Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries

The powerful DeWalt 18 volt cordless combi drill driver is ideal for hammer drilling and screwdriving and comes complete with 2 batteries, 1 hour charger and hard plastic kitbox.
Average Customer Rating:
4.691 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (152 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
145 of 152(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Review 1 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:01/09/2014
Reviewer: DavidV
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good product
"I have used one of these at home for well over 1 year. Drilling a lot of wood, metal and masonry. Screwdriving in wood and tapping metal. It works, and works and works. We use two of these at my work, and again a good product that does all you ask of it. The fast charger and two batteries generally means no waiting around for recharge. There is a little bit of self discharge when not used for a while. Occasional top up is advised. But that is expected with nicd power. If you want to avoid it, buy a much more expensive lion battery drill. There is plenty of torque when needed, controllable by a single clear rotary control. The variable speed drive, coupled with 2 speed gearbox make it versatile. Hammer action is good in brick and concrete. The nearest I can find to a weakness is the led light to illuminate the end of the drill bit. It could do with being a bit further away from the drill axis as it can be shaded by the chuck on short drills. But hey, a really small niggle. The rugged case is well built and has space for the drill, charger, both batteries and the odd box of drill bits, screwdriver bits, etc.
The review is prompted by me buying a second unit for home. Why? They were on offer. The price being similar to buying a bare drill & 1 battery. Yes I'm looking at keeping this kit long term.
"
Review 2 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:19/06/2014
Reviewer: TonyC76
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not great as a screwdriver
"I bought this as a bit of an all-rounder, an electric screwdriver that could also drill if required. It does come with drill and hammer settings, as well as 17 torque settings so thought it would do a good job.
Pluses - 2 batteries which charge extremely quickly (1hr from empty), so you'll never be short. Probably a good drill and it has hammer action so great is you need a cordless.
Minuses - quite heavy, wouldn't want to have to spend a lot of time holding this;
It's got 17 torque settings, but even on "1" it's too powerful and drives screws through ikea furniture, rather than stopping once home. My old B&D had half as many settings but the low settings were sensitive.
So in short, probably a good drill (not tested), good quick charge and 2 batteries, but a bit heavy as a day to day electric drill and torque settings could do with looking at."
Review 3 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:25/04/2014
Reviewer: Supermumof4
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth every penny!!
"I am a lady who's Husband will not do DIY so after seeing my brother breeze through fixing a cabin bed with this DeWalt I just had to have one. My cheaper electric screwdriver just could not handle the job. Having moved into a new house with load of flat pack furniture and blinds to put up my husband was so impressed when I put up roman blinds in less than 10 mins. I love this combi drill. Slightly heavy for me but not a major problem. This is perfect for home and professional jobs. It powers through everything and beats many top makes I have used before, b&d, Bosch. I would give 5 stars but it comes with no accessories, not even one bit so I had to return to the store to buy drill and screwdriver bits.
Built to last and do not regret buying this even though it is a bit pricey, comes in a very nice carry case too.
"
Review 4 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:31/01/2012
Reviewer: HandyMac
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good Purchase 31/1/12
"Would have had this drill 2years In February.
I'm a Window & Door Technician and It's Been used Every-Single day since I purchased It! (7days a week!!!)
Not so Good In masonry but thats why you buy an SDS . very good screwdriver! It drives 8inch fixings NO problem.
The batteries are very good, 1hour charger also very Handy, but having them 2years they do need replacing now. But you would expect that anyway!
Makes easy work of Drilling through Wood& Plastic, And with a Good Bit goes through hardened Steel aswell.. Very quickly.
The Light Comes in Very Handy aswell, Especially When Fitting kitchens or Working In a Loft.
The torque Control Is very Good aswell, Tip. Put in Drill On speed 1, More Torque!!!
Very Good Value for money.
If its just being used for DIY then Its going to last you Years and Years!
