you buy an SDS . very good screwdriver! It drives 8inch fixings NO problem.
The batteries are very good, 1hour charger also very Handy, but having them 2years they do need replacing now. But you would expect that anyway!
Makes easy work of Drilling through Wood& Plastic, And with a Good Bit goes through hardened Steel aswell.. Very quickly.
The Light Comes in Very Handy aswell, Especially When Fitting kitchens or Working In a Loft.
The torque Control Is very Good aswell, Tip. Put in Drill On speed 1, More Torque!!!
Very Good Value for money.
If its just being used for DIY then Its going to last you Years and Years!
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:01/02/2012
Reviewer: venablesvernon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeWalt 18v Combi Drill
"I have owned a Black & Decker 12v drill for ever (well over 10 years) but the batteries were finally giving up. No hammer drill and only useful for drilling and screwing in wood. Having read all the reviews I decided this one was very reasonably priced. Had my doubts about whether the hammer drill would drill into brick - but was amazed at how powerful and effective it is. The tiny spotlight is very useful in dark corners as well.
One word of caution - you have to be careful when screwing into softwood, choosing the lowest torque setting and the slower speed, or it behaves like a runaway train it's so powerful.
Absolutely delighted!"
Review 3 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:18/04/2012
Reviewer: JacksGrandpa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made and powerful drill
"The Dewalt drill replaced a six year old Ryobi cordless drill whose batteries would not retain their charge for more than a few minutes. The Dewalt is very powerful compared with the Ryobi drill so be aware when driving screws that you may have to use the torque adjustment more frequently than with a less powerful drill .So far I very pleased with my purchase, the next big job is to lay some decking so the drill will get some serious work both driving screws and drilling. I used the reserve and collect system which worked really well, the staff as usual were very helpful so I was able to collect the drill and pay very quickly."
Review 4 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:17/07/2010
Reviewer: malalajan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A genuine bargain
"Earlier in the year I bought a Makita package, similar in spec with an 18v hammer drill and two batteries. This was returned with an off-true chuck, the second was equally poor but with a rough action and so I returned the drill and asked to swap brands. Although I have not given this drill a good run there appears to be clear water between the two in terms of quality.
The DeWalt feels more substantial, has a clip for the screw bit and an LED. I may have been unlucky with the Makita but if you have a choice between the two packages I would recommend this one.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:20/10/2012
Reviewer: Somerset
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
"Bought this drill 6 months ago when I bought my house. I've used this a lot as both a drill and power screw driver. It is great at both tasks. The speed varies with how far you press the trigger and the fast and slow gear makes it very easy to control the drill and have it turning at the speed you require.
The torque setting is handy when you get used to it for screwing things in to just the right tightness (the increased leverage of holding a drill means you could easily over tighten if you're not careful).
All in all a good bit of kit so far."
Review 6 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:30/09/2012
Reviewer: sherk
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
"Having only used Dewalt produce over the last 15 years in the trade, I bought this drill to replace my old unit. I was happy with the product but soon it appeared .that this was not a patch on my old drill. On Friday the 31st day of the guarantee the drill got very hot and started to run very slow. It was very disappointing. I have praised the quality of Dewalt for years but not so anymore.
I took it back to B&Q where i was told that they have had copious numbers returned with the same problem and was advised to take the Hitachi model instead.
"
Review 7 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:29/11/2011
Reviewer: bigouw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mmmm
"don,t be fooled by the dewalt name on this product
its a cheap version of the more exspensive proper dewalt drill. if you just need it for home use and don,t use it much its a good buy, but if you need it for every day use its a pain, the batterys don,t last 5 minutes.
the chuck is a nightmare when just changing bits as it allways locks when the drill bit is not straight.
all in all its very cheap in feel and in action.
the name dewalt on a drill is not a sure sign of quility anymore.
plenty of better drills out there
"
Review 8 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:12/01/2011
Reviewer: neil10h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dewalt 18v
"Fantastic value for money,whats the old saying buy cheap buy twice well not with this drill.A lot of torque and battery life pretty good.Dont know why people say the 1.3 amp batteries do not last as long because you have 2 of them and literally takes half an hour to fully charge again therefore you should never run out of power.Still has same power as other batteries ie 2.0 or 3.0 amp.Overall super drill ,great build quality,super smooth,powerful.hammer function,sturdy case.Delighted with my purchase,enough said."
Review 9 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:18/02/2011
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent value
"For the price I cannot fault this drill. It works hard with Hammer action, is tough on screws, but gentle if the ratchet as set low. This helps to prevent stripping the thread or ripping when screwing into mdf.
The little light on the front is a godsend when in tight corners. I have had mine a year now, and having 2 batteries is essential.
If you want TOP quality then you will have to pay 3 times the price, but this is still pretty good.
If you are unlucky enough to get a bad one, then it has a warranty!!!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:03/08/2011
Reviewer: Geoff1007
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Portable Drill
"Had this drill for 6 months now. Bought to enable drilling into concrete posts where no mains available. Lasts for hours on a single battery even when doing heavy-duty drilling.