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:02/06/2014
Reviewer: Zolo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good
"Having worked on site for quite a few years, I have always been impressed with "DeWALT" as a reliable make of various tools, but, never owned any. I purchased this drill as a replacement for a "dead drill", and up to now, I have not been disappointed. The casing is good and sturdy, the drill itself feels "balanced" when handling, has an excilent amount of power and does everything it's proported to do, the one hour charge is really good, that coupled with the extra batterie makes this package an all round good one. Why not five star? Simply not had it long enough to judge the durability but I'm quietly confident that as time goes by, this will be a five star item.
Thanks DeWALT.
"
Review 6 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:18/08/2014
Reviewer: Flintman
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From Elu to DeWalt
"Having owned a Elu cordless drill since 1997 I finally had to think about a replacement when the battery charger (not the drill gave up). This trusted drill only needed two new batteries, some adjustment and cleaning of the brushes in all that time. So when deciding to buy a newer drill, knowing DeWalt (Black & Decker) had bought out Elu, and continuing to use it's technology, was the main reason for considering this brand. The price and quality of the model, made my first choice of sourcing a replacement battery charger
look illogical. My only comment is the balance of the drill has changed due to the size of the battery, other than that, use and quality is as good as ever.
"
Review 7 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:01/02/2012
Reviewer: venablesvernon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeWalt 18v Combi Drill
"I have owned a Black & Decker 12v drill for ever (well over 10 years) but the batteries were finally giving up. No hammer drill and only useful for drilling and screwing in wood. Having read all the reviews I decided this one was very reasonably priced. Had my doubts about whether the hammer drill would drill into brick - but was amazed at how powerful and effective it is. The tiny spotlight is very useful in dark corners as well.
One word of caution - you have to be careful when screwing into softwood, choosing the lowest torque setting and the slower speed, or it behaves like a runaway train it's so powerful.
Absolutely delighted!"
Review 8 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:18/04/2012
Reviewer: JacksGrandpa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made and powerful drill
"The Dewalt drill replaced a six year old Ryobi cordless drill whose batteries would not retain their charge for more than a few minutes. The Dewalt is very powerful compared with the Ryobi drill so be aware when driving screws that you may have to use the torque adjustment more frequently than with a less powerful drill .So far I very pleased with my purchase, the next big job is to lay some decking so the drill will get some serious work both driving screws and drilling. I used the reserve and collect system which worked really well, the staff as usual were very helpful so I was able to collect the drill and pay very quickly."
Review 9 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:17/07/2010
Reviewer: malalajan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A genuine bargain
"Earlier in the year I bought a Makita package, similar in spec with an 18v hammer drill and two batteries. This was returned with an off-true chuck, the second was equally poor but with a rough action and so I returned the drill and asked to swap brands. Although I have not given this drill a good run there appears to be clear water between the two in terms of quality.
The DeWalt feels more substantial, has a clip for the screw bit and an LED. I may have been unlucky with the Makita but if you have a choice between the two packages I would recommend this one.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:20/10/2012
Reviewer: Somerset
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
"Bought this drill 6 months ago when I bought my house. I've used this a lot as both a drill and power screw driver. It is great at both tasks. The speed varies with how far you press the trigger and the fast and slow gear makes it very easy to control the drill and have it turning at the speed you require.
The torque setting is handy when you get used to it for screwing things in to just the right tightness (the increased leverage of holding a drill means you could easily over tighten if you're not careful).
All in all a good bit of kit so far."
Review 11 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:30/09/2012
Reviewer: sherk
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
"Having only used Dewalt produce over the last 15 years in the trade, I bought this drill to replace my old unit. I was happy with the product but soon it appeared .that this was not a patch on my old drill. On Friday the 31st day of the guarantee the drill got very hot and started to run very slow. It was very disappointing. I have praised the quality of Dewalt for years but not so anymore.
I took it back to B&Q where i was told that they have had copious numbers returned with the same problem and was advised to take the Hitachi model instead.
"
Review 12 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:29/11/2011
Reviewer: bigouw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mmmm
"don,t be fooled by the dewalt name on this product
its a cheap version of the more exspensive proper dewalt drill. if you just need it for home use and don,t use it much its a good buy, but if you need it for every day use its a pain, the batterys don,t last 5 minutes.
the chuck is a nightmare when just changing bits as it allways locks when the drill bit is not straight.
all in all its very cheap in feel and in action.
the name dewalt on a drill is not a sure sign of quility anymore.
plenty of better drills out there
"
Review 13 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:12/01/2011
Reviewer: neil10h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dewalt 18v
"Fantastic value for money,whats the old saying buy cheap buy twice well not with this drill.A lot of torque and battery life pretty good.Dont know why people say the 1.3 amp batteries do not last as long because you have 2 of them and literally takes half an hour to fully charge again therefore you should never run out of power.Still has same power as other batteries ie 2.0 or 3.0 amp.Overall super drill ,great build quality,super smooth,powerful.hammer function,sturdy case.Delighted with my purchase,enough said."
Review 14 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:18/02/2011
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent value
"For the price I cannot fault this drill. It works hard with Hammer action, is tough on screws, but gentle if the ratchet as set low. This helps to prevent stripping the thread or ripping when screwing into mdf.
The little light on the front is a godsend when in tight corners. I have had mine a year now, and having 2 batteries is essential.
If you want TOP quality then you will have to pay 3 times the price, but this is still pretty good.
If you are unlucky enough to get a bad one, then it has a warranty!!!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:03/08/2011
Reviewer: Geoff1007
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Portable Drill
"Had this drill for 6 months now. Bought to enable drilling into concrete posts where no mains available. Lasts for hours on a single battery even when doing heavy-duty drilling.
One tip - ensure you buy single-pack drills for any really hard concrete or engineering bricks. The multi-pack drills are ok for light drilling (into mortar or new bricks) but useless for the heavy stuff. I paid about £7 for a single No 12 drill, best purchase ever. It has already drilled about 50 holes and is still fine.
"
Review 16 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:29/07/2014
Reviewer: eccenemo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Very Disappointed with this example
"I have other De Walt products and have been very pleased. This seems to have been the exception and may well be a rogue tool. Neither of the supplied batteries would charge - both showing the indication for 'change battery' after a minute or two of the correct 'charging' indication. The date on the battery packs was 2013 (unit bought July 2014), so it may be the NiCads had deteriorated and therefore would not hold charge. Returned the De Walt and bought a Bosch Li-On. Pleased so far"
Review 17 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:22/02/2011
Reviewer: AmericanScrewdriver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOMB PROOF
"This is the second 18v Combi I've bought as a convenience to reduce constant bit changing.
Criticism is hard to come by. The only 'issue' is the lowest clutch setting. It's still too fierce for screwing up very soft materials (such as plasterboard) without an agile trigger finger.
Premium products rarely represent a total waste of money and DeWalt is no exception; especially when they occasionally get heavily discounted. I have a number of DeWalt tools and they have never failed."
Review 18 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:09/11/2011
Reviewer: ratbag
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good buy.
"Used for first time today, i am a school caretaker and do a lot of odd jobs all around school inside and out , the best thing was not having to use an extenshen cable along the floor and having the use of a drill and screwdriver in one, the drill was good on brick work going through solid brick with ease, the battery did die after drilling eighteen bricks and seventeen screws but still not use to all settings so could be me, overall pleased with style,weigh and hold of drill."
Review 19 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:05/01/2013
Reviewer: Bigfred007
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the moon
"I could not make up my mind when searching for a new cordless on the Internet, but whilst at my local branch in Torquay saw two combi drills on offer. After speaking to one of the sales staff I decided to purchess the Dewalt 18 Volt, It is a very good drill lightwight to use the power when drilling is really good aswell as the torqe settings for when screwdriving, and with the 1 hr charge you have always got a battery ready. The led work light is an added bonus."
Review 20 for DeWALT 18v Combi Drill & 2 batteries
Date:22/05/2011
Reviewer: mummycat111
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tool for us girls!
"I've been using this drill for 6 months now and it's fantastic! It's light and has a good grip, which for my weak wrist is necessary. I've put up cupboards and drilled into hard wood without any bite back or failure. The battery life on this is fantastic; i have yet to charge it up since Xmas! The hammer feature is great as it means I dont have to have 2 tools to do the one job. DIY isnt always easy and this little drill does everything a girl could ask for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>