One tip - ensure you buy single-pack drills for any really hard concrete or engineering bricks. The multi-pack drills are ok for light drilling (into mortar or new bricks) but useless for the heavy stuff. I paid about £7 for a single No 12 drill, best purchase ever. It has already drilled about 50 holes and is still fine.
"
Review 11 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:22/02/2011
Reviewer: AmericanScrewdriver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOMB PROOF
"This is the second 18v Combi I've bought as a convenience to reduce constant bit changing.
Criticism is hard to come by. The only 'issue' is the lowest clutch setting. It's still too fierce for screwing up very soft materials (such as plasterboard) without an agile trigger finger.
Premium products rarely represent a total waste of money and DeWalt is no exception; especially when they occasionally get heavily discounted. I have a number of DeWalt tools and they have never failed."
Review 12 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:09/11/2011
Reviewer: ratbag
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good buy.
"Used for first time today, i am a school caretaker and do a lot of odd jobs all around school inside and out , the best thing was not having to use an extenshen cable along the floor and having the use of a drill and screwdriver in one, the drill was good on brick work going through solid brick with ease, the battery did die after drilling eighteen bricks and seventeen screws but still not use to all settings so could be me, overall pleased with style,weigh and hold of drill."
Review 13 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:05/01/2013
Reviewer: Bigfred007
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the moon
"I could not make up my mind when searching for a new cordless on the Internet, but whilst at my local branch in Torquay saw two combi drills on offer. After speaking to one of the sales staff I decided to purchess the Dewalt 18 Volt, It is a very good drill lightwight to use the power when drilling is really good aswell as the torqe settings for when screwdriving, and with the 1 hr charge you have always got a battery ready. The led work light is an added bonus."
Review 14 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:22/05/2011
Reviewer: mummycat111
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tool for us girls!
"I've been using this drill for 6 months now and it's fantastic! It's light and has a good grip, which for my weak wrist is necessary. I've put up cupboards and drilled into hard wood without any bite back or failure. The battery life on this is fantastic; i have yet to charge it up since Xmas! The hammer feature is great as it means I dont have to have 2 tools to do the one job. DIY isnt always easy and this little drill does everything a girl could ask for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:26/03/2011
Reviewer: Lions316
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for the diyer
"I have used this drill for around a year now for many tasks as an accomplished diyer. Power is excellent, and light weight for the power output. There is also a light just above the trigger which is excellent for drilling in cupboards etc. Sadly the battery life is not great and needs to be recharged regularly, luckily this kits comes wit two so not a major issue. A metal keyless chuck and lithium battery would put this torch in a professionals kit bag."
Review 16 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:24/07/2012
Reviewer: Tinman5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Purchase
"This product is everything I would expect from Dewalt, quality through and through. This was an upgrade from a lesser powered unit and the difference is more than noticeable. The hammer function is a great addition to what I had before and with the two batteries there is unlikely to be any down time, even with heavy DIY use.
Finally the price - I cannot imagine being able to purchase a top brand piece of kit, to this spec. anywhere better than this.
"
Review 17 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:20/02/2011
Reviewer: PEGJ
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DeWalt DC100KA-GB - 18v Combi Drill & 2 Batteries
"The DeWalt DC725 is a Great Product but the Forward/Reverse Button Switch could have had little more thought put in to its design.
The Forward/Reverse Button Switch is either in the wrong position or is too short to change the direction of the drive rotation, using just one hand!
I am able to change the direction-of-drive, single handed with all other Manufacturers Cordless Power Drills; however I am unable to do-so with this Unit!"
Review 18 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:09/01/2012
Reviewer: MissBHavin
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Quality Item
"Although this item is on the budget end of the DeWalt tool range, I do not believe that they manufacture anything of inferior quality.
For the average DIYer, this drill is just the job.
1 Hour fast charge and a good deal of oomph make this an invaluable tool for boys to "play" with.
My hubby is delighted with his stocking filler and has already used it twice to great effect.
Well done DeWalt for making quality affordable.
"
Review 19 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:08/01/2011
Reviewer: AshK
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality tool
"Just like Malalajan, I had the Makita and experienced the out-of-true chucks (twice). I got this as an alternative and it's exactly the same!!! At the end of the day these are not the top end pro units, although they are middle-of-the-road and should n ot have out of true chucks. Back to B&Q... I must be getting on their nerves now, but I just want a tool that is fit for purpose, which means drilling a TRUE hole."
Review 20 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:11/01/2012
Reviewer: monkeylover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
follow the yellow brick road
"This is a great piece of kit! at £99.00 look no further! if you just want a combi for around the house, dont buy this one! as you would not need the dewalt quality, but if you want to improve your tools with buying this, then defo buy it! not quite a pro's tool, but not far off! great item, great price, why buy any other! just one problem! WHERE DOES THE SPARE BATTERY GO ARRRRRRRRRRRRRR - LOL"
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